National Pride is more than just words!!

agreed

Can I get an AMEN?!!

Good response Dweet!
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Originally posted by DweetSweet View Post
        Since JB is only the men's team coach, he has to identify professional footballers from the Jamaican diaspora around the world (very broad sporting definition) who in three days before an international game have the desire to play, are healthy, are match fit and can be present to train and play.
        I don't know of any other national coach that spends as much time as ours, looking at their diaspora. The first place the national coach needs to look at is his own players who have made the move from their national league to international ones and then locally.

This extensive family tree search, this exhaustive passport inquisition, is a shameful habit perpetrated by only Jamaica's coaches.

But it should not surprise us. Despite the national pride we should have, being the birthplace of Marcus Mosiah, Bob Marley, and the rest, we are a country that places any and eveything farin as better, and we would swap our sovereignty for US statehood or reverse our independence from Britain in a heartbeat.

Mr Mosiah the wise man that you are I'm sure you would agree that Jamaica's strength (not just in football) lies in it's people. All it's people. No matter where in the world they are. It does not matter if they are 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th etc generation. All we need is mutual respect for each other and the nation. Jamaica without its people is just a beautiful piece of rock sticking out of the Caribbean Sea. It is a strength that successive governments and others often overlook or pay mere lip service to. It is time we stop falling for the old rope a dope, divide and conquer trick.

How many countries have the kind of Diaspora to Home population ratio that Jamaica enjoys ?

Wake up to reality.. same way unnuh trying to solve problems with the 20% Brain that nevah drain..

I suspect the roots of this irrational approach can be traced back to Manley.

"5 Flights a day" maybe him shoulda add.. "and don't come back !"

National Pride ??

Like when wi pick up high profile 5-0 and 6-0 ?

Like the pride of watching our ranking drop like an anchor ?

LOL !

“Nationalism is an infantile disease. It is the measles of mankind.”

“Patriotism is when love of your own people comes first; nationalism, when hate for people other than your own comes first.”

Di site would probably pop down if wi find a White UB40 ! Ala WI Cricket...

WOOOIEEE !! All I want for Christmas !

LOL!

Originally posted by Runawaybay View Post
              Mr Mosiah the wise man that you are I'm sure you would agree that Jamaica's strength (not just in football) lies in it's people. All it's people. No matter where in the world they are. It does not matter if they are 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th etc generation. All we need is mutual respect for each other and the nation. Jamaica without its people is just a beautiful piece of rock sticking out of the Caribbean Sea. It is a strength that successive governments and others often overlook or pay mere lip service to. It is time we stop falling for the old rope a dope, divide and conquer trick.
              Where do you live, btw?

For some of us, it's a divide and conquer trick. For others, it's more of the same - nutten good can come outta dat dere rock.

You said one thing that I agree with - "All we need is mutual respect for each other and the nation."

Tell me, is that what Tyrone Mears has demonstrated?

A beg unnu, if wi need to call a Tyrone, let it not be Mears!

whe you mean where the man live?

No gwaan like you never live a foriegn

And when I lived a farin, I never exhibited such shame for my country.

It nuh matter, the fact is many Many of us have fi go foriegn fi get something we couldn't get inna Ja, so we can't just act like is foriegn and then the the rock. We all depend on each other. Even Bob and Marcus spend nuff time outside a Ja.

For most countries, it would matter. But clearly, in Jamaica, it doesn't. National pride, hell, SELF-PRIDE, means little and national sovereignty even less.

part ways wid di man weh, ah try rise wi career. It funny, wi always a cry fi change when tings ah gwaan decent, mi nevah can understan dis at all. Dis yah
                        soun play in ebry instance when tings ah progress inna jamaica. Is like a Alice ina wonderland down pan wi

change? no matter what?

no thanks!

Like me say,let the football do the talking.Continue to pick the best available players fi Jamaica,whether dem born a yard or foriegn.As long as dem qualify fi play fi Jamaica and are gonna improve the team get them in.Thats the only way we gonna improve if Mr Simoes had done that we would've been playing world cup qualifier tonight.Me done talk

Mek sense to me.

Mosiah I live in Atlanta, GA. Does that really matter? I only said one thing you agree with? Wow. Mi lose affa yuh. What about the part about "Jamaica's strength lies in its people"? Re: T Mears, if the reports are accurate, he clearly does not have the commitment and level of respect required. He however wasn't the first (remember Jamaican born D. Johnson?) and will not be the last to fall short in that regard.