• Barnes agrees to 20% pay cut

Barnes agrees to 20% pay cut

By Howard Walker Observer staff reporter walkerh@jamaicaobserver.com
    Sunday, March 29, 2009
    Reggae Boyz head coach John Barnes has agreed to a 20 per cent salary cut by the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), president Captain Horace Burrell told the Sunday Observer yesterday.

Jamaican-born Englishman Barnes, 45, took over the reins from Brazilian Rene Simoes on November 1, 2008 after a disastrous start to the World Cup campaign.

Last Thursday, the JFF slashed staff salaries by 20 per cent and dismissed the head coach of the National Under-20 team, Donovan Duckie, and his assistant, Lenworth Hyde.

Barnes' salary was not divulged by the JFF upon his appointment and still remains a secret, but Burrell was quick to point out that it was nothing compared to what Simoes was getting.

Simoes was earning US$600,000 per year for his second stint in charge of the Reggae Boyz.

Said Burrell: "He (Barnes) has accepted a 20 per cent cut in his salary. We have discussed it and he has agreed to have the same level of cut as Horace Reid (general secretary).

He continued: "He is very understanding with the current financial crisis and has accepted the reduction in his salary."

Barnes, who led Jamaica to victory in the Digicel Caribbean Cup and later to a respectable 0-0 draw with Nigeria in a friendly in London, has not been seen in Jamaica since.

"We have no problem with that. He is not the technical director and Theodore (Whitmore) is here to look at all the players around and so forth. He (Barnes) can't do anything now. When he is overseas we are absorbed of rental and other costs.

"He is in England but he has been keeping in touch with his deputy Theodore and they converse regularly and discuss their plans. Him not being here is cost effective for the Federation. There is no accommodation cost and additional expenses, Burrell reiterated.

Responding to talk going the rounds that the former Liverpool and England winger was upset with the JFF for their failure to honour his monthly salary, Burrell said they had taken care of that issue.
    "Currently we are up to date with his salary. There are no outstanding amount owing to him," Burrell told the Sunday Observer.

"He will be here in time to get ready for some international friendlies and the Gold Cup. He is not the technical director, he is the national coach of the senior team, which is now inactive," Burrell pointed out.
    Last edited by Karl; March 29, 2009, 09:57 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

"We have no problem with that. He is not the technical director and Theodore (Whitmore) is here to look at all the players around and so forth. He (Barnes) can't do anything now. When he is overseas we are absorbed of rental and other costs."
    "Absored..." is that what he really said?

Now mi see why Barnes never want the phone call. Barnes did a hide him call from Burrell like how mi a hide the creditors

No, he said absorBed.

JB is willing to work for free. His main interest in coaching Jamaica is to improve his CV. I have nothing against that though. He knows that if is able to coach a Third World country to major achievements, then it strengthens his quest for club football coaching job. He will use whatever "mercenaries" he has at his disposal to get the job done.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Yes okay but that makes no sense.

JB is willing to work for free. His main interest in coaching Jamaica is to improve his CV. I have nothing against that though. He knows that if is able to coach a Third World country to major achievements, then it strengthens his quest for club football coaching job. He will use whatever "mercenaries" he has at his disposal to get the job done.
              Work for free?! Where you hear dat?

Anyway, he may be willing to work for free just so he is able to get his foot inside the coaching door in order to make another attempt at coaching a UK club. That's what it's all about.

He may be no better than the mercenaries he is recruiting to the Reggae Boyz.

No problem, Just win the Gold Cup and we will talk.

well...neither did the talk that barnes was about to be fired!

The truth be told is Barnes is no idiot and he will not walk away or allow them to cut him because one credible showing in the Gold Cup and he will be regarded as a decent coach and many African countries if not English clubs will now take a chance on him. He has too much to gain.

Bricktop - I think they meant to say "absolved" or it is a misprint; poor grammar regardless.

Brickie, he probably meant "absolved," but then I could be wrong!
                        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

anyway that argues well for... for ..dammit! i'm sure it argues well for something or someone! hl......?

heh heh!

I heard a yankee say that this morning on Meet the Press!
                            Last edited by Mosiah; March 30, 2009, 12:36 AM.

D: Unnuh skillful eenhh! Or should I say unnuh full-a-skill! Yes, me is in agreeance; it argues well for a...well for a good argument! D: D: D:
                              "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011