Video of Torres/Friedel Collision...

Originally posted by Warlord View Post
    Its very clear in the video that Torres was past the last defender (Reo Coker) and although he overplays the ball a bit, he manages to get to the ball and knock it past Friedel before both made contact.

The "clear path" rule is evident on the play which means the referee must give an automatic red card in a situation like that. The referee got it spot on. I hope this ends the debate. See for yourself...

http://www.eplmatches.com/index.php/...la-highlights/
    He gets to the ball knocks it pass the kneeling Friedel...not a Friedel attacking the ball or Torres...but a stationary kneeling Friedel!

Why having got the ball Torres did not refuse to crash into the motionless kneeling Friedel?

Not a Friedel attacking the ball or Torres , So was Friedel impeding the play ? was he the last man ?

I rest my case.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Karl,
        Enough is enough...you Friedel apoligists (for lack of a better moniker) sound like rank novices who HAVE NEVER watched or UNDERSTAND what a foul in football is... Karl, HOW THE HELL WAS TORRES TO STOP???? Give us sane people a break.

Friedel couldn't have done much more than he did, THE FACT IS he impeded the progress of the man who won the freakin ball... and that is who football rewards!!!

BTW, The above is MY last post on this NON issue (for at least the next week or so)

DO THESE GUYS WATCH FOOTBALL?????????????? Every striking week two players go after a 50/50 ball and one ends up fouling another, and in the VAST MAJORITY of cases accidentally, NO INTENT!!!Jangle INTENT is NOT the issue... Must be Manuitis!!!
            Peter in those cases the man who fouled was moving...as in continuous motion...strike or trip or kick the opponent! You do not see a difference in this case? You do not see Friedel on his knees motionless awaiting the ball and Torres moving towards him and eventually running him over?

You really do not see that Torres was the player who was running and actually ran into Friedel?

Well if Friedel was moving towards Torres or Friedel moved away from the ball to a Torres' new path and blocked him...I guess Shady Pines is not the place for me but "6 feet under hotel", because my eyes are shot and my brain not being able to process the action...not being able to recognise who was running into whom...is dead!

Friedel on his knees motionless awaiting the ball !

I guess Shady Pines is not the place for me but "6 feet under hotel", because my eyes are shot and my brain not being able to process the action...not being able to recognise who was running into whom...is dead!

You conviently left out Friedel was motionless on his kness after he left his line in the direction of Torres and the ball .

Whether or not he attempted to play the ball or Torres is a nonissue , he impeded play .Should a card be issued?

If he was the last man then a red card is expected.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Karl, You MUST know that in football the man who WINS the ball is rewarded; not the clumsy oaf who put himself in a position where he would impede the progress of the WINNER of the ball (particularly when it is a 50/50 ball). Isn't that football Karl? Come on man, you've been around this long enough to recognize Friedel screwed up by misjudging...( he could have been as motioneless as dried paint on a wall) it happens ALL THE TIME...
                  Last edited by Peter R; March 27, 2009, 06:04 PM.

And...unuh don feel say Friedel didn't know what he was doing...so please give me a break! HE IS A GOALIE!

You conviently left out Friedel was motionless on his kness after he left his line in the direction of Torres and the ball .

Why did you not continue with and after play was resumed?

Ridiculous!

The only thing to decide is if Brad Freidel held his poition in sufficient time before it could be reasonably expected that Torres could have avoided him. In other words did Friedel move to block or obstruct...did he prevent Torres from a path to goal.

(The only thing to decide is if Brad Freidel).That word IF is the crux of your arguement.

There lies your problem the ref decides.

Karl, You MUST know that in football the man who WINS the ball is rewarded; not the clumsy oaf who put himself in a position where he would impede the progress of the WINNER of the ball (particularly when it is a 50/50 ball). Isn't that football Karl? Come on man, you've been around this long enough to recognize Friedel screwed up by misjudging...( he could have been as motioneless as dried paint on a wall) it happens ALL THE TIME...
                          http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...467#post157467

Karl and Gents,

Apologies for the above post... I am not a p'd off as it sounds... I actually understand Karl's (and others') position on this...I just totally disagree.

Karl and Gents,

Apologies for the above post... I am not a p'd off as it sounds... I actually understand Karl's (and others') position on this...I just totally disagree.
                              Cho... mi kno yuh fram lang time pan dis-yah board. No offense was taken.

...and I respect the different viewpoints. I just think mine is based on "The Laws of the Game"!

Karl,
                                Enough is enough...you Friedel apoligists (for lack of a better moniker) sound like rank novices who HAVE NEVER watched or UNDERSTAND what a foul in football is... Karl, HOW THE HELL WAS TORRES TO STOP???? Give us sane people a break.

Friedel couldn't have done much more than he did, THE FACT IS he impeded the progress of the man who won the freakin ball... and that is who football rewards!!!
                                ...but Torres could have missed Friedel.
                                ...not crucifying him.

...but if you are on the ground motionless ad I am traveling at his speed while attempting to catch up with a ball...notice he touched the ball under Brad's armpit ...should I jump out of the way or run into you as Torres did?