Video of Torres/Friedel Collision...

• Video of Torres/Friedel Collision...

Its very clear in the video that Torres was past the last defender (Reo Coker) and although he overplays the ball a bit, he manages to get to the ball and knock it past Friedel before both made contact.

The "clear path" rule is evident on the play which means the referee must give an automatic red card in a situation like that. The referee got it spot on. I hope this ends the debate. See for yourself...

http://www.eplmatches.com/index.php/...la-highlights/

Thank you Warlord for posting a video from a different angle, but all this does is prove MY point. Torres first touch took the ball away from him into the 18. For those of you who oppose my argument, I ask, What should Brad have done as the goalkeeper?
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Thank you Warlord for posting a video from a different angle, but all this does is prove MY point. Torres first touch took the ball away from him into the 18. For those of you who oppose my argument, I ask, What should Brad have done as the goalkeeper?
      No problem sah. While the video shows contact being made and while Friedel didnt act malicious, and I agree the red card was a harsh decision the referee must follow the rules. He did that. Friedel couldnt do anything but his shoulder made contact with Torres' right leg. A penalty was always going to be the case here.

Get to the ball first?

If you wish, you can read my multiple posts below. I can understand why the ref gave the red, because he saw everything at real speed, but I think the FA should have gone a step further and issue torres with a card (any colour would do) after reviewing the tapes. It was dangerous play. He should have pulled up when he realized that he could not bring the ball under his control without injuring the goalkeeper. Plus he left his foot behind to simulate a foul.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Ball under control eeeeehhh?

Reo Coaker was closer t o the ball than Torres after it beat Brad.

now you getting closer to my call. The ref had to make a judgement call and I have seen them not giving a penalty with more contact than that.

Referee blew the whistle as soon as contact was made. Why would Torres be chasing the ball after that?

Yeah seeing as Torres was flipping around in the air

II think the FA should have gone a step further and issue torres with a card (any colour would do) after reviewing the tapes.

If you wish, you can read my multiple posts below. I can understand why the ref gave the red, because he saw everything at real speed, but I think the FA should have gone a step further and issue torres with a card (any colour would do) after reviewing the tapes. It was dangerous play. He should have pulled up when he realized that he could not bring the ball under his control without injuring the goalkeeper. Plus he left his foot behind to simulate a foul.

It actually wasnt dangerous play. Ive seen alot worse than that. It was a 50/50 ball. Had friedel got there first he would not have been carded and subsequently sent off. It wasnt as if Torres followed through either. Both players went for the ball but Torres got there ahead of Friedel. Again based on the rule book the referee made the right call. Clear path is an automatic red card although the contact was minimal by Friedel he made contact and that was the determining factor in the ref's decision.

Yeah seeing as Torres was flipping around in the air

Its quite evident that Assassin doesnt understand the rules of football.

The critics point to overplaying the ball as if to say that should be a negative move on Torres part .Overplaying the ball is done every day as a tactic to beat defenders , its called pace.

The trick is to do it and not loose possesion of the ball .Torres wasnt given the chance because he was impeded by the goalkeeper.

Whether or not the impedement was intentional is a non issue because the goalkeeper made no attempt to play the ball.

RED CARD or at least a card !The debate if it should be a red would be issued in my opinion if he was the last man in opposition sphere.

He was .

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Assain doesnt understand football period.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

DO THESE GUYS WATCH FOOTBALL?????????????? Every striking week two players go after a 50/50 ball and one ends up fouling another, and in the VAST MAJORITY of cases accidentally, NO INTENT!!!Jangle INTENT is NOT the issue... Must be Manuitis!!!