• House cleaning!

House cleaning!
    Duckie, Hyde axed; Reid takes 20 % reduction
    By Howard Walker Observer staff reporter walker@jamaicaobserver.com
    Friday, March 27, 2009

THE Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) yesterday fired head coach of the National Under-20 team, Donovan Duckie, and his assistant, Lenworth Hyde Snr, and slashed staff salaries by 20 per cent - including that of Horace Reid, the general secretary.

JFF president Captain Horace Burrell told the Observer that the salary cuts were necessary and the firing of the coaches had nothing to do with economics.

REID... accepted 20 per cent salary cut (Photo: Garfield Robinson)

Said Burrell: "Donovan Duckie has been dismissed, as is Lenworth Hyde, and it has nothing to do with the economics. They have been dismissed for poor performances. The same as Simoes who failed to perform."
    He added: "Football is about performance and if people don't perform there are consequences. At the conclusion of the Under-20 tournament, the Technical Committee was requested to do an evaluation and it was done and recommendations came forward, which we had no difficulty in executing.

House cleaning!

JFF staff to take major pay cut

Robert Bailey, Star Writer

Jamaica Football Federation president, Captain Horace Burrell.
    Captain Horace Burrell president of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) said the current global economic crisis has forced the organisation to ask members of its administrative and technical staff to take pay cuts ranging between five and 20 per cent.

Burrell added that the failure of the Under-20 team to qualify for this year's Youth World Cup in Egypt, a project invested in heavily by the federation in the last few months and a 66 per cent cut in their monthly subvention from the Social Development Foundation has played a major in role the decision.

"This is unfortunate but we have to survive because if we have no funds to pay our staff, then we are going to have a demoralised staff, which makes no sense," said Burrell in an interview with The Star last night.

Cost-cutting measures
    The move is just the latest in a series of cost-cutting moves by the body, who in November of last year sacked the entire coaching staff of the women's national programme, having seen the national senior team, a major earner of revenue for the body, eliminated from the World qualifiers in the semi-final round. The cash strapped body had also recently reported losses for the last couple of games, which had also included the hosting of the Digicel Caribbean Cup, a tournament the Reggae Boyz won in December.

Burrell said that the staff had already been informed of the decision and among those taking a 20 per cent cut are JFF general secretary Horace Reid. The JFF boss also took the time out to commend the staff, who decision to accept the pay cut may have saved a few jobs.
    "I have to commend the staff because rather than not decide to take a pay cut, which would have had to see us dispense with some of their services and we would have to have dismissed some of them," Burrell said. Burrell noted that despite the fact that there was a sizeable pay reduction on the part of several staff members, the body can continue to have the family together.

JFF has a terrible way of firing people. They act like they're Real Madrid or something when they let people go. Why do they have to sound so forceful and ungrateful when they decide to let someone go?

Simoes wasn't good enough to fly back home with the team when he was let go after all he had done previously. Granted he didn't get the job done this time, couldn't they let him go with some dignity? Now with Duckie, what's that about? He didn't get the job done so you say thanks and say we're going in a different direction. Why embarrass the man like that?

It's the Jamaican way. Leave wi alone!

How hard is it to find the man, he was just here for his father's funeral, granted it would be a but harsh to fire him then but I am sure captain who was at the funeral could have pulled him one side and set up an appointment.

Yet people here rate Burrell as a good administrator.....

I'm Jamaican - I wouldn't do it that way. In fact, I have had the unfortunate job of having to fire people before, and many have come back to me and thanked me for the opportunities I gave them. I would think that a decent approach would be even more important in the (small) football world. Matter, I agree with you.

Mattah shuddup---sitdown!!

Tact is not your strong point... (not mine either).

I clearly recall the extremely poor manner in which you determined that some kid that you coach--could not play on your team.

You came on to this site trying to get sympathy and justification for your poor inconsiderate action toward this poor kid and his (single?) mother...

mattah...Shuddup! sitdown!

Football is business first, and i agree with the no sugar-coating method of firing!!

WHY is he being fired?!

You came on to this site trying to get sympathy and justification for your poor inconsiderate action toward this poor kid and his (single?) mother...
                  What yuh trying to say here? Matter was a look a peice a di mommy and she run him suh him tek it out pon di yute?

Geez, Paul Marin! You forgot who was Mr. Sarcasm, here?!

I see you have not spared an ounce of sugar to disagree with Matter's point, either!