This is my final comment on the Brad Friedel issue
I am NO football expert but even an accident can be deemed to be a foul... if I see a 50/50 ball and think I can beat the opponent to it but he somehow gets to it by a second before I do, touches the ball past me, and I then make contact with his feet in my attempt to get the ball, then I have committed a foul... it happens all the time. Friedel paid the price for NOT getting to the ball abefore Torres and then impeding Torres' progress, whether accident or not...geeeezz!Peter R
the collision impeded his progress to the ball and a goalscoring opportunity, made the worse by the fact that friedel didn't get the ball. should have been mitigated by the fact that there was a lack of intent on friedel's prt but a foul no less.
clumsy perhps, but a foul nonetheless
I don't think it can be explained more clearly... I also believe that it is a foul to move into a position (even seconds before and then staying put) such that a player's progress is impeded from getting to the ball, while not making an attempt to play the ball.Peter R
This YouTube clip lasts exactly 5 seconds at the very end of the incident. I had the benefit of watching the begining of the play to the end which was much longer than the 5 seconds shown here. I also watched it in slow motion several times. Torres should have been booked for dangerous play because he caught up with ball exactly 2 seconds before impact when he had no chance of getting control of the ball. Just because he "touched" the ball, it doesn't mean that he had it under control. Brad started to take evasive action within the 5 second when he realized that the fool Torres was a Kamikaze.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Bricktop - clearly reason is not working. I'd give up. You can't make a blind man see."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostYes you said it was an "accident" so therefore cannot be a foul. That argument has already been rendered invalid."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
Di man all a claim seh di clip cut off too soon. Yo mi nuh get so much joke inna long while to rhattid dem people inna mi office mussi check seh mi a madman. The best was Karl saying Torres last touched the ball way way way outside the penalty area
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostBlind?! I think they are just simply being dishonest to themselves. When yuh can lie to yuhself, it bad!
Jangle - you keep saying an accident is no foul. Where do you get that reasoning from? It has never been the case. I would argue that 90% of fouls are unintentional."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
Originally posted by Jangle View PostJust because he "touched" the ball, it doesn't mean that he had it under control. Brad started to take evasive action within the 5 second when he realized that the fool Torres was a Kamikaze."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
IMO it was Torres who ran the red light because he wasn't in control of the ball before it went into the 18. He should have pulled out before he reached Brad. By the time he reached the ball (2 seconds before impact), the odds were 60/40 in Brad's favour. If you go back to the YouTube video and hold the play on the 1:05 mark, you will see what I am trying to explain to you all. Torres did not have control over the ball when it went into the 18 yard box. Brad was already down to collect the ball. The defender was cutting off the angle to Brad's right. I had the benefit of watching the entire play from different camera angles; one directly behind the goal. Torres wasn't guaranteed to go past Brad's right, which was the only route, because the defender was cutting off that angle. He was coming at Brad at a slight diagonal angle,from right to Brad's left.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015