• Barnes offer temps Simpson

Barnes offer temps Simpson

BY Soriebah Kajue

CAVALIER: Simpson (right)

window.google_render_ad();

BLACKBURN ROVERS defender Danny Simpson is mulling over an offer from John Barnes to play for Jamaica.
    The 22-year-old is on a season-long loan from Manchester United and has
    impressed Barnes with his displays at right-back this term.

Jamaica already has a large number of English based players in their squad and Barnes is hopeful of adding Simpson to this group.

And the Salford-born youngster has admitted he is giving serious consideration to the prospect of playing for the Reggae Boyz after being approached by Barnes.

Simpson said: “When someone like John Barnes asks you to play for his team, it’s something that you have to consider seriously. “He was one of best players in the world in his
    prime and someone that I respect hugely. He’s doing a good job for Jamaica and he’s trying to get more players involved.

“I’ve never thought about playing for Jamaica before but now I have a chance to
    play international football and further my career. “Playing for England was always a dream but playing for Jamaica could become a reality for me.”
    Last edited by Naminirt; March 24, 2009, 05:50 PM.

Well Well Well .. what about the other simpson on loan to westbrom from arsenal

so wha man quiet pon this topic

Man seh him never even think bout Jamaica.

Mosiah coach.

Originally posted by Naminirt View Post

Barnes offer temps Simpson

BY Soriebah Kajue

CAVALIER: Simpson (right)

window.google_render_ad();

BLACKBURN ROVERS defender Danny Simpson is mulling over an offer from John Barnes to play for Jamaica.
          The 22-year-old is on a season-long loan from Manchester United and has
          impressed Barnes with his displays at right-back this term.

Jamaica already has a large number of English based players in their squad and Barnes is hopeful of adding Simpson to this group.

And the Salford-born youngster has admitted he is giving serious consideration to the prospect of playing for the Reggae Boyz after being approached by Barnes.

Simpson said: “When someone like John Barnes asks you to play for his team, it’s something that you have to consider seriously. “He was one of best players in the world in his
          prime and someone that I respect hugely. He’s doing a good job for Jamaica and he’s trying to get more players involved.

“I’ve never thought about playing for Jamaica before but now I have a chance to

play international football and further my career. “Playing for England was always a dream but playing for Jamaica could become a reality for me.”
          People like this at a minimum need some kind apprenticeship or initiation before they should even be considered.... as well as having clearly superior skills.

Agreed. He should leave a superior league to play in the Patty League for a year so we can determine if he is any good

Ah bricktop so yuh fah him playing for the reggae boyz he plays in right back position ...so the reggae boyz Gold cup team is taking shape if he comes on board

Ricketts
              Mears davis stew peas Simpson

BIBI Pratley henry JJ

E-Banks-bLAKE Fuller/kING

Mek sense nuh true Brickie?

Firstly, a legend like Barnes, you would think he knows what to look for in terms of football talent. Secondly, he must have quality if he is a part of the ManUre system. Or is it possible that Sir Alex, like Barnes does not know talent.

It is kind of funny how some folks think our players should not have to go on trials to land a contract. They feel because they are internationals, they should be able to walk into any team.

I have no problem with a 22 year old never having thought of playing for Jamaica. Not everyone look beyond there current situation to see what would be possible elsewhere.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Ah tilla

Even though I'm not a fan of Non-Jamaicans playing for the Country, I do welcome what Barnes is doing. Maybe this will keep the locals a wake up call. Maybe it will change attitudes. For far too long our locals have been acting like they have arrived and they are the best thing on the planet. Now every man will have to compete for a spot with seasoned profesionals.Let's see if the Claude Davis's and crew can keep up the same slackness when they have stiff cpmpetition for a place in the squad musch less the starting 11.

By the way, I termed this guy Non-Jamaican based on his comments. "He getsa chance to play international football an further his career" Seriously guys, Is this the type of player you want to represent your Country? Have we no pride? We often hear about the honor and pride involved in putting on the Black, green and gold and stepping out on that field....Do we want to toatlly loose that? Should we not expect or look for that in our players? Should we not expect our players to be proud Jamaicans? should we not be able to be proud of a JAMAICAN team?

Tell me, after all the Hype around the reggaeboyz especially back in 1998, you live in England and never thought about representing the reggaeboyz. That just tells me don't have a ounce of Jamaican in you. I could understand if he said that he always wanted to represnt England but JA is a 2nd choice or sumtin...But never thought about it.....

Done wid dis issue. And mi dun wid Barnes.

yuh done with the reggae boyz also?

No, I don't have dual citizenship.

Come on man barnes aim is to 1)win the gold cup 2) qualify jamaica for 2014 get behind him

Originally posted by Plush View Post

Tell me, after all the Hype around the reggaeboyz especially back in 1998, you live in England and never thought about representing the reggaeboyz. That just tells me don't have a ounce of Jamaican in you. I could understand if he said that he always wanted to represnt England but JA is a 2nd choice or sumtin...But never thought about it.....
                              This kid may have jamaican grandparents or his dad left jamacia at an eary age ....