The devil in ASBO-seeking Rooney will stop him from ever ...

• The devil in ASBO-seeking Rooney will stop him from ever ...

The devil in ASBO-seeking Rooney will stop him from ever becoming a great player

Wayne Rooney will be 24 on his next birthday but you wouldn’t know it from his behaviour at Fulham.
    The Manchester United forward looked more like a teenage tearaway who had been told he wasn’t allowed out with his mates as his simmering anger erupted last Saturday.
    He was throwing the ball back with force because too much time had already been wasted, claim the thoroughly unconvincing apologists who claim he doesn‘t deserve a football ASBO.

But what of his further fury after he was dismissed. Rooney seems unable to control his language or his temper when things turn against him and constructing a dubious defence on his behalf helps no-one.
    Some argue the devil in Rooney is the flip side to his genius, the intensity he needs to drive him on. But when he was tearing Fulham apart in the FA Cup a couple of weeks ago it wasn’t down to his aggression.
    When he was threatening to get United’s title charge back on track at Craven Cottage on Saturday it was skill and vision rather than intimidation which gave him the edge.

The best forwards in the world are known for their skill not their aggression. Brute strength and a fiery temperature are not the qualities which set them apart.
    Rooney should be named alongside Ronaldinho, Lionel Messi, Thierry Henry, Fernando Torres and co as the leading lights of the last few years, but while his temper remains a flaw in his game he doesn’t deserve to be.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo....html?ITO=1490

I saw Paul Marin's comments on Saturday and thought Rooney had stabbed someone during the game. I watched the EPL Review last night and he did throw the ball to the spot from where the freekick should be taken. Was he being aggressive in throwing the ball or was he trying to get on with the game?

Wayne Rooney is no saint, however, that second yellow card wasn't warrented. I don't give a damn who want to call me an apologist .. the ref rushed to judgement on this one.

I watched the EPL Review last night and he did throw the ball to the spot from where the freekick should be taken.
      Throw the back to the place where the free-kick should have been taken?

At the top of the penalty-area...or near the corner flag? Somehow I missed that free-kick position...and so did the opposing team and the ref as the game was restarted near the half-line

...yet, I agree with you as ref I would have ignored his petulance! No yellow or even an acknowledgement of his actions.
      Last edited by Karl; March 23, 2009, 10:14 AM.

Throw the back to the place where the free-kick should have been taken?

At the top of the penalty-area...or near the corner flag? Somehow I missed that free-kick position...and so did his the opposing team and the ref as the game was restarted near the half-line

...yet, I agree with you as ref I would have ignored his petulance! No yellow or even an acknowledgement of his actions.
        Giggs was fouled near the halfline and the ref made the call after about 2 passes. I'm not understanding your question about corner flag ... whats the relevance here?

...where was the ball caught?

...btw - That Rooney is one strong fellow Did you see where he was standing when he threw that ball? I swear it was gathering pace when it flew by the ref pretty near to the half-line

...where was the ball caught?

...btw - That Rooney is one strong fellow Did you see where he was standing when he threw that ball? I swear it was gathering pace when it flew by the ref pretty near to the half-line
            He was on the edge of the 18 yard box when he caught the ball.

The force of the return of the ball was sending it near ManU's defensive penalty-area or the goal-line nearest to the corner flag!

The ref and the Fulham players clearly knew it was needed near the half-line...Rooney must have been thinking otherwise thus the extremely forceful 'fling'!

He was on the edge of the 18 yard box when he caught the ball.
                Yes?!

Yes?!
                  So what that have to do with cornerflag?

Lazie, did you see his behaviour after the red? He even admitted today that he is worried about getting an extra one game ban because he refused to leave the field. When he left, he put his knuckles through the corner flag. He threw the ball back in an intimidating way with unnecessary force. I don't know what instructions the ref may have given him before that - like "Listen Shrek, you have to calm down or I'll book you again". We just don't know. On its own, I could see it being given and NOT given. But we have to believe the ref had instructed him before.

Anyway, the real point that the article makes is the one that you should care about - why isn't Rooney mentioned as one of the current masters of the game along with Messi, Ronaldo, Torres, Ronaldinho etc.? Do you think temperament has anything to do with it? Just a question before you bite off mi head.

Lazie, did you see his behaviour after the red? He even admitted today that he is worried about getting an extra one game ban because he refused to leave the field. When he left, he put his knuckles through the corner flag. He threw the ball back in an intimidating way with unnecessary force. I don't know what instructions the ref may have given him before that - like "Listen Shrek, you have to calm down or I'll book you again". We just don't know. On its own, I could see it being given and NOT given. But we have to believe the ref had instructed him before.

Anyway, the real point that the article makes is the one that you should care about - why isn't Rooney mentioned as one of the current masters of the game along with Messi, Ronaldo, Torres, Ronaldinho etc.? Do you think temperament has anything to do with it? Just a question before you bite off mi head.
                      Didn't his wrongful dismissal lead to his reaction? I too would have been ****************ed, afterall Rooney is no John Terry to be fortunate to have his red card overturned.

"why isn't Rooney mentioned as one of the current masters of the game along with Messi, Ronaldo, Torres, Ronaldinho etc.? "

Because he is English! Romario had a bad reputation as well didn't he?

"Listen Shrek, you have to calm down or I'll book you again".

That line had me cracking up.......
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

So what that have to do with cornerflag?
                          It simply means the ref interpreted his action as 'flingin di ball weh (towards...that penalty-area/corner flag beyond ref) innah disgust wid di ref decision'!

Force, Lazie? If Rooney meant that ball should have gone to the spot where all expected the free-kick to be taken from he would not have used 'towards corner flag type force'! He would have used to 'spot of infringement type force'.

...having said all that - I believe the ref could have just carried on ad ignored the action.

I will give you the second point on why Rooney is not mentioned among the modern masters of the game. I personally think there is nuff bias against the English.

On the other point - how can you possibly say it was "wrongful dismissal"? Mascherano got a yellow in the RM game for "kicking the ball away" when he could have reasonably argued that he was just clearing the ball. As in that case and this one, you don't know what the ref had said to them on the field about their behaviour. Rooney was going on aggressive all afternoon, pulling down the man shorts for his first card. In the second offence, the ball would have reached Big Ben from Craven Cottage if them neva stop it first.

I don't think you're being objective.

...the ball would have reached Big Ben from Craven Cottage if them neva stop it first.