Akeem Priestley

I still don't see how the league is moving away from young players. It seems like they are taking a more sensible appraoch to youth development with clubs foceused on academies as opposed to spending money on lost college causes.

The supplementary draft is a waste of time and has been.

He might be in Lees Summit at the moment.

I see some of us are comedians.
        Whats up boss?
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Well they are certainly not not as interested in developing their draft picks. That is my origninal point.

The academy players are certainly not been exposed to the senior teams recently. Only one or two so far has been lucky enough. Altidore comes to mind.

Better them focus on them acadamies and the main draft. Supplemetal was a complete waste of time.
            Better they scrap the damn draft system and lt teams be free to scout and recruit talent wherever they can find them. The draft system is just to keep in line with the other American sports. Why is it not practised in other footballing countries?
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

And I am saying they are still interested in developing their draft picks. They have smartly focused on the ones who are good enough to make an impact in the league.

As for the academy set up, that will take time, but it certainly has more potential than the waste of time supplemental draft.

Better they scrap the damn draft system and lt teams be free to scout and recruit talent wherever they can find them. The draft system is just to keep in line with the other American sports. Why is it not practised in other footballing countries?
                I agree, that they should scrap it.

However, i guess they do certain things to their culture. Having no relegation makes sense, but I am not sure the darft has a strong defense apart from keeping in line with the centralized model that they have right now.

Maybe I should say moving away from developing draft players because the MLS has cut the rosters and are spending more time with their academy. The academy however are long term project as the standard of ball play there is not even the best for younsters in the US. Better players normally go to college.

The fact is without the college draft many of our players would notbe in the MLS as they couldn't get in an academy and wouldn't be bought through the open market.

Currently the only good thing is that more teams are coming in the MLS which makes the pool a little bigger and open up a few roster spots.

Me deh yah, a poor Labourite a look fi some feedin over West Portland.

Karl it is not only our draft players ar finding it hard but also the American players as well. The MLS of late is more is moving away from developing players.

When players like Ralph anothers were drafted they were not thought to be good enough to go right away in the first squad. What is the use of the draft if the first rounders can't make your team.

The people top analysts all said they didn't expect draft picks to walk right into teams but at least they expect a few good ones to make an impact over time.
                      How does this deny lack of quality that demands being 'shed'...or habving the quality to DEMAND retention or being so good that the player can be sold to aid improved bottomline?

Cho Sass, man!

...as it relates to youth player: That youth has to be assessed to have the quality to DEMAND retention!

The sense draft make is they get allocated players for free. Without the college draft players could sign with other clubs and the MLS would have to buy them. With the college draft they are not pro and can be paid whatever the team want to them, they don't have to deal with no third party clubs.

You will not see the draft go away anytime soon.

Karl you ever heard of the word IMPROVEMENT?

look at Dane Richards and see his improvement since joining the Red Bulls

Maybe I should say moving away from developing draft players because the MLS has cut the rosters and are spending more time with their academy. The academy however are long term project as the standard of ball play there is not even the best for younsters in the US. Better players normally go to college.

Can agree with that.

Karl you ever heard of the word IMPROVEMENT?

look at Dane Richards and see his improvement since joining the Red Bulls
                              Sass: Someone at the Red Bulls saw sufficient quality Dane to first hire him..and now keep him!

All the others the Red Bulls let go would fall into either i) not good enough or ii) helps Red Bulls bottomline!

No team never cut real talent yet?
                                The more roster space available the more chance there is fi talent.