Loud silence at Catherine Hall- Sports Column

• Loud silence at Catherine Hall- Sports Column

It would seem the construction of the Montego Bay Sports Complex at Catherine Hall, which started nearly 10 years ago, has become a well-guarded secret.

Efforts to get what one would suppose would be information that should be available to the general public has met with a deafening silence.
    As per company regulations, an e-mail was sent to the Community Relations department of the Urban Development Corporation (UDC), requesting answers to a number of questions including when it was expected this phase of the work would be completed and what would the next phase of work included.

This email was sent on February 25 and a day later a response form Lorna Clarke inviting us "as a first step to visit our website at www.udcja.com for information on the Catherine Hall Sports Complex project."
    Suffice it to say the information on the website was woefully inadequate and since then at least one reminder has been sent but we have not been favoured with another response.

This is a marked departure from previous times, prior to the naming of the new board of the UDC, when answers could be expected within one working week, answers that more or less would address the questions asked.

Ofcourse this cannot be the way forward and the UDC must be cognizant that sporting interest in western Jamaica and Montego bay in particular have been very patient in the nearly a decade this venue has taken so far to reach where it has.

Obviously there has been some progress at the venue as visits up to this week has shown that at least the bleacher stands has been complete, we think, since we are not engineers and would have to be guided.
    It appears that work is also progressing on the main stands, which will house several important aspects of the facility.

All we are asking is for a progress reports and certainly this cannot be asking too much of the bright and very qualified persons at the UDC.
    Sporting Edge learned last year that work was held up, extending the late 2008 completion date, due to the non-arrival of vital components of both stands.

Certainly one cannot seek to blame the UDC for this and one could only hope for better organisation from the parties overseas.
    We are hearing now from informed but unofficial sources that the haphazard arrival of parts is still a major problem.
    We hear that parts arrive and have to be kept in storage as other parts still to arrive would have been be in place before the ones here can be assembled.

We would love to be able to confirm this but maybe the powers that be at the UDC either think informing the public as to the progress as Catherine Hall is not important or they have better things to do with their time.
    But while they fiddle precious time is being wasted and the venue lies idle while it could be used to stage several important track and field meets.

The Milo Western Relays and Western Champs had to be held else where this year as the venue was not available and the recent Trials to select the national team for the Junior CARIFTA Games which was held on the badly work track at stadium east could have been held here.

The upcoming National Junior Track and field Trials to be held in early June would be perfect for the newly opened Montego bay Sports Complex as well as at least one warm up meet for the Senior Trials to be held in late June could also be staged here.

It is not expected that any members of the UDC board or management would be conversant on local or international track and field but there is usually a one-month gap between the last major meet and the Senior Trials where a meet staged in Montego Bay could attract even American athletes to take part.

Certainly if the venue is marketed properly we shouldn't be hearing 'white elephant' tags that have been hearing about other facilities.
    Last edited by Karl; March 19, 2009, 10:09 PM.

The Big Dig could not have been such a disaster as this. Over the past few weeks, I have watched the construction of this stadium sloth along at a pace that simply blows the mind. It's the kind of erection that would make your wife leave you, because I can't figure out why in heaven's name this thing should take as long as it has.

When finished, whenever that is, it should be a thing of beauty, much nicer than our beloved but aged National Stadium. I just hope they use all the exits they have in place, and not lock lock it up as they do at the Stadium.

What amazed about the construction is the absolute lack of any safety gear - no hard hats, no boots, no safety harness. The steel framing over the grand stand area is quite high, and if my eyes were seeing right, the poor worker up there should never have been up there without a harness.

It's good to see that the community not waiting on dem. Football scrimmage goals are on the infield, and the rubberised track seems quite worn, as I have seen people jogging over there from time to time. I have also seen people jogging up and down the stands. Certainly, that should not be allowed. Is there no security there?

National disgrace that place. In any decent counry several heads would have rolled for that fiasco, if it even going to tek longer just fi dat.

Track is not worn, well at least to the the trained eye...LOL! It does need a good scrubbing but it is in far better condition than the two at the stadium complex and much faster than both.

It would take your trained construction mind to see the absence of the safety procedures and that could be explored further...hmmmmm

Sickko, I think you're being too nice to them. The blame should squarely be laid at their feet regarding deals. Do ou think any decnt company would be ruining the chance of getting another contract by screwing up parts delivery, etc..especially without compensation for the mishap?
        Don't be surprise him them said parts were ordered froma friend who does not have a steady business...Or give them said parts is still to be paid for...When will there be some better people in administartion who believes in accountability and timliness. I saw we clone the likes of Danville walker and Mayor Mckenzie

Track looks like hell. Okay, maybe it needs to be washed, but it looks like hell. I wouldn't doubt if it's actually in better condition, as it is not used nearly as much.

Danville Walker? Yuh mean di man dat totally screwed up di West Portland election? Dat same one?

It would seem the construction of the Montego Bay Sports Complex at Catherine Hall, which started nearly 10 years ago, has become a well-guarded secret.
              Efforts to get what one would suppose would be information that should be available to the general public has met with a deafening silence.
              As per company regulations, an e-mail was sent to the Community Relations department of the Urban Development Corporation (UDC), requesting answers to a number of questions including when it was expected this phase of the work would be completed and what would the next phase of work included.
              This email was sent on February 25 and a day later a response form Lorna Clarke inviting us "as a first step to visit our website at www.udcja.com for information on the Catherine Hall Sports Complex project."
              Suffice it to say the information on the website was woefully inadequate and since then at least one reminder has been sent but we have not been favoured with another response.
              This is a marked departure from previous times, prior to the naming of the new board of the UDC, when answers could be expected within one working week, answers that more or less would address the questions asked.
              Ofcourse this cannot be the way forward and the UDC must be cognizant that sporting interest in western Jamaica and Montego bay in particular have been very patient in the nearly a decade this venue has taken so far to reach where it has.
              Obviously there has been some progress at the venue as visits up to this week has shown that at least the bleacher stands has been complete, we think, since we are not engineers and would have to be guided.
              It appears that work is also progressing on the main stands, which will house several important aspects of the facility.
              All we are asking is for a progress reports and certainly this cannot be asking too much of the bright and very qualified persons at the UDC.
              Sporting Edge learned last year that work was held up, extending the late 2008 completion date, due to the non-arrival of vital components of both stands.
              Certainly one cannot seek to blame the UDC for this and one could only hope for better organisation from the parties overseas.
              We are hearing now from informed but unofficial sources that the haphazard arrival of parts is still a major problem.
              We hear that parts arrive and have to be kept in storage as other parts still to arrive would have been be in place before the ones here can be assembled.
              We would love to be able to confirm this but maybe the powers that be at the UDC either think informing the public as to the progress as Catherine Hall is not important or they have better things to do with their time.
              But while they fiddle precious time is being wasted and the venue lies idle while it could be used to stage several important track and field meets.
              The Milo Western Relays and Western Champs had to be held else where this year as the venue was not available and the recent Trials to select the national team for the Junior CARIFTA Games which was held on the badly work track at stadium east could have been held here.
              The upcoming National Junior Track and field Trials to be held in early June would be perfect for the newly opened Montego bay Sports Complex as well as at least one warm up meet for the Senior Trials to be held in late June could also be staged here.
              It is not expected that any members of the UDC board or management would be conversant on local or international track and field but there is usually a one-month gap between the last major meet and the Senior Trials where a meet staged in Montego Bay could attract even American athletes to take part.
              Certainly if the venue is marketed properly we shouldn't be hearing 'white elephant' tags that have been hearing about other facilities.

nice.
              good to see some investigative stuff.

What are you judging Danville walker on..the fact that PNP loose the election?

All I'm saying is taht his track record has proven that he's a reliable civil servant

History will show he was belligerent and insisted that Vaz was legally nominated when infact I am sure Mr walker knew the law and knew that vaz was infact not a proper candidate as far as the law concerned.

Wow, what did the Justices say about Walker in their ruling the other day?

Yuh mean the judges in the Jamaican justice system? Dem one deh?

But hold on.. if it was so clear, why dem need a court case ???

Danville Walker a Judge now ?

LOL !

Yuh mean the judges in the Jamaican justice system? Dem one deh?
                          Oh .. a suh it guh?

All of a sudden, our courts have become bastions of justice.

LOL!

Mo, is there a Jamaican equivalent to OSHA (Occupational Safety and Health Administration) in the country? If so, why not report them? Especially since UDC is a government agency, they should be making sure safety is practised in the work place.
                              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran