A tell yuh bout dis bredda yah...Fergie doesnt rate Rafa..

• A tell yuh bout dis bredda yah...Fergie doesnt rate Rafa..

Alex Ferguson interview: The Manchester United boss on Rafa Benitez’ rant, Gazza and his best ever United XI
    By Mirror.co.uk 19/03/2009

Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has spilled the beans on football, management and his ‘biggest mistake’ in an interview with Alistair Campbell in the latest issue of the New Statesman magazine.
    Fergie, who features on the cover of the magazine alongside Campbell, says that his biggest mistake in football was letting go of defender Jaap Stam and that his biggest disappointment was not signing Gazza.
    “He was a fabulous footballer and he would have done brilliantly here,” says Ferguson.
    In the revealing interview he goes on to talk about Rafa Benitez’s amazing anti-Manchester United rant earlier this season - “Weird. I really don’t know what he was talking about. I’d be amazed if his staff or his players thought it was a good idea” - and says he doesn’t rate Rafa Benitez as one of the Premier League’s top three managers.
    Advertisement - article continues below »
    //'); //]]>

“You’d have to say Arsene Wenger, David Moyes and Martin O’Neill.”
    When quizzed about his dream United XI from his time in charge of the club he says: “My problem is I have had so many great players that I can’t do one dream team. I ask myself who were the players you could not leave out. Roy Keane, Scholes, Giggs - [I would] never, ever leave him out if I was playing my best team. Ronaldo and Cantona are both ‘never leave out’ players. You’d have Beckham knocking on the door. As for Rooney, if I left him out, I’d have to do it by email or I’d never hear the end of it. God, when you go through it like that, I have been blessed with terrific players.”
    He also describes Pelé, Alfredo Di Stefano, Diego Maradona and Johan] Cruyff as the best footballers he’s ever seen

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I pray we meet in the CL final. Everyday ! This victory would signal the shift in the balance of power back to its foundation.Liverpool !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I pray we meet in the CL final. Everyday ! This victory would signal the shift in the balance of power back to its foundation.Liverpool !
      Gwaan pray nuh!! Yuh prayers may be answered. Rafa has never won the EPL so what is there to rate? Oh .. managing Liverpool to a CL victory? You pathetic bunch need to stop acting like victims now.

Moyes & Oniel has BTW Arse hasnt won a thing since Rafa has touched the prem.

i see we are back to the "rafa-lution".....yuh mood swings scary sometmes yuh nuh!!!

rafa will have to earn fergie's respect.....beat him in the premiership. stop mek it sound like yuh a beg fi rafa get fergie's validation....

Moyes & Oniel has BTW Arse hasnt won a thing since Rafa has touched the prem.
            Any of those 3 would have won the EPL with the same Liverpool team. You seem to think winning against Manchester United mek him a genius. Oh wait .. as Ronnie Whelan pointed out, he saved his best performance for Manu ....

I think it has been earned for a while , giving its due is another thing and we all know Fergie has a problem with that .as for validation being ranked the number one team in europe says it all for the past 5 years.

Fergie lost the mind games along time ago he knows it.Mourinho could not ruffle Rafa ,Arse has long given him his respect ,Fergie needs to step in line.

Funny he mentions Moyes (everton) and Oniel (Barry saga/drama) ahead of Redknapp and Hughes who have accomplished more in the EPL than both of the aboved mention.

I expect Spurs to be a rising power as long as Harry is there, knocking on that 4th league spot.Hughes if he stays at City can do the same.

Fergie a try something.

The same liverpool team ? so whats stopping them from building thier own ? Has Moyes been at Everton for donkey years ?

This race is closer than you think and its not over .The balance of power has shifted to Anfield and it will last thier awhile.
                Last edited by Sir X; March 19, 2009, 04:28 PM.

ifhe has earned then no sweat..he'll get it...just stop looking for it.

A tale of four managers .. but who has the best record in Europe?

By Laura Williamson
                    Last updated at 7:19 PM on 19th March 2009
                    Four English teams in the last eight of the Champions League draw with four experienced, successful managers at the helm.
                    But is it Sir Alex Ferguson, Arsene Wenger, Rafa Benitez or Guus Hiddink who has the best record in Europe?
                    Ferguson's Manchester United sides have played by far the most games, with the Scotsman knocking up 160 European fixtures on the sideline since the Champions League began in 1992. Sir Alex has also won the coveted trophy on two occasions (1999 and 2008).

Sir Alex Ferguson celebrates with his Manchester United players after their unforgettable European Cup win in 1999

Arsenal boss Wenger is another to have surpassed the 100-mark in terms of European games but, although the Frenchman took the Gunners to the final in 2006, Wenger has yet to win a Champions League title.
                    Rafa Benitez's Liverpool won Europe's premier club prize in 2005 and have enjoyed a healthy win rate in their 68 European games under the Spanish manager, who also took Valencia to the quarter-finals of the competition in 2002-03.
                    Chelsea boss Guus Hiddink has been absent from the Champions League since 2006, but returned to the fray last month to oversee the Blues' progression to the quarter-finals with a win and a draw against Juventus.

Rafael Benitez and captain Steven Gerrard celebrate after winning the European Cup in Istanbul in 2005

Hiddink took PSV Eindhoven to the semi-finals in 2005 and oversaw Real Madrid's European campaign in 1998-99. The Dutchman was also a European Cup-winning manager with PSV in 1987.
                    So, is it the manager from Scotland, France, Holland or Spain who has the best record in the Champions League?
                    Sportsmail looked back at every game each manager has been in the dugout, including qualifying games, and found it was Benitez who came out on top.
                    The Liverpool boss has won 60 percent of the games Valencia and the Reds have played under his watch - and that's a 'fact'.

Rankings (Win percentage)
                    1. Benitez 59%
                    2. Ferguson 54%
                    3. Wenger 47%
                    4. Hiddink 45%

1. Rafa Benitez

Valencia: P 14 W7 D4 L 3 Win % = 50
                    Liverpool: P 68 W 41 D 14 L 13 Win % = 60
                    Overall: P 82 W 48 D 18 L 16 Win % = 59
                    Best performance: Champions 2005

2. Sir Alex Ferguson

P 160 W 86 D 43 L 31 Win % = 54

Best performance: Champions 1999 and 2008

3. Arsene Wenger

P 111 W 52 D 32 L 27 Win % = 47

Best performance: Runner up 2006.

4. Guus Hiddink

Real Madrid: P 8 W 4 D 1 L 3 Win % = 50
                    PSV Eindhoven: P 32 W 14 D 6 L 12 Win % = 44
                    Chelsea: P 2 W 1 D 1 L 0 Win % = 50
                    Overall: P 42 W 19 D 8 L 15 Win % = 45
                    Best performance: Semi-final with PSV 2005

Liverpool's the team to avoid, Fergie, even if you don't rate Rafa

By ANDY TOWNSEND
                      Last updated at 8:36 PM on 19th March 2009

Rafa Benitez landed a five-year contract to extend his stay as Liverpool manager, but didn’t make it into Sir Alex Ferguson’s top three of his best Barclays Premier League managers. You can’t win them all.
                      It suggests that Benitez has still to earn the respect of Ferguson, even though he has won a European Cup final and may win another this season.

Running scared? Ferguson may want to avoid Liverpool after Old Trafford humiliation

In an interview with the New Statesman, Ferguson describes Benitez’s recent attack on the Manchester United manager as ‘weird’ and then omits him from his trio of favourite current managers in the English game, naming instead Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger, Everton manager David Moyes and Aston Villa’s Martin O’Neill.

More...

Mind you, the interview took place before Benitez turned up in Manchester and inflicted upon United their worst home defeat in 17 years. Who knows if that would have changed Ferguson’s mind? Maybe not.
                      Liverpool, however, will go into Friday's draw in Nyon as the team to avoid, following that 4-1 victory at Old Trafford and their 5-0 aggregate smashing of Real Madrid. Benitez certainly knows his way around these two-legged European fixtures.
                      In Steven Gerrard, Liverpool have the player of the competition so far. He is the top scorer with seven goals — and that coming from midfield, albeit an advanced attacking role. You sense that, when fit, Gerrard can win a game anywhere, against anyone.
                      It’s what Benitez does next that will be fascinating. Chief executive Rick Parry is departing the club, Rafa has his new contract — and he won’t ever be more powerful at Anfield.
                      However, his transfer market performances have often been inconsistent, so how much dare will he show in the summer? Does he need a David Villa, to play alongside the explosive Fernando Torres?

Suits you: Benitez is on a high after a fantastic week

He already has too many mediocre players in his squad, so he should be bold and buy a player who will make a difference and will help shift the power from United and Ferguson. One result does not make you champions of England.
                      Of the four foreign clubs facing up to the English quartet, Barcelona carry the biggest danger. They can blitz you in a match; one minute you will be in the game, the next minute you are out of the competition.
                      Bayern Munich, who broke the scoring record with their demolition of Sporting Lisbon in the previous round, will be a challenge, but none of the English clubs would lose any sleep about facing the Germans.
                      There are easier pickings with Porto, who don’t travel so well, and Villarreal making up the last eight.
                      It’s true that you don’t get this far without being a decent team, but there isn’t too much in these two opponents to worry the Premier League sides, although Villarreal are hard to break down.
                      Remember, it’s a free draw, so the English teams can be drawn against each other and there is no seeding.
                      All eyes will be on seeing if Fergie versus Benitez comes out of the hat. It would make Manchester versus Inter Milan in the last round look like an afternoon tea dance.
                      As for my personal top three managers among the current group — also discounting Fergie — I’d go for Wenger, Moyes — and Benitez.

Lazie, now you are talking crap. How many trophies have those three managers won in the past 10 years combined? That statement ("Any of those 3 would have won the EPL with the same Liverpool team") is what philosophers would call "counter factual". It is impossible to prove and hyperbole - at best.

The reason Rafa is not mentioned by the Scum's Master-of-All-Things-Evil, is because he has NEVER (as a matter of his own bitter nature) given Liverpool credit for anything. Whenever he mentions "the top clubs in Europe" or in "England", he mentions everybody except Liverpool.

As you and everyone on this board knows, I try to be objective. When I tell you the man is evil, you think I am joking. There is something at his core which is truly wicked. I wouldn't doubt that him go home at night and tie his cat's tail to the back bumper of his Rolls.

Look at the departures of players like Stam, RVN, Beckham, Heinze etc. etc. -- once revered at Ol' Toilet and in one swoop, demonised by the Evil one. So how you can expect him to give the Mighty Reds or Rafa credit? Impossible.

Unbelievable.

Lazie, now you are talking crap. How many trophies have those three managers won in the past 10 years combined? That statement ("Any of those 3 would have won the EPL with the same Liverpool team") is what philosophers would call "counter factual". It is impossible to prove and hyperbole - at best.

The reason Rafa is not mentioned by the Scum's Master-of-All-Things-Evil, is because he has NEVER (as a matter of his own bitter nature) given Liverpool credit for anything. Whenever he mentions "the top clubs in Europe" or in "England", he mentions everybody except Liverpool.

As you and everyone on this board knows, I try to be objective. When I tell you the man is evil, you think I am joking. There is something at his core which is truly wicked. I wouldn't doubt that him go home at night and tie his cat's tail to the back bumper of his Rolls.

Look at the departures of players like Stam, RVN, Beckham, Heinze etc. etc. -- once revered at Ol' Toilet and in one swoop, demonised by the Evil one. So how you can expect him to give the Mighty Reds or Rafa credit? Impossible.

Unbelievable.
                          Paul Marin and being objective? .

Once again Liverpool fans at it .... whats the fuss if Fergie nuh rate Rafa? Y'all need to stop being petty. Moyes has beaten Rafa time and again ... with the exception of when unuh get aided by the refs.

Xcuse like to claim Rafa has done more with less ... well Oniel and Moyes has done much better than Rafa with much less.

Get over the departure of those players ... Manchester United has moved forward since then and so has the players ....

See how yu stay? I said "TRY" eedy boo. I gwine start call you Mr. Presi-dunce.

You still don't answer the question - the three of them don't win more than one trophy between them over 10 years - Rafa has a far better record than all of them put together. And Fergie is objective -right?

See how yu stay? I said "TRY" eedy boo. I gwine start call you Mr. Presi-dunce.

You still don't answer the question - the three of them don't win more than one trophy between them over 10 years - Rafa has a far better record than all of them put together. And Fergie is objective -right?
                              The man is entitled to his opinion bredren. It seems to be the norm for Liverpool fans to squeal whenever someone doesn't agree with them that the earth is flat.