United unlikely to win all five trophies: Ferguson

• United unlikely to win all five trophies: Ferguson

LONDON (Reuters) - Manchester United's squad was the best he had managed in his 22 years at the club, but he did not think they would win the quintuple this season, manager Alex Ferguson has said.

United have already won FIFA's Club World Cup and English League Cup and are favourites to win the Premier League for the third successive season.

They are also in the semi-finals of the FA Cup and quarter-finals of the Champions League, but Ferguson said the unpredictable nature of cup football means that winning all five trophies is probably beyond them.
    "The thing about cup football is you need to be the best but you also need a lot of luck and I think it's asking too much for all the games to go your way," he said in a wide-ranging interview in the New Statesman magazine.

"The one thing I will say is, this squad is the best I have ever had. Every game we play, I feel confident.

"At the moment, every attack fears our defence and every defence fears our midfield and attack. That gives you confidence but it is too tough a call."

In the interview, conducted by Alastair Campbell, a key advisor to former British Prime Minister Tony Blair, Ferguson said his greatest achievement was winning the treble of Champions League, Premier League and FA Cup in 1999.

He also admitted his biggest mistake was allowing Dutch defender Jaap Stam to leave the club and his biggest disappointment was not signing Paul Gascoigne when he left Newcastle United in 1988.
    "He was a fabulous footballer and he would have done brilliantly here," he added of Gascogine.

Ferguson also said he has not yet decided on retirement.
    "I am 67 now, my health is good, I still have the drive and the energy. I've been here for more than 22 years but I still get a buzz arriving at the training ground," he said.
    "I still get that tingle of excitement when the team bus draws up at an away ground before a big match."
    Last edited by Karl; March 19, 2009, 09:54 AM.

In other words write off the CL and the 4-1 drubbing ave dem a fret pan the prem.Now that Rafa has exposed Man U weakness to the Prem.

If you can get past ,A Villa, Everton,Spurs,Man City and Arsenal without dropping points .the prem could be yours.

15 points in total.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

He also admitted his biggest mistake was allowing Dutch defender Jaap Stam

wow he must of been sampling couple bottles of the vintage stuff before this interview...btw i agree with him that it was a HUGE mistake not just the fact of letting him go but for the effect on the morale of the team...RVN was another premature situation...
      Last edited by Gamma; March 19, 2009, 09:28 AM.

He also admitted his biggest mistake was allowing Dutch defender Jaap Stam

wow he must of been sampling couple bottles of the vintage stuff before this interview...btw i agree with him that it was a HUGE mistake not just the fact of letting him go but for the effect on the morale of the team...RVN was another premature situation...
        You are aware that Stam is a scout for the Empire? If you recall, the Empire has won the EPL every year since Ruud left.

let me humour you...no iwas not aware that stam was a scout for man u....how does that change fergie's regret?

yes they have won titles since rvn left .... they have also won titles since eric cantona left....your point?

The point is: Even with those errors, Man U has still been, clearly, the best int he EPL.

I don't RVN was a mistake as both him and Roy Keane were very disruptive to a very young team and that was not the example Fergie wanted for Rooney, Ronaldo and Saha who all were at least a little hotheaded. They also needed the time on the pitch which RVN couldn't understand.

oohh please , the luckiest with the refs up until yuh buk liverpool the season nuh dun yet .

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

let me humour you...no iwas not aware that stam was a scout for man u....how does that change fergie's regret?

yes they have won titles since rvn left .... they have also won titles since eric cantona left....your point?
                  Well your "wow he must of been sampling couple bottles of the vintage stuff before this interview" comment was a clear indication that you weren't aware they made up.

People seem to be blind to the fact the way Ruud played was a prevention to the movement of Rooney and Ronaldo as he was always in the box. Since he has been removed Ronaldo's scoring has shot up. Not saying Ruud isn't good but his movements wasn't ideal for the current system.

Sass: Is right on the money.RVN's exit was necessary. ...just as TH14's was for the YOUNG GUNNERS!

RVN getting the boot was good management move. Good for the TEAM! Good for BoyU!

if that is the point then you're on a different topic altogether...... FOCUS!

Sass: Is right on the money.RVN's exit was necessary. ...just as TH14's was for the YOUNG GUNNERS!

RVN getting the boot was good management move. Good for the TEAM! Good for BoyU!
                        Thank yuh Karl ... explain to it Gamma as well. Oh .. one disagreement ... the part bout TH14 karreck dat!

on second thought you all are right about RVN...

regarding the sampling i think you missed my point....but that is nothing new and has nothing to do with whether they made up or not (which incidentally i was not aware) the admission itself is the newsworthy event for me.

see above on the RVN thing..i corrected myself upon further review...

the TH14 thing talk about an irrelevant reference!!!!!!!!! that is a clear sign of player hatred.....clear clear clear!! even mek lazie haffi call yuh out!

You're right on the importance of that admission on his handling of Jaap Stam.

Damn getting near to taking up residence in Shady Pines gets one to bear soul!