Vancouver joins mls

• Vancouver joins mls

It's official: Whitecaps joining MLS in 2011 (from Van sun)

An artist's rendering of BC Place stadium decked out to host a Whitecaps soccer game. The Whitecaps will start play in Major League Soccer in the 2011 season.

Photograph by: Handout illustration, Vancouver Sun files

The Vancouver Whitecaps will join Major League Soccer for the 2011 season, it was confirmed today, in what may be the worst-kept secret in Lower Mainland sports circles.
    MLS commissioner Don Garber made the announcement, as the Whitecaps prepare to move from venerable Swangard Stadium in Burnaby to a renovated BC Place Stadium. The venue there is to undergo $365 million worth of improvements before the new MLS team takes to the field, improvements that will include a retractable roof.
    "We are thrilled to welcome Vancouver into Major League Soccer for the 2011 season," Garber said. "The ownership team of Greg Kerfoot, Steve Luczo, Jeff Mallett, and Steve Nash love the game and represent a new breed of ownership group. Our new Vancouver team also provides an attractive stadium plan and a market with a rich soccer tradition."
    The Whitecaps ownership group consists of Kerfoot, Luczo, Mallett two-time National Basketball Association MVP Nash, whose brother Martin is captain of the United Soccer Leagues First Division champion Whitecaps club.
    Kerfoot is the owner of Vancouver Whitecaps FC and former CEO of Crystal Decisions Software. Luczo is president, CEO, and chairman of the board for Seagate Technology and part owner of the NBA's Boston Celtics. Mallett is part owner of Major League Baseball's San Francisco Giants and is the former president and COO of Yahoo! Nash — a guard for the NBAs Phoenix Suns — is a two-time NBA MVP, and along with Mallett, is an investor in women's professional soccer.
    Thursday marks the start of the 2009 MLS season and the long-awaited inaugural game for Seattle Sounders FC, who are a geographic rival for Vancouver.
    Vancouver will have the second MLS team in Canada following the successful launch of Toronto FC in 2007. Toronto FC has sold out every home game, capped season tickets at 16,000, and has a season-ticket waiting list of over 14,000.
    Last edited by OJ; March 18, 2009, 03:45 PM. Reason: remove meta data

Nice!

Soon MLS will be eating the EPL and other european professional football leagues for dinnah!

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ... er ahm btw is how we measuring "soon" ?

This is you PR......

But then you realized that "soon" was a subjective term, then you went like this ... --because your eyes were OPENED!!

heheheheeee

I think this is very good for MLS .

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

good for Vancouver too.

Good for MLS, Very good for Canadian players, and excellent opportunities for CONCACAF (especially CFU) players.
              "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

vancouver has been stockpiling good young players such as Orgville and jbaker.. I wonder now if they are still sellers or will they hold on to these talent and make them mls propertiy.. Interesting dilema as they can make more now than if these talent were mls to be sold.

Vancouver is a good pick as is Portland. The Toronto atmosphere was great when they joined the MLS and the Sounders atmosphere the other night was unreal. Good move Sounders to have 22,000 season ticket holders.

good question but I don't see them escaping the MLS CARTEL.

i get the feeling thats the case. and thats might not be a good thing.

In terms of profit they will make out better but for player development I don't think so.

The MLS B teams are joke