• Kolo Toure Refuses To Commit To Arsenal

Kolo Toure Refuses To Commit To Arsenal

The Ivorian central defender is still unsure of where his future lies...

15 Mar 2009 15:28:33

EPL: Wayne Rooney - Kolo Toure, Manchester United - Arsenal (PA)

Arsenal defender Kolo Toure has fuelled speculation that he may leave the club in the summer after making no promises over his long-term future.

The Ivory Coast defender handed in a transfer request at the start of the year during the January transfer window, and it was thought that the 27-year-old would leave Emirates Stadium.

The powerful centre-back had attracted interest from Manchester City, where Mark Hughes is desperate to increase his defensive options in a bid to qualify for Europe this season.

The Ivory Coast international has admitted that he does not get on with fellow defender William Gallas, and has stated that he was unhappy at the club at the start of the season.

Toure later withdrew his transfer request but is still unsure over where his future lies.

Despite this, the defender feels happy with the current set-up at the Emirates Stadium.

Speaking to The Sunday Express, Toure said, "In football you never know. I cannot say something today and then change it another day. I am quite happy at the moment playing and doing my best for the team. That’s what is most important for me."

The Gunners have not won any silverware since the FA Cup win in 2005, and Toure feels this is a major concern for such a big club after going a season unbeaten in 2004.

"We want to win something every year but at the moment we aren’t able to do that – so we are not very happy.

"The last time I won a trophy it was a great, great time for Arsenal. Those glory days can return soon, definitely. But we have to win at least one thing at the end of this season."

Toure moved to the Gunners in 2002 after being spotted by Arsene Wenger playing for Ivorian outfit ASEC Mimosas, and has gone on to make 218 Premier League appearances for the club, scoring 10 goals in the process.

Nick Turner, Goal.com

For Kolo to stay Gallas will have to leave. Guarantee that one or the other will NOT be a Gunner next season.

Toure was improving into that CB position until Gyal-ass went to Arsenal.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015