• BC! BC! BC! Big Up the KOP!

This is clearly the KOP's day!

Man U should not have got that penalty. Our player was fouled but he could not possibly get to the ball before it crossed the end line. We got a gimme.

To make matters worse, Vidic pulled down Torres in the box in the first half and was not carded and no penalty was given. KOP got robbed again.

Worst match Vidic has ever played. Should have cleared immediately instead of trying to let the ball drop, which allowed Torres to tek it weh from him and score KOP's first goal.

Fergie outsmarted himself. Why did Anderson start? Why change three players at a time when Vidic wasnt palying well and was playing on a yellow card. I can understand holding players back on Wednesday but why hold players back when Wigan is the next game and when the current game is against in-form KOP?

The free kick for a goal after Vidic got sent off was a beauty. Van Der Sar got set for a Gerard right footer and then the other player took the left footer to swerve it to the empty two-thirds of the goal. Man U got our own medicine on that one.

Man U did not threaten on set pieces.

Ronaldo was BS.

Park played his tenacious heart out.

O'Shea is o so slow.

This was the only way to both guarantee Benitez' future at Liverpool and a big pay raise for him.

But guess wha?

1) Torres is now trying to outdive and out act Ronaldo.
    2) If ever there was a time to lose a match this badly and not have to worry too much, it is now. Man U is still on top of chart and this loss is a welcome wake up call. This should get them to focus for the stretch run for the league, FA Cup and Champions League.
    3) Me sorry fi Wigan now, I believe they are next.
    4) Alex Ferguson needs to realize and react to the fact that this was as much if not more his loss than it was the team's loss.
    5)Arsenal and Chelsea have done similar things to Man U and won both games in a season and Man U still went on to win.

Nonetheless, this was an extremely entertaining game and the KOP should be very proud. Congrats to Mosiah, X, Marin and the new KOP wagonists.

Vidic didn't get a yellow according to reports I've read. I see no reason to question Fergie on this one, he has been shuffling the squad all season and winning .. as you said, it was Liverpool's day.

Next game is Fulham .. not Wigan

He didnt but couold have received yellows on several occasions. Could have got a red for pulling Torres down in the box. What a no call! KOP should have had a penalty. We should never have got our penalty. And you are right it is FUlham coming up and Villa after. It will be tough but Man U can handle it. KOP have to guard against over confidence and let down now.

Liverpool deserved a clear shut out but we got a gift to ensure it wasn't a shut out. And I disagree with you. Fergie either outsmarted him self, was outsmarted, or both occurred. He needs to hug up Vidic and build him up.

unno fi just hug up the 4 and stop talk bout red.. and yellow.. unno think his carnival.... bug side

As our dear departed friend Livi would say, if your side is not in the top three you should stay quiet. As for him, I can imagine how he is dancing in heaven!

OJ, did you really say your side is the "bug side"?

uno have strength fi stoke AND hull some little side... pool buss unno ass twice and arsenal kick unno up.. you guys beat small sides.. so how you fi call my side bug...

your post said bug side.

By the way, let me remind you, we are at the top of the league even after losing to top sides. So, that must mean the top sides lost and drew with little sides. With that perspective, which is better and which is worse? The answers are obvious and you are just rationalizing to comfort yourselves.

well injuries and some idiot striker made if difficult for us. At the end of the day I saw fergie draw for scholes, Giggs. and berbatov.. that is the difference between manu and the big side.. you all have many game changers and deserve to be where you are.. but head to head... you know you guys are not a problem.

Guess what? We are winners because these teams are entertaining us quite well.

Wow... X team Liverpool killed Man U today in front of its own fans while narrowing the gap to 4 pts.

Westman, I think OJ has a point. Head to head, the "big 4" are evenly matched. What makes your team so powerful is that you have a very deep squad so when you go to Fulham or Sunderland etc., you can draw from the bench week in week out and have decent quality as backup. This is a big advantage that only Chelski can match. Look at Liverpool today for example, Xabi is out and the best we can do is Lucas to rahtid - my 9 year old daughter firmer than him.

Good point. I maintain that if Rafa hadnt got into that BS with Fergie a couple months ago, the KOP could have been the one at the top of the charts now. But the season continues and Man U has the advantage.

Long term, I wonder what will happen when Fergie steps down.

You are right to wonder what will happen when Fergie steps down because as far as I can tell, he doesn't seem to be cultivating an heir apparent. Queroz won't be no Fergie, I can tell you that from now. However, don't look for him to go anywhere anytime soon. He will hold on for as long as he can.

I also agree that Rafa screwed the team's chances by putting way too much pressure on them at the historical pivot point in the season with that stupid rant. Whenever I hear players or managers doing that crap, I always think its a mistake. Like Rooney this weekend, or like the Juventus players when they were going to Anfield in 2005.

Anyway, it would be beyond "optimistic" to think that Manu will not rebound from this - it will probably make them stronger and I suspect they will destroy their upcoming competition.

Westman i think you hit the nail right on the head with this one. Fergie started Anderson in the hopes of containing the Liverpool midfield. While I understand his reasoning, I think he erred in not starting an in-form Giggs who is the undoubtable leader in the team. Fergie has not done particularly well against the foreign coaches in the EPL, because he tries to outsmart them instead of entering these games playing Empire brand football. Instead of making the opponent teams try to counter our brand of football (which has worked for us over the years), he he goes strategic which he falls short. The only strategic game I can remember him coming out on top (even though the game ended 1 -1 from a Rooney mistake), was the first match against Chel$ki this season. He played Park on the right wing to counter Cashley Cole's speed and to add extra cover to a slow Gary Neville. Fergie should just play Empire's game. This was a bitter pill to swallow.
                            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Fergie started Anderson in the hopes of containing the Liverpool midfield. While I understand his reasoning, I think he erred in not starting an in-form Giggs who is the undoubtable leader in the team. Fergie has not done particularly well against the foreign coaches in the EPL, because he tries to outsmart them instead of entering these games playing Empire brand football. Instead of making the opponent teams try to counter our brand of football (which has worked for us over the years), he he goes strategic which he falls short.
                              Jangle, I think you are contradicting yourself. On the one hand, you say "he tries to outsmart them" and on the other, you say "instead of playing [your] brand of football". Don't you think decisions by your manager (including outsmarting his opponents) has lead to "your brand of football"?

I think you are correct in saying that he should have started Giggs, but at the same time, none of us know his reasoning. What I believe happened today is that the inevitable caught up with you. As your own record shows, a 12 games winning streak is unprecedented. You will drop more points, unfortunately, not enough for it to matter in the title race.