Boss demands a response

• Boss demands a response

Sir Alex Ferguson rued defensive errors that cost United against Liverpool, but the Reds boss refused to castigate Nemanja Vidic and said his side will now do only one thing: respond.

United have become accustomed to having things their own way at Old Trafford this season, so defeat – and 4-1 to our fiercest rivals – sticks in the throat. “It’s a hard one to take,” admitted the boss. “But at this club it’s always about how you respond to a defeat. When you lose a game: respond. And that is what we will do.”

Vidic made an error for Liverpool’s first goal, and his second-half sending off for a foul on Steven Gerrard led to their third goal on the way to an embarrassing loss. But Sir Alex wasn’t sticking the boot in. “Nemanja has been unbelievably consistent for us with his performances this season,” he said. “Players do have off days, and he’s made a mistake. He’s a human being, all players make mistakes. It’s just a costly one for us.”

The United boss didn’t have any complaints about the Serbian’s sending off. “It looked as if [Gerrard] was clear to have a shot at goal, whether Rio could have got across, I don’t know. I don’t think I could really argue with the decision to be honest. We’d have been looking for a red card if it was against us.

“It was just one of these days, we made uncharacteristic mistakes. In big games you don’t want to be doing that. If you see the consistency over the last two years with our defending, you don’t expect it. Neither did the players. But quite rightly if you win 4-1 at Old Trafford you deserve all the plaudits, you can’t deny Liverpool that.

“But if the league was starting today, you’d take a four-point advantage with a game in hand. The goal difference is narrowed, it’s only five goals now. It was a bad day, but we have to kick on now. It was a bad day in terms of the goals we lost.”

sounds like he has he answers to me!

Answers? I don't think you can say that yet. But, the man is being practical, and rightly so. He called it very fairly and honestly. He is confronting the brutal facts - this is why it will be hard for Chelski or Liverpool to catch them. He won't sugar coat the loss but will quickly put it behind the entire team and take each game going forward one-at-a-time.

What I want to know is what Wayne Rooney must be saying to himself now?

Paul, I really hope that next season you and Karl will come out of the closet. You guys do a terrible job hiding your deep-rooted admiration for the Empire and as you put it, Slur Alex or Darth Vader. Congrats today!
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Nice try Jangle.

You are terribly mistaken as there is no such "deep-rooted admiration". I always try to deal with things honestly. For example, my utter dislike for Slur Fartface has nothing to do with his record - it is irrefutable - but don't mistake my ability to face the facts honestly as an indication of any admiration. No star. eh-eh...mi woulda drive de wife minivan ova him if him lie down a road...an mi wouldn' look back.

He won't sugar coat the loss but will quickly put it behind the entire team and take each game going forward one-at-a-time.

den isn't THAT the answer?

Gunners!