• MLS keeps 'Showing Up'

MLS Keeps 'Showing Up'

I don't wish ill will on anyone in MLS, though I may disagree with the tactics of a coach, the attitude of a player, or the sanity of a marketing campaign. If that means I'm someone who sees the glass more than half-full, well so be it.

Its importance to the game in this country and its slow but steady improvement, as well its limitations and flaws, might seem obvious, and much easier covering MLS would be if the former routinely trumped the latter, but such is not the case. Yet stridently bashing MLS for every inconsistency or that glitch impairs one's ability to evaluate the big picture, and the big picture is this: in what is about to be Year 14, MLS is still around. What a competitor!

Woody Allen once said, "Eighty percent of life is showing up" - you'll see other percentages referred to but he's quoted to that effect --- and a corollary can be added that nearly, if not all, of the remaining 20 percent is sticking around, through good and bad, ups and downs. Baseball may lack the crash and bash of football, or the slams and jams of basketball, or the grit and spit of hockey, but it's been there forever. In most countries, soccer sustains the populace as baseball does here, and it does so by survival as much as spectacle.

Plummeting downward right now are many aspects of life and if MLS can weather this greed-driven storm of gloom and doom, perhaps nothing can kill it off except that same greed applied to reckless overspending on players and other rampant madness, a la NASL.

Rather than trumpet the ticket frenzy in Seattle (again), though, I prefer at this juncture to point out a few of dozens, if not hundreds, of smaller tales to watch and savor as they unfold in this year of MLS, game by game, week by week.

(continue)

MS is not a perfect league, and in no way shape or form will I even begin to comapre it with the Spanish, German, Italian, French, Dutch or English leagues. And to boot, it may not even compare favourably to top Latin leagues in places like Argentina, Brasil and Mexico.

I will not pretend that I like the way players at the lower rung of the MLS are being paid. Nevertheless, it is a viable league and has been surviving for about 14 years. In this side of the world, it is the only league that gives so much opportunities to Caribbean players. I will not join the few who take so much joy in highlighting (or exposing) the limitations of the MLS. It has its flaws but it's all we've got!

And lest we forget, many Jamaicans have made a living over the years playing in the MLS. The list is very long with Jamaicans who have played for Jamaica, will play for jamaica, or have played for the USA. And I will reiterate my point, no other league this side of the world offer better opportunities to Jamaicans and other caribbean nationals. This league has helped to hone the skills of many players who have found themselves in the ReggaBoyz team. And the following list of players shows that we have benefited from what the MLS has to offer:

Peter Isaacs
    Robin Fraser
    Altimont Butler
    Paul Young
    Chris Dawes
    Onandi Lowe
    Mark Chung
    Chris Ziadie
    Damani Ralph
    Wolde Harris
    Omar Cummings
    Tyrone Marshall
    Andy Williams
    Shavar Thomas
    Dane Richards
    Jeff Cunningham
    Darren Powell
    Ryan Maxwell
    Obrian White
    Akeem Priestly
    Donovan Ricketts
    Robert Scarlett
    Jermaine Hue
    Khari Stephenson
    Ryan Johnson
    Stephen DeRoux
    Edson Buddle
    Cory Gibbs
    Ramone Bailey
    Mike Duhaney
    Fabian Davis
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011