Trinidad claims place at the FIFA U-20 World

I can't agree with you on that one Lazie. Schoolboy football is not funded by the JFF hence it has nothing to do with the national program. However, since schoolboy football already has a solid structure and strong support, I thing the JFF can build on that in conjunction with ISSA to help the national programs.
    Yuh seit!
    JAAA works with the schools and colleges.
    Why not the JFF with the schools and the colleges?

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
      With all due respect brethren, yuh chatting baloney on the forum. People are free to enjoy whichever sport they prefer. I did not attend a NPL game until I was an adult, and during my youth I only supported Manning Cup football.

They need to make the NPL more attractive and appealing to youths, and it needs to be family friendly as well. Why would someone bring a child to a game where the fans are telling the ref to go suck his ma@#%!
      Well, we doing doing the same stupidity for years, where has it gotten us? See we all stuck singing Sweet Sweet T&T again.

Not talking NPL here boss. The parish associations should be mandated to deal with youth football. Instead of hyping bout who and who a star inna D Cup and Manning Cup, people should be more concerned about finding the youth talent in their parishes. But hey, if its baloney a suh!

I can't agree with you on that one Lazie. Schoolboy football is not funded by the JFF hence it has nothing to do with the national program. However, since schoolboy football already has a solid structure and strong support, I thing the JFF can build on that in conjunction with ISSA to help the national programs.
        I've never had a problem with people disagreeing with me Jangle. I didn't imply schoolboy football was funding by the JFF, all I'm saying is the focus should be on a youth league instead of schoolboy football. What about a talented player who naah guh a school? Too many people are stuck in tradition.

it's a paradox. Trinidad (any level) always struggle to beat Jamaica and chances are, we would beat them more often than not. Jamaica reminds me of likkle teams like Arsenal and Livafool who rise up to the challenge and beat the Empire during the season but fail to win the EPL. We just don't know how to win matches.
          ummm sound like schoolboy mentality to me.

Who is focusing on schoolboy football...the public? That's their prerogative. That is not the cause of our lack of development. And as i said before, I think that the JFF needs to start working with the schools given the fact that they have structured age group programs and the sport is well supported. Maybe between them and ISSA, they can mandate that schoolboy coaches attain grade X, Y, and Z certification before working with the kids. I also agree that the parish confederations need to play a more active role in our development, but the plan/outline must come from the JFF.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

T&T U-20 vs Mexico U-20 (11-Mar-09)

Highlights Trinidad & Tobago Vs Mexico, Concacaf Under 20 Tornament , Including Costa Rica vs Canada Match

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ecJSc...topic=42628.30

btw reggae fan is it not time that this forum should be able to have youtube videos embedded in it so we can just play and watch on here instead of using a link....

I've never had a problem with people disagreeing with me Jangle. I didn't imply schoolboy football was funding by the JFF, all I'm saying is the focus should be on a youth league instead of schoolboy football. What about a talented player who naah guh a school? Too many people are stuck in tradition.

Couldnt have said it any better. Therein lies the problem.

A youth league would provide an additional avenue for budding players to explore. Many if not all of the T&T players on this U-20 team were products of the High School system. At least that is where they got their exposure but I think they may very well be attached to a local Pro League team as well (and I suspect they all would be).

The H.S. tradition is very strong and I don't see it going away to be REPLACED by"something else"... "something else" should be instated I agree as the H.S. season is relatively short. It could be a requirement that if you want to represent your H.S. you also have to be affiliated with the youth team of an established club. Funding would be an issue.

There is no reason why both (HS and a Youth League) couldn't co-exist.

The JAAAs share! They get the experts in and invite all!

The JFF 'runs' its courses (such as they are) and leave out the vast network of schools and colleges teachers-coaches?

The question is, why does the JFF engage in that nonsense?

Surely if the JAAA can recognise that the schools must be a part of having greatest reach throughout the island the JFF could see the same thing?

Lazie: Where would the JFF reach the greatest numbers?
                    If you do not say the schools, you are crazy!

Now, why would you not want to raise the standards in the environs where there is that 'greatest numbers'?

Next - Which great young 5 year old through to 19+ year old woul you find outside of the school system?

...or would not have been seen to have that great talent or potential
                    in school?

Is it not having all within the umbrella and then extracting the brilliant few and then putting them in specialised -- see the coming JFF academy and other specialised programs - for further development?

Well can it ever make sense for the JFF to ignore the schools and colleges?

There is no reason why both (HS and a Youth League) couldn't co-exist.
                      ...and in that statement you state the schools as environment for development is necessary!

What would be the point...what is the point of not utilising to fullest potential the football teasching-coaching at schools? They have the facilities and the captive students...and some can really think in our Jamaica reality that we should ignore that vast investment in capital...including human capital...be stepped over...be tossed aside?

Unbelievable!!!!

Truly... they ignore the environment that creates the PASSION for playing. Competing for school is something a young player strives for and why should we take away or minimise that aspect of what is relatively positive about one's school experience.

Karl,

I haven't fully thought this through but I'm going on gut feel... I think it would be a travesty to detract from a H.S. league that doesn't need fixing. But to adjust my statement above about having to be affiliated to a big club to play, probably wouldn't make sense as there wouldn't be enough teams for all HS players... however, a certain number of (key) players should have that requirement.

Truly... they ignore the environment that creates the PASSION for playing. Competing for school is something a young player strives for and why should we take away or minimise that aspect of what is relatively positive about one's school experience.
                            Agreed, boss!
                            ...suh mi seh, raise the quality of the coaching-teaching of the game in the schools.

Let the schools turn out players who think and play TEAM to go along with the technical skills...then let the specialised facilities further develop those technical skills, TEAM and add needed tactical awareness.l