Join the Debate

Wenger is not cheap. He is smart enough to realise that the business of football comes FIRST. He is focused on making the club profitable though a top 4 finish and is not dependent on trophies. He fills his stadia same way.

You don't have to go back too far to remember Leeds precipitous fall from grace, not to mention Forest...it can happen to any club when spending becomes the priority over common sense management. He doesn't have an oligarch with a free wheeling balance sheet and is thinking long term. He doesn't have manure or chelski's debt and is creating a far more enduring club that can survive him after he goes...I am not sure that will be so at manure and it ain't so already at chelski.

Arsenal are lucky to have him and without question, he has done the most impressive job with the least amount of spending. As he says - he creates stars, he doesn't buy them. The prem would do well to find more managers with that mentality.

Wenger is not cheap. He is smart enough to realise that the business of football comes FIRST. He is focused on making the club profitable though a top 4 finish and is not dependent on trophies. He fills his stadia same way.

You don't have to go back too far to remember Leeds precipitous fall from grace, not to mention Forest...it can happen to any club when spending becomes the priority over common sense management. He doesn't have an oligarch with a free wheeling balance sheet and is thinking long term. He doesn't have manure or chelski's debt and is creating a far more enduring club that can survive him after he goes...I am not sure that will be so at manure and it ain't so already at chelski.

Arsenal are lucky to have him and without question, he has done the most impressive job with the least amount of spending. As he says - he creates stars, he doesn't buy them. The prem would do well to find more managers with that mentality.
      You put it so eloquently, boss!

Just think of what is possible at BoyU, 'Pool and particularly Chelsea and Man City if the 'big pocket man dem' just pick up and go home?

Yes, the Empire have a debt problem, but don't give the impression it was as a result of purchasing players or irresponsible spending ... in case you forgot, it all came about because of the take over by the Leprechan called Glazer.

You put it so eloquently, boss!

Just think of what is possible at BoyU, 'Pool and particularly Chelsea and Man City if the 'big pocket man dem' just pick up and go home?
          Where yuh get it from that Manu have "'big pocket man"? Unuh can mek some talk sometimes it comical.

1. Based strictly on current INDIVIDUAL form, which player/s on Liverpool or Chelsea teams can make the Empire STARTING team? Please bear in mind that that player would be starting over one of the Empire's player....and why. [You later posted your "11" as:] Van dar Sar, Vidic, Ferdinand, Evra, Neville or Rafael (whoever is fit), Carrick, Scholes/Park/Giggs, Ronaldo, Berbatov, Rooney.
            You have named 13 players. Pick the 11 you care for. You asked this question as if no one on Chelski or Liverpool could make your over preened team. That is beyond laughable. The strength in your team comes from your back four. Without them, your string of 1-0 wins may well have been ties or losses, even with all the "fire power" you have spent so much money on.

Anyway, because I don't think Van der Saar is on better form (remember, I attribute your results to your defense more than him) I think Cech or Reina could take Van der Saar's place. Reina won 3 golden gloves in a row - one for each season he has played in England.

Neville and Rafael are no match for either Bosingwa or Arbeloa. Neither of these two are current internationals for a start. Plus, Neville is a rat-faced jackass that no proper team would ever allow on their squad.

Scholes/Park/Giggs/Carrick/Ronaldo -- of these only Ronaldo is a shoe in. To go into the why's and wherefore's is a meaningless debate as I doubt you will agree with me (or me with you for that matter).

Berabtov and Rooney = Torres as Karl said, that is a slam dunk. Slur Arselick would sell both of them and his left testicle for Torres, but the Spaniard is too smart to leave.

2. As an EPL manager, you had the option to buy only one - Frank Lampard or Steven Gerrard. Who would you buy and why?
            That question in isolation is meaningless. The player you would buy would depend on who else was in your squad. Gerrard would not be as effective in manure's squad as Lampard because he is not disciplined...Lampard would be a better buy for your team. However, Gerrard would be a better buy for Wigan.

3. This question is for my Empire soldiers. If we fail to win either the EPL ( ) and the Champion's League and just win the FA Cup with the others that we have won so far, would you consider the season as a failure given the team that we have? What would you attribute to this failure?
            Jangle, what is an Empire soldier? Sound like something from a video game or a comic book or one of them funky ads for men who like leather on the J-Channel in Manhattan.

Anyway, do you know how many times have teams won trebles in the history of the top flight? Answer: Three. Liverpool did it twice and Manure once. How many times have teams won doubles? Answer: I believe it is about 26 - Liverpool has won doubles 7 times; their closest rival in this category is Arsenal with 4. Manure has only done the double 3 times in its history as I understand it. The point is - a double ain't easy!! So to say any season with a double is a failure is to grossly underestimate the accomplishment, especially when your team hasn't done it that many times. It may be a missed opportunity, but failure? I don't think so.

Where yuh get it from that Manu have "'big pocket man"? Unuh can mek some talk sometimes it comical.

Did your bosses...step in and bring in 'dunny'? ...well? Loans? ..so?

You do not think the Chelsea man...or the others really took all the funds from their personal accounts...did you?
              Last edited by Karl; March 13, 2009, 09:49 AM.

Lazie - you are being foolish. Are you kidding me? Let's see what an a-typical line up of signings of current players cost manure compared to Arsenal:

Van der Saar £0M*
                Rafael £0M*
                Vidic £7M
                Rio £30M
                Evra £6
                Ronaldo £12M
                Carrick £18M
                Hargreaves £17M
                Park £4
                Berbatov £30M
                Rooney £20M
                Total: £144M

Almunia £0M -
                Clichy £2.5M
                Gallas £0 (he was a swap for Cole who joined the club as a trainee)
                Nasri £16M
                Fabergas £0
                Diaby £2M
                Arshavin £15M
                Walcott £5M
                Rosicky £6.5M
                Sagna £6M
                Toure £0.1
                Adebeyour £7M
                Van Persie £2.5M
                Eduardo £7.5M
                Denilson £3.4

Total £72.4M

* their fees weren't disclosed, so I will say ZERO.

And this is with me including 15 Arsenal players to Manure's 11; not to mention that no one knows how much Slur Arslick really paid for Anderson, Nani or god knows what corrupt deal went on for Tevez. And unuh don' have no "big pocket" mentality? Please deal with facts.

Lazie - see my other post. You have no friggin' idea what you are talking about. Glazer did not take over the club until May 2005. Rio was signed for £30M in 2002!! And in case you forget - RVN £19M, Forlan £7.5M, Veron £28M all in ONE YEAR well before the Glazers came to Ol' Terlet. Arsenal's biggest spend up to then was (I believe) Sylvan Wiltord for about £10M or so. To peg the spending appetite of your manager on the Glazer's is complete folly.

Please my son, I repeatedly BEG you to get things straight...deal with FACTS not WISHES.

Bwoy Karl, I think that the worst is ahead of us. The problem is that these errant billionaires have created an unsustainable situation. They should learn from the bankers current situation in the economic meltdown of what can happen when spending is out of control.

Chelski is okay as long as the Russian bankrolls them...but sooner or later...they will have to pay the piper. Manure is in a world of hurt if Slur Arselick does not leave them with a successor who can keep them competitive as their fan base will shrink if they can't sustain it...and when that happens...money will get tighter...and it will happen unless like I suspect, Slur Arselick is in truth a duppy and will stick around forever...........aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh hhhhhhhhh.

Lazie - see my other post. You have no friggin' idea what you are talking about. Glazer did not take over the club until May 2005. Rio was signed for £30M in 2002!! And in case you forget - RVN £19M, Forlan £7.5M, Veron £28M all in ONE YEAR well before the Glazers came to Ol' Terlet. Arsenal's biggest spend up to then was (I believe) Sylvan Wiltord for about £10M or so. To peg the spending appetite of your manager on the Glazer's is complete folly.

Please my son, I repeatedly BEG you to get things straight...deal with FACTS not WISHES.
                      Paul yuh need to start putting "I think" in yuh posts bcuz you coming across as having no idea what yuh talking about. Manchester United was a debt free club prior to the take over. Signing those players didn't put the club in debt. Get it right.

Lazie - you are being foolish. Are you kidding me? Let's see what an a-typical line up of signings of current players cost manure compared to Arsenal:

Van der Saar £0M*
                        Rafael £0M*
                        Vidic £7M
                        Rio £30M
                        Evra £6
                        Ronaldo £12M
                        Carrick £18M
                        Hargreaves £17M
                        Park £4
                        Berbatov £30M
                        Rooney £20M
                        Total: £144M

Almunia £0M -
                        Clichy £2.5M
                        Gallas £0 (he was a swap for Cole who joined the club as a trainee)
                        Nasri £16M
                        Fabergas £0
                        Diaby £2M
                        Arshavin £15M
                        Walcott £5M
                        Rosicky £6.5M
                        Sagna £6M
                        Toure £0.1
                        Adebeyour £7M
                        Van Persie £2.5M
                        Eduardo £7.5M
                        Denilson £3.4

Total £72.4M

* their fees weren't disclosed, so I will say ZERO.

And this is with me including 15 Arsenal players to Manure's 11; not to mention that no one knows how much Slur Arslick really paid for Anderson, Nani or god knows what corrupt deal went on for Tevez. And unuh don' have no "big pocket" mentality? Please deal with facts.
                        Yuh getting desperate Paul? Or is it the norm for Liverpool fans to twist reality?

Manchester United was able to do those transaction because of how the club was being run. Stop give the impression that Manu have a Roman or some oil barren to turn to. Since the Glazers took over there is a budget of 25 million per year to get players (not certain if it has been increased). The first season no purchase was made then Ruud and Hienze was sold to Real, Richardson, Ebanks, Rossi, Eagles and other have been sold in came Nani, Anderson and Hargreves. This season Berbatov and 2 youths from Serbia.

I'm dealing with facts ... you need to try doing the same.

"Jangle, what is an Empire soldier? Sound like something from a video game or a comic book or one of them funky ads for men who like leather on the J-Channel in Manhattan."

Paul I always find your anti-Empire posts so amusing and entertaining. You are so creative in your description of Sir Alex Ferguson and Manchester United Football Club.
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

"Neville and Rafael are no match for either Bosingwa or Arbeloa. Neither of these two are current internationals for a start. Plus, Neville is a rat-faced jackass that no proper team would ever allow on their squad."

Once again your emotions are misleading you. Bosingwa a Portuguese international ... suh why in the coach of the Portuguese team pleading with Rafeal and his brother to choose Portugal over Brazil? Which team Arbeloa play fah? Cyaan Liverpool, again, only Gerrard and Torres could mek the Empire team, one writer said Carrager could mek it as a right back ... but that is wishful thinking.

Lazie - you are smoking crack. Rafael is NOT an international. Arbeloa is a Spanish international...Bosingwa is a Portuguese international. Rafael is a junior - that's nothing but fact my son.

Lazie - you are a master at twisting your arguments from one thing to another. What on earth are you saying now? I don't know why I bother. You would never make a grade 2 logic class.

Let's get this straight. Before I waste my time any more on this:

1. Does Manure have a more expensive squad than Arsenal?

If your answer to that is anything but a "Yes" then you are living in an alternate reality.

2. You said "Manchester United was able to do those transaction because of how the club was being run"

How was it being run Lazie? Explain to me what the club did to make it possible for them to make such massive expenditures.

3. Just the other day you were advancing a ridiculous argument about Liverpool spending 183M pounds; I tried to point out that on a net spending basis Liverpool is nowhere near Manure or Chelski...now you say "Ruud and Hienze was sold to Real, Richardson, Ebanks, Rossi, Eagles and other have been sold in came Nani, Anderson and Hargreves. This season Berbatov and 2 youths from Serbia" - that 's called NET SPENDING buddy. Funny how you use it when it suits you.

Anyway, you are all over the place. The bottom line is that you can not compare the amount of money spent by your club to Arsenal - end of story.