Join the Debate

• Join the Debate

Ok, so yesterday I broke the speed limit to get home to watch my taped Empire game. After the game I spent 3 hours on a three-way call with my two bredrins in a heated debate. I will put the topics up for you all to have your says.

1. Based strictly on current INDIVIDUAL form, which player/s on Liverpool or Chelsea teams can make the Empire STARTING team? Please bear in mind that that player would be starting over one of the Empire's player....and why.

2. As an EPL manager, you had the option to buy only one - Frank Lampard or Steven Gerrard. Who would you buy and why?

3. This question is for my Empire soldiers. If we fail to win either the EPL ( ) and the Champion's League and just win the FA Cup with the others that we have won so far, would you consider the season as a failure given the team that we have? What would you attribute to this failure?

4. Can we all agree that Arsenal's inability to convert all that talent into trophies is due to Wegner's cheapness and stubborness?
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

1. Based strictly on current INDIVIDUAL form, which player/s on Liverpool or Chelsea teams can make the Empire STARTING team? Please bear in mind that that player would be starting over one of the Empire's player....and why.

Torres could start over Berbatov in a 4-5-1 formation. 4-4-2 I would go with Berbatov. Gerrard could start in place of Giggs or Scholes.
    2. As an EPL manager, you had the option to buy only one - Frank Lampard or Steven Gerrard. Who would you buy and why?

Steven Gerrard
    3. If they don't win the EPL it is a failure. There is no team in England that belongs on the field with Manchester United. There are other good teams in the CL namely Barcelona and Bayern Munich and a deflected away goal or even an own goal could do the Empire in.

1. So what about Chelsea? Can anyone on their team make the Empire's?

2. Why Gerrard over Lampard?

3. So a Champions League title and the FA Cup win and not the EPL is a season failure as a ManU fan?
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

1. So what about Chelsea? Can anyone on their team make the Empire's?

Maybe Essien, but where him gonna play? Who him gonna start over? Him have better name recognition that Carrick, but who in dem right mind would pull Carrick? Maybe Rightback .... yeah ... rightback.

2. Why Gerrard over Lampard?

2 similiar players, but what I like about Gerrard, time and again he puts his team on his back and pull dem to victory.

3. So a Champions League title and the FA Cup win and not the EPL is a season failure as a ManU fan?

The EPL is priority how yuh fi have a 7 points lead with a game in hand and lose? As a matter of fact, if the Empire win their quarter final game in the CL, I fully expect them to win the EPL, CL and FA Cup.

1. I think Lampard could start over Scholes or Giggs but not Carrick. I was really waiting to see if anybody would put up John Terry's name because that was the crux of my debate. They (my bredrins) are saying that they would start Terry over Ferdinand. I went ballistic!!!

2. I agree with you on Gerrard but one of my bredrins is going for Lampard using your same argument.

3. It'll be all over come saturday when we beat Livafool. After saturday, we can start incorporating our second team players (another sore point with my Empire bredrin) for the rest of the season eg Nani, Tevez, Anderson,etc.

Ok, so yesterday I broke the speed limit to get home to watch my taped Empire game. After the game I spent 3 hours on a three-way call with my two bredrins in a heated debate. I will put the topics up for you all to have your says.

3. This question is for my Empire soldiers. If we fail to win either the EPL ( ) and the Champion's League and just win the FA Cup with the others that we have won so far, would you consider the season as a failure given the team that we have? What would you attribute to this failure?

4. Can we all agree that Arsenal's inability to convert all that talent into trophies is due to Wegner's cheapness and stubborness?
            Answers:
            1. BoyU has 17 or 18 1st team players! Isn't it a fact that BoyU's STARTING X1 differs from competition to competition and or (pick your poison) game to game?

So name the STARTING X1 of which you speak?

2. This is easy!

Heads I win! Tails I win!

3. You are a joker
            Why would anyone consider winning the trophies BoyU has won thus far plus the FA Cup a failure

4. YES!
            ...but it is good stubborness!

Go GUNNERS!

1. I think Lampard could start over Scholes or Giggs but not Carrick. I was really waiting to see if anybody would put up John Terry's name because that was the crux of my debate. They (my bredrins) are saying that they would start Terry over Ferdinand. I went ballistic!!!

2. I agree with you on Gerrard but one of my bredrins is going for Lampard using your same argument.

3. It'll be all over come saturday when we beat Livafool. After saturday, we can start incorporating our second team players (another sore point with my Empire bredrin) for the rest of the season eg Nani, Tevez, Anderson,etc.
              No disrespect to Lampard, good midfielder, but check the stats, without Drogba his scoring declined. Remember various England coaches wanted Scholes to come out of retirement? The passing ability of Scholes the others don't have but the drive that Gerrard have, I don't see it in Lampard.

Mek mi put it out there ... JOHN TERRY A IDIOT. Him get alot of ratings because him leave the field with dirty clothes. Him name nuh belong inna the same sentence with the General ... maybe yuh bredren dem was drunk during the discussion. John Terry can't start over Johnny Evans? Rahtid .. John Oshea would mek my team ahead of they overhyped fool.
              Last edited by Lazie; March 12, 2009, 10:34 AM.

1. True. My apologies to all the non-ManUites. The usual starting XI:

Van dar Sar, Vidic, Ferdinand, Evra, Neville or Rafael (whoever is fit), Carrick, Scholes/Park/Giggs, Ronaldo, Berbatov, Rooney.

2. Pick one Karl and state your reasons.

3. Karl I can understand your position, being a fan of mediocre teams. Your standards are significantly lower than any Empire soldier. For you guys, beating the Empire in an EPL match is like being crowned champions.

4. Stubborn and DUMB.

"John Terry can start over Johnny Evans?"

Sh!t, great minds think alike. I made that same statement last night.

Oh question number 5, I forgot to ask:

5. As an EPL manager, who would you buy, Darren Fletcher (now) or Nicky Butts (in his prime years at the Empire)?

"John Terry can start over Johnny Evans?"

Sh!t, great minds think alike. I made that same statement last night.

Oh question number 5, I forgot to ask:

5. As an EPL manager, who would you buy, Darren Fletcher (now) or Nicky Butts (in his prime years at the Empire)?
                    That was a typo. John Terry CANNOT START OVER Johnny Evans. Regarding question 5 ... hell yeah!

1. True. My apologies to all the non-ManUites. The usual starting XI:

Van dar Sar, Vidic, Ferdinand, Evra, Neville or Rafael (whoever is fit), Carrick, Scholes/Park/Giggs, Ronaldo, Berbatov, Rooney.
                      Berbotov and Rooney = Torres is better than these two brilliant players. Yuh ear mi? Torres better than those two BRILLIANT players!

Scholes/Park/Giggs = (all three together not as good today as) Lampart or Gerard

Carrick = Give me the little Argentinian, midfield enforcer Javier Mascherano, any day!

...or...

Michael Essien. They'll outwork Carrick and add more to the team every day and twice on Sundays!

2. Pick one Karl and state your reasons.
                      See - My original pick. Each is as good as the other - simplily BRILLIANT! ...and fits within my concept of football - pops up anywhere the game dictates they should be - in the middle: on the right or left or in the middle...up front: on the right or left or in the middle...at the back: on the right or left or in the middle. Where the game dictates, there they are!

3. Karl I can understand your position, being a fan of mediocre teams. Your standards are significantly lower than any Empire soldier. For you guys, beating the Empire in an EPL match is like being crowned champions.

Stubborn and DUMB.
                      Stubborn, brilliant business man & brilliant tactician!
                      Last edited by Karl; March 12, 2009, 10:51 AM.

Karl, pick one for #2!!!!! You only have enough money to buy one.

The meaning was understood, but you didn't answer number 5.

Karl, pick one for #2!!!!! You only have enough money to buy one.
                            I'll toss a coin! ...and the reasons given above speaks for itself!

The meaning was understood, but you didn't answer number 5.
                              It was or? They both play different roles Jangle, but I would go for Fletcher since he can play various positions and is better at getting into a scoring position.