Gamma, I see you are trying hard to bring me back to the fold, but I am not ready to sing that sanky yet.
Duckie out
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*.
05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Originally posted by Paul Marin View PostKarl, now you see the light...but me neva know you know poetry?
Still, I am vex our young boyz lost. What a frustration.
I know they have the talent (individual skill) to have done much better!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Jangle View PostSickko, I know that you are being sarcastic here, but the reality of the situation is that with the worldwide recession, it would be extremely difficult for anybody in charge of the JFF to raise money now for the program. Burrell, and I was originally against him during his first stint, is still the best person to lead the JFF, especially in these tough economic times, because of his rolodex. However, I won't get in an argument with you over who is better. I just get a little peeved when people here make grandiose statements about changing and hiring this and that coach without considering the financial restrains of our position. I am yet to see these same people offer suggestions about how the JFF can raise money to fund our programs, yet they make arbitary statements about getting so-and-so coach. I think this time around, our young boyz were given the tools to succeed. The results show that Duckie is limited at the international level, but if it wasn't him, then who else should have been given the task? Basically, all our local coaches are limited at the international level. I see one poster suggesting that Geoffery Maxwell would have done a better job when Maxwell hasn't achieved nothing of significance in all his years at the local level. The outdated Certificate of Achievement that he got donkey years ago is no qualification. We as fans need to recognise and appreciate the financial constraints that the JFF has to work within and temper our expectations. Yes we have probably more talented players than the rest of the caribbean, but our structure and organisation is letting us down. Trinidad's structure is about 5 to 10 years ahead of us due wholly to Jack Warner through his position in FIFA. They have qualified, or will qualify, yet again for another WC since we last appeared in one. Yet in a one-off game, we would probably beat them 8 times out of 10.
The problem is one of ignorance on the part of the coaches. The JFF must address that. The JFF must sit with someone who knows the game and then move forward from that point.
I am sorry to say, based on the time the battery of coaches - the JFF's technical staff - had with this team and the resulting 'type of play'...quality play I saw in Florida at the Ft. Lauderdale Sports Complex...there is the likelihood that not one person in that group knows the game. The other possibility is the person (...and I deliberately use person and not *persons) who may have the necessary knowledge of the game has been silenced/ignored/relegated to 'a corner'.
*The technical people I met save two were all 'recycled' persons whose teams although very successful at **schoolboy and CFU levels...where failures at the CONCACAF level.
Definitions for this post -
**schoolboy and CFU levels = (as far as ***world football is concerned...) 2nd form
CONCACAF = (depending on team met) 3rd, 4th and 5th form
***world football = top world teamsLast edited by Karl; March 11, 2009, 11:50 AM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Karl, your assessment and path to resolution of the JFF youth problems are dead on.
If the so called experts were satisfied with the performances of the team prior to the final stage of qualification, then we have a serious problem on our hand. Either way u look pon it, it nuh mek no sense, because if dem see the mediocre performances and did nothing about it, we have a problem and if they thought the performances were good, we still have a problem.
Or, they were just concern with the results and not the technical aspects of the game (shape of the team, spacing, movements ect) and thus we buck we toe at the higher level of play.
We lost two golden opportunities ova the last year to expose our talented youths to de world and we nuh mek the last 2 hex.
Is Ja football going down the same path as WI cricket?Six days I work for my children, on the seventh day they work for me.
Mitty
Originally posted by Mitty View PostKarl, your assessment and path to resolution of the JFF youth problems are dead on.
If the so called experts were satisfied with the performances of the team prior to the final stage of qualification, then we have a serious problem on our hand. Either way u look pon it, it nuh mek no sense, because if dem see the mediocre performances and did nothing about it, we have a problem and if they thought the performances were good, we still have a problem.
Or, they were just concern with the results and not the technical aspects of the game (shape of the team, spacing, movements ect) and thus we buck we toe at the higher level of play.
We lost two golden opportunities ova the last year to expose our talented youths to de world and we nuh mek the last 2 hex.
Is Ja football going down the same path as WI cricket?"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Karl View PostJangle: In this case it was not a money problem. The JFF proved they could get the Young Boyz the quality matches needed...and as fact the JFF did that.
The problem is one of ignorance on the part of the coaches. The JFF must address that. The JFF must sit with someone who knows the game and then move forward from that point.
I am sorry to say, based on the time the battery of coaches - the JFF's technical staff - had with this team and the resulting 'type of play'...quality play I saw in Florida at the Ft. Lauderdale Sports Complex...there is the likelihood that not one person in that group knows the game. The other possibility is the person (...and I deliberately use person and not *persons) who may have the necessary knowledge of the game has been silenced/ignored/relegated to 'a corner'.
*The technical people I met save two were all 'recycled' persons whose teams although very successful at **schoolboy and CFU levels...where failures at the CONCACAF level.
Definitions for this post -
**schoolboy and CFU levels = (as far as ***world football is concerned...) 2nd form
CONCACAF = (depending on team met) 3rd, 4th and 5th form
***world football = top world teams
Originally posted by Karl View PostAnswer to your question: Our football will rise...shortly!Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*.
05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Originally posted by Jangle View PostHow and why? What evidence do you have to come to this conclusion?
...more hope than anything!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."