Duckie out

• Duckie out

I'm the first band waggaonist that will say people like Duckie nuh readi fi dis yet. Samething I'll say about Burrell and crew. Seriously, we have Barnes and Whitmore who are both highly regarded....why weren't they more involved with the team..at least for strategy and scouting other teams.

I realized we were doomed when I read the Observe and Gleaner this morning. I first read the Gleaner and looked at Duckie comments and then I double checked on the Gleaner just to make sure no one misquoted him. The man lost two of his best players and gave a report that it won't affect his team at all...If that's how he thinks and planned for the game then there goes our downfall....

This team should have qualified. the got all the preparations that was asked for. The blame lays dead at Duckie's feet..let's see if JFF does the right think and fire him...We need someone really good at the youth level to develop these guys...It's lpbeen proven over and over that the local guys don't have what it takes to to compete at the international level. Whitmore is the only coach that proves that he blongs thus far...the only thing duckie did was scrape through the Caribbean championships

he tried his best come on now he has potential what the JFF should do plush is invest in its coaches send duckie on courses etc

Originally posted by Plush View Post
      I'm the first band waggaonist that will say people like Duckie nuh readi fi dis yet. Samething I'll say about Burrell and crew. Seriously, we have Barnes and Whitmore who are both highly regarded....why weren't they more involved with the team..at least for strategy and scouting other teams.

I realized we were doomed when I read the Observe and Gleaner this morning. I first read the Gleaner and looked at Duckie comments and then I double checked on the Gleaner just to make sure no one misquoted him. The man lost two of his best players and gave a report that it won't affect his team at all...If that's how he thinks and planned for the game then there goes our downfall....

This team should have qualified. the got all the preparations that was asked for. The blame lays dead at Duckie's feet..let's see if JFF does the right think and fire him...We need someone really good at the youth level to develop these guys...It's lpbeen proven over and over that the local guys don't have what it takes to to compete at the international level. Whitmore is the only coach that proves that he blongs thus far...the only thing duckie did was scrape through the Caribbean championships
      Not fire him!
      Send all the junior coaches to school to learn the game!

They could start by considering the TEAM game Liverpool played.
      Taking particular note of -
      movement and passing;

how the TEAM moved as like AMOEBA - flowing with never a disconnect of parts;

the interpassing before each gaol - save and except the penalty - was scored;

how the passing with the inside of the foot was safest of the passes and how the use of that section of the foot dominated passing actions;

return to the final use of the foot on the three goals scored - passing into goal! ...and the many good shots that were taken with that same passing action;

finally take note of how sparingly the 'bruk' was used...yet how Liverpool swept by the Real Madrid players...how entertaining Liverpool's play was...how 'sweet' the game was!

I said here two years ago that he did not impress me and lots of people tried to cow me down.

All this breddah do is walk up and down the sidelines frowning and trying to behave like he is inthe EPL and issuing instructions that most of his players have no clue what he is saying-using pure hackneyed cliches.

I said here two years ago that he did not impress me and lots of people tried to cow me down.

All this breddah do is walk up and down the sidelines frowning and trying to behave like he is inthe EPL and issuing instructions that most of his players have no clue what he is saying-using pure hackneyed cliches.

Better coaching and player development at youth level is needed. He may not be the right person but until we get a better structural system in place this will forever be the outcome.

Plush, I was also wondering why Barnes didnt get involve wid this team.

We got through the prelim using our talent and speed, but when it comes to this qualifying group, our team lacks the technical ability to compete with the top teams in concacaf.

This team was too talented not to qualify. Ja soccer is regressing right b4 our eyes and the JFF cannot do anything to stop it.

As I said b4, Ja is the least technical side of the top 10 teams in Concacaf
            USA, Mexico, CR, Honduras, Canada,T&T, Panama, EL Sal, Haiti ,Cuba and Guatemala, pass and move off the ball much better than us. (We only beat the last 5 teams because we are more talented)

THIS WAS A BIG DISAPPOINTED
            BURRELL & COMPANY HAFFI GO SORT DIS OUT
            Six days I work for my children, on the seventh day they work for me.
            Mitty

Ah you dat Karl? X - what you do to Karl??

Not fire him!
              They could start by considering the TEAM game Liverpool played.
              Taking particular note of -movement and passing; how the TEAM moved as like AMOEBA - flowing with never a disconnect of parts; the interpassing before each gaol - save and except the penalty - was scored; how the passing with the inside of the foot was safest of the passes and how the use of that section of the foot dominated passing actions; return to the final use of the foot on the three goals scored - passing into goal! ...and the many good shots that were taken with that same passing action;

finally take note of how sparingly the 'bruk' was used...yet how Liverpool swept by the Real Madrid players...how entertaining Liverpool's play was...how 'sweet' the game was!
              Karl, now you see the light...but me neva know you know poetry?

Still, I am vex our young boyz lost. What a frustration.

Originally posted by Mitty View Post
                Plush, I was also wondering why Barnes didnt get involve wid this team.

We got through the prelim using our talent and speed, but when it comes to this qualifying group, our team lacks the technical ability to compete with the top teams in concacaf.

This team was too talented not to qualify. Ja soccer is regressing right b4 our eyes and the JFF cannot do anything to stop it.

As I said b4, Ja is the least technical side of the top 10 teams in Concacaf
                USA, Mexico, CR, Honduras, Canada,T&T, Panama, EL Sal, Haiti ,Cuba and Guatemala, pass and move off the ball much better than us. (We only beat the last 5 teams because we are more talented)

THIS WAS A BIG DISAPPOINTED
                BURRELL & COMPANY HAFFI GO SORT DIS OUT

Good points made but one thing you didnt mention was the fact that the team conceded 8 goals in 3 games. That wont get it done at this level. It lead me to consider that defensively we might have been very disorganized and not compact as we shouldve been. Honduras only conceded 2 goals while team USA didnt concede any.

Ok guys, I can share in your disappointment with our team not making the WC. I also agree with many here that some drastic actions need to be taken by the JFF. However, my concern is about money/cost. Right now, the JFF has no major plans to earn any money. With none of our teams going to any WC, and the big money-earner, the senior team, out, I don't see the JFF making any significant money to run any comprehensive programs for a while. Even in today's newspaper there is a report of the JFF owing the players money. That has to be sorted out SATISFACTORILY prior to the Gold Cup. The next news we may be hearing is that they owe JB for wages. Our youth programs need structure and good coaches to progress. This U20 should have made the cut, and Duckie has no excuses whatsoever, so the blame rest squarely on his shoulders. If the JFF fires him, who do they replace him with from our local batch, because they certainly cannot afford to hire a foreign coach. Has Tappa been paid?
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I'm disappointed that we have been knocked out but I'm not surprised. Last week when the U20 played in Ft lauderdale prior work commitments prevented me from going to the game. However, four of my co-workers (A Ghanaian, a Colombian, A Brit & his Polish wife) all went to see the game. The next day they talked about the skill, pace and strength of the young Jamaicans. Sadly, they also had quite a few negatives to say. They said the team was "disorganized," displayed "no ability to maintain shape," and seemed easily "disoriented" under pressure. They went as far as to say that the squad needs a "better coach."

I came on the forum that day to voice what my co-workers had observed but then I decided to refrain from commenting. Karl had somewhat said the same thing and had been bashed for his observations. To be honest, I had doubts about what my friends had said basically because I told myself that they did not understand our culture and the way we play the game. Now here we are! As HL would say: the only time truth hurts is when it comes up and bites !

BTW: Charlie (my Ghanaian colleague) had said jokingly that the U20 team reminded him of teams in Ghana, full of talented players yet have no clue about winning a game. I cursed him out then, but last night while we worked I had to reluctantly agree with him that our approach to the game needs some major tweaking.
                    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

the single most unsettling thing for me is the level of preparation they received. it was unprecedented!!!! friendlies against TOP teams...seeitdeh...it look like canada gone thru...

i also think that the young boyz started to believe the hype that their qualification was a foregone conclusion .....

"full of talented players yet have no clue about winning a game."

That is such a profound statement, and this is what JB is trying to instill in the senior team. There are times, as in last night's case, when all we need is not to lose a game in order to proceed in a competition and we fail miserably. It is a more a mental thing with us. We bypass playing the simple ball for something more flashy and lose the ball and the game.
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

mental is right....just like how in the last 2 or 3 series the west indies have started to show some mental fortitude....

I dont understand you at all...there are people here who thinks Burrell is the next best thing to Trump and Gates and so raising money for the programme and has a deep rolodex to get good friendly games and this would not be a problem so what are you talking about now?

Sickko, I know that you are being sarcastic here, but the reality of the situation is that with the worldwide recession, it would be extremely difficult for anybody in charge of the JFF to raise money now for the program. Burrell, and I was originally against him during his first stint, is still the best person to lead the JFF, especially in these tough economic times, because of his rolodex. However, I won't get in an argument with you over who is better. I just get a little peeved when people here make grandiose statements about changing and hiring this and that coach without considering the financial restrains of our position. I am yet to see these same people offer suggestions about how the JFF can raise money to fund our programs, yet they make arbitary statements about getting so-and-so coach. I think this time around, our young boyz were given the tools to succeed. The results show that Duckie is limited at the international level, but if it wasn't him, then who else should have been given the task? Basically, all our local coaches are limited at the international level. I see one poster suggesting that Geoffery Maxwell would have done a better job when Maxwell hasn't achieved nothing of significance in all his years at the local level. The outdated Certificate of Achievement that he got donkey years ago is no qualification. We as fans need to recognise and appreciate the financial constraints that the JFF has to work within and temper our expectations. Yes we have probably more talented players than the rest of the caribbean, but our structure and organisation is letting us down. Trinidad's structure is about 5 to 10 years ahead of us due wholly to Jack Warner through his position in FIFA. They have qualified, or will qualify, yet again for another WC since we last appeared in one. Yet in a one-off game, we would probably beat them 8 times out of 10.