• Goalkeeping: Whose Hands are Safest?

Whose Hands are Safest?

There is one topic that has always been, and always will be debated with no factual empirical answer: “Who is the best keeper in the world?” Opinion will always be the final source of any individual involved in the debate. Of course, it is easy to rate and differentiate top goalkeepers from the rest of the pack, but to say one is the best simply comes down to what one perceives a goalkeeper should be. To borrow the proverb concerning the assessment of the most beautiful woman, beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

While I will not answer this question for you, I will give a brief synopsis of the top five in the world today and rate them as I see it:

(continue)

Good!

...for me - Brad Freidel!
    He does not have the quality defenders in front of him as do the top 4! ...yet for all that, match after match he brings top class displays and amazing saves. Move Brad to the top of the pack!

I can tell u whose hands are not the safest..

Donovan Ricketts!!!

Julio Cesar (a suh him name?) pulled off some absolutely breathtaking saves over the weekend.

Remember back in the day when we used to talk about Gordon Bank's save on that Pele header? (If yuh not old enuff for this discussion, you're excused. ) It was widely regarded the as best save ever. Yes! Well, Julio Cesar has done that and better. Indeed, many goalkeepers around the world have pulled off better. Even Ricketts has pulled off some miraculous saves. Yes, him same one, Brickie!

I guess when it's a Pele header and you have the weight of the English press behind you, you're gonna believe that Banks was the greatest goalie ever.

Selecting the top goalkeeper is a tough job, because I think Shay Givens should be up higher. Even though I rate Edwin Van der Sar as a top-notched keeper, I think his abilities are muted because of the quality of the defenders in front of him. Peter Cech is still top class also, it is very hard to beat him. Brad Freidel is like a wall. I have not seen much of Julio Cesar, but when I do, he certainly deserves top billing.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Tim Howard drop a ball last weekend and almost gave away a goal.

Did anybody see it? His fellow Everton players were amazed at it.

The ball took a swerve at the last minute.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

dida stop play?

Good!

...for me - Brad Freidel!
                  He does not have the quality defenders in front of him as do the top 4! ...yet for all that, match after match he brings top class displays and amazing saves. Move Brad to the top of the pack!
                  Only a US publication would have Howard and Friedel in a putative top ten list of keepers.

This is a false choice from a prejudiced list.

No Friedel would make ANYBODY'S list. He has been doing this year after year.

Howard is not bad either.

No Friedel would make ANYBODY'S list. He has been doing this year after year.

Howard is not bad either.
                      Never said any of those two were bad... they are very solid all round keepers.... debatable whether they are among the best in the world.

In my opinion having them both on a world top ten list is an obvious hometown decision.

Never said any of those two were bad... they are very solid all round keepers.... debatable whether they are among the best in the world.

In my opinion having them both on a world top ten list is an obvious hometown decision.
                        Don't really see much hometown bias to it. I think most in the world would have a hard time finding 10 keepers better than those two.

If it was done in England many would come up with pretty much the same list as Howard record is great since joining Everton. Not a lot of goals scored on him.

Brad Friedel has been good everywhere he has been and he had a lot of clean sheets last year. Without a doubt he was in the top 3 keepers in the EPL last season. It says a lot when Villa actually let go two good keepers to get him as their first choice keeper and they are riding in third spot.

Originally posted by Me View Post
                            Don't really see much hometown bias to it. I think most in the world would have a hard time finding 10 keepers better than those two.
                            Everyone is entitled to an opinion I guess.

If it was done in England many would come up with pretty much the same list as Howard record is great since joining Everton. Not a lot of goals scored on him.

Brad Friedel has been good everywhere he has been and he had a lot of clean sheets last year. Without a doubt he was in the top 3 keepers in the EPL last season. It says a lot when Villa actually let go two good keepers to get him as their first choice keeper and they are riding in third spot.
                              This was not an EPL list clearly.... but a world list.