NCAA: Athletes graduate at higher rate than other students

RE: NCAA: Athletes graduate at higher rate than other students

Yes she loaded up in the Summer and all vacation breaks as she went there with a plan...of course journalism must be easy if they will allow any half wit, semi-literate lawyer wanna be in it, nuh true?

Ha ha ha

Sickko (11/11/2006)Would you like to place a bet? Let me give you some home work Karl, take all the time you want, how many girls from these schools were able to take up a full scholarship at a NCAA school straight from high school and did not have to go through Barton CC or some other Community College.

Yo liem to talkem about back hand slaps and all that but tell me if I am not telling the truth.
      Give me a jump start - How many girls and from which schools got scholarships toCommunity Colleges and or Colleges from 1964 to present?

Mosiah (11/11/2006)Okay. But there is more to the story too!
        More.....I am not following Mo. What are you getting at? - T.K.

Sickko (11/11/2006)...of course journalism must be easy if they will allow any half wit, semi-literate lawyer wanna be in it, nuh true?
          Ha ha ha
          Soun' like mi mash yuh korn Sickko.Sorry, it was meant to be a joke, not an attack on your choice of professon.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Other athletes have gone the Junior College route and them never attend Holmwood or even Vere.

Guess they could always stay in Jam. and study Hospitality Mgmt.:P

wha you talk bout dem couldn't even get inna UWI or CAST. You know how much exam you have to have?

All the colleges them me know ahtlete have to work or them drop out. Some a them who Sickko see who take time a drop them drop out because them nuh complete enough classes.

I use to tutor economics and most of the students were Athletes and them come cause them have to pass it to play. I know schools that the ahtletics department get 2 weekly update from the teachers and them have to work hard.

The fact is no school don't want to be caught cheating as they will be punish and people good go to jail as in the case of Barton Community College coach who did some back hand stuff to get the athletes job. Would you see that in Jamaica?

and it was taken as a joke....Apple Mac at work dont post emoticons at all

Assasin CAST used to have a bakery course that started in January and ended in March that they used to pack up with a whole heap of athletes.

Matter of fact the course must have been very hard as a few of them had to go back several times...if you get my drift.

Of late the tertiary board or whatever it is called has started cleaning it up.., maybe you can find out what courses Asafa did while he was at UTECH.

Sickko, I try not to get into these debates about academics and athletes. But let me say this - they can cite all kinds of stats about athletes doing well, it's all crap. TK is right. Many times, it's the results of the "lesser" athletes, those who do swimmng, lacrosse, even soccer, that are used to prop up the average of athletes in general. Some of these players were never the sharpest knife n the drawer, and when you combine a heavy calendar of sports for them, there is no way they are suddenly going to become A students. (Sass, save us the trouble of giving us a few examples. Those happen too be the tiny exception.)

What happens on many occasions, teachers are "advised" to "work with" the students. By that they give them better grades than they really earned, if they earned any at all. I know first hand what I am talking about.

Do we really believe that NCAA basketball players, who trot around the USA, even Hawaii to play games, are Mensa quality? Have you heard them talk? Ever wonder why they always seem to interview a select handfull and not the first player who steps in front of them?

Sickko (11/12/2006)Assasin CAST used to have a bakery course that started in January and ended in March that they used to pack up with a whole heap of athletes.

Matter of fact the course must have been very hard as a few of them had to go back several times...if you get my drift.

Of late the tertiary board or whatever it is called has started cleaning it up.., maybe you can find out what courses Asafa did while he was at UTECH.
                      Sickko, do you know the above statement to be true? CAST had a number of courses, but I could not remember bakery. I know if institutional management back in the day.

I read an article which says Asafa is studying engineering.
                      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

See my comments made at 3:00pm today.

Mosiah (11/12/2006)Sickko, I try not to get into these debates about academics and athletes. But let me say this - they can cite all kinds of stats about athletes doing well, it's all crap. TK is right. Many times, it's the results of the "lesser" athletes, those who do swimmng, lacrosse, even soccer, that are used to prop up the average of athletes in general. Some of these players were never the sharpest knife n the drawer, and when you combine a heavy calendar of sports for them, there is no way they are suddenly going to become A students. (Sass, save us the trouble of giving us a few examples. Those happen too be the tiny exception.)

What happens on many occasions, teachers are "advised" to "work with" the students. By that they give them better grades than they really earned, if they earned any at all. I know first hand what I am talking about.

Do we really believe that NCAA basketball players, who trot around the USA, even Hawaii to play games, are Mensa quality? Have you heard them talk? Ever wonder why they always seem to interview a select handfull and not the first player who steps in front of them?
                          Spot on Mosiah. - T.K.