NCAA: Athletes graduate at higher rate than other students

• NCAA: Athletes graduate at higher rate than other students

<DIV id=cnnSCHeadlineArea><A name=ContentArea></A><H1>NCAA: Athletes graduate at higher rate than other students</H1><H5><SCRIPT language=JavaScript type=text/javascript> </SCRIPT>POSTED: 10:40 p.m. EST, November 9, 2006 </H5></DIV><DIV id=cnnSCContentColumn><SCRIPT language=JavaScript type=text/javascript>var clickExpire = "12/9/2006";</SCRIPT><DIV class=cnn0pxTMargin id=cnnSCFontButtons><DIV id=cnnSCFontLabel>Adjust font size:</DIV><DIV id=cnnSCFontMinusBtn &#111;nclick="setActiveStyleSheet('default'); return false;"></DIV><DIV id=cnnSCFontPlusBtn &#111;nclick="setActiveStyleSheet('LargeFont'); return false;"></DIV></DIV>

INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana (AP) -- NCAA president Myles Brand commended college athletes for their academic improvement Thursday, then criticized poor fact-checking by the media and government for failing to report the true story.

Brand said figures released by the NCAA Thursday prove athletes often outperform their peers in the classroom and called any other notion a "myth."

The latest federal graduation rates show athletes are more likely than the general student body to earn a diploma, and that female athletes continue to post higher numbers than their male counterparts.

"One of my most significant frustrations to read time and again is the mistaken myth that student-athletes are not good students," Brand said. "The federal government confirmed something we've known for a long time -- that student-athletes are good students. There really is no excuse for getting this information wrong."

The latest measurements showed incoming athletes from the freshman class of 1999-2000 held a 2-point advantage, 63 percent to 61 percent, over those students who did not play sports. Athletes also had a 1-point overall increase over last year's figures.

Federal graduation rates are calculated over a six-year period for each incoming freshman class.

Boston College was among four schools that graduated at least 90 percent of their athletes over the one-year period.

"This is a tribute to our coaches and support staff, but mainly to our student-athletes, who work just as hard in the classroom as they do on the playing field," Boston College athletic director Gene DeFilippo said in a statement.

Brand blamed the misperception on editorial writers and cited a letter from the House Ways and Means Committee, which is investigating the NCAA's tax-exempt status, to get the numbers right.

"Their claim that student-athletes don't perform well in the classroom is way off, and I think those wrong stories need to get their facts right," he said.

Academic reform has been Brand's top priority since taking over as president in 2003.

He presided over a movement that made eligibility standards for student-athletes more rigorous and created more stringent standards for freshmen to play. Brand also pushed for a new, more effective calculation to measure academic success among student-athletes.

Under the NCAA formula, called the Graduation Succe

RE: NCAA: Athletes graduate at higher rate than other students

I'm sure they do. But how is it accomplished? It's the how that is important. (Sound like Karl now.)

Was talking to a long/triple jumper from Montego Bay who is at LSU now and she said her journalism class' GPA was the highest in the entire school.

She was on course to complete her Bachelor's in less than three years and she planned to use the other two years of her scholarship to complete a graduate degree.

Anthropoligist and human behavioral scientists (same thing no?) will tell you that teen aged girls who are involved in sports, get higher grades than those who dont and are less likely to get pregnant early.

Then again I am sure they have not factored in the girls from Holmwood and Vere track team when they did this study...jeese, look at the time...I have this thing that i need to go do right now...

have a few soccer player working on. Not the brightest and mi have fi tell them bout attitude on the field and relating to coaches but them a struggle and go through still.

Have a youth who have a tryout with the Atlanta Silverback

Whey you want them to study Gardening:P

Mosiah (11/10/2006)I'm sure they do. But how is it accomplished? It's the how that is important. (Sound like Karl now.)
                The how is pretty simple. Sports like football and basketball the graduation rates are aboslutely embarrassing. The schools' non-essential sports teams (non-money makers) such as soccer, lacrosse, tennis, swimming, field hockey, track and field etc., are forced by the athletic directors to have a near perfect graduation rate so as to offset the stats of football and basketball. That is why it is so hard to get a coach in one of those sportsto take chance with a player without good grades. They are held to a different standard than the money maker sports. That is the short story of it. - T.K.

Aaaah boy, I tell you

MdmeX (11/10/2006)Whey you want them to study Gardening:P
                    Haha.....Sickko Appleseed!!! - T.K.

Okay. But there is more to the story too!

Good! But the ones who are failing won't be emailing you with their particulars!

Sickko (11/10/2006)Anthropoligist and human behavioral scientists (same thing no?) will tell you that teen aged girls who are involved in sports, get higher grades than those who dont and are less likely to get pregnant early.

Then again I am sure they have not factored in the girls from Holmwood and Vere track team when they did this study...jeese, look at the time...I have this thing that i need to go do right now...
                          Why the backhanded slap at Vere and Holmwood? Do you have any figures to support your attack on thos two schools?

Cho man, yuh ting dat fair?

Would you like to place a bet? Let me give you some home work Karl, take all the time you want, how many girls from these schools were able to take up a full scholarship at a NCAA school straight from high school and did not have to go through Barton CC or some other Community College.

Yo liem to talkem about back hand slaps and all that but tell me if I am not telling the truth.

Sickko (11/10/2006)Was talking to a long/triple jumper from Montego Bay who is at LSU now and she said her journalism class' GPA was the highest in the entire school.

She was on course to complete her Bachelor's in less than three years and she planned to use the other two years of her scholarship to complete a graduate degree.
                              Completing her bachelors in less than 3 years? OK, how was she doing this. Did she load up on courses during the regular semester and load up during the summer too?

Or is it that journalism is easy study Sikko? You should know as you are a journalist.
                              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran