Rockman, yuh naah guh like this!

• Rockman, yuh naah guh like this!

Manchester United striker Alan Smith is considering joining Championship leaders Cardiff on loan, United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has revealed.

Smith has been unable to break back into the United team since his return from a serious leg break and Ferguson believes the move would do the former Leeds and England forward good as he continues his comeback.

"They phoned us yesterday morning and I thought about it and the fact we are no longer in the League Cup, I thought a short term loan would be ideal for him in terms of getting games," Ferguson said Friday.

"I think he has spoken to someone at Cardiff and he is uncertain about what to do. He is not certain about whether to take it or not.

"As an option to play games that is really the idea and it's a good opportunity to get some in given we are not in the League Cup and he really needs football.

"Reserve team football is really for the youth team and it doesn't present the right challenge for an experienced player like Alan.

"There is a bit of risk about sending him out but in the present situation he needs games quickly. He needs to get through competitive matches and he is still a bit short for us in that. But he is improving and it's only through games that he's going to get it back."

Smith played as a midfielder in the first half of last season but Ferguson has decided not to pursue that experiment in this campaign.

As a forward however, Smith is behind Louis Saha, Wayne Rooney and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer in the United pecking order.

RE: Rockman, yuh naah guh like this!

Fergie is removing the steel from our team, he is a hypocrite for being totally supportive of Rooney(during his goal drought, and mind you, he was not recovering from a seriousinjury)and not Alan Smith.

Man U needs players that are active on and off the ball.

Fergie suggested that Manu is awash with midfielders(all of two)and therefore Allan has a better chance of making the team as a striker, if ever there is a position we are deep in, it has to be the forward line.

I really was looking forward to seeing Alan mastering the defensive midfield position again.

Why Fergie experimented with fielding Alan as a midfielder to begin with? What(else)could he have done to securea starting role in that position?

Blessed

Who would you bench to play Alan Smith in the midfield? Carrick nuh have steel, but is an excellent passer, much more than Alan. Rockman, Smith played a few games as a forward and was ineffective.

he is a hypocrite for being totally supportive of Rooney(during his goal drought, and mind you, he was not recovering from a seriousinjury)and not Alan Smith.

How is it hypocritical? Rooney is one of the best players on the team. He may have been having a goal drought he was instrumental in Manu getting 3 points at Wigan. None of his team mates were concerned about him not scoring as they expected him to start scoring soon.

Him going to another team to regain match fitness is good. What Fergie should do is send him to Newcastle and call back Joe Red.

Good passer, it's an attribute of an attacking midfielder. Would Roy Keane have been sidelined because of a better passer?There is a whole heap more to being a defensive midfielder.

Remember, Alan also performed well as a striker, as an attacking midfielder, he probably would score more goals than Scholes. It should be a question of Carrick or Scholes.

Would like to know the similarities between Carrick and Keane, after all,it has always been about replacing the steel midfielder.

Gosh, another of Fergie's victim, but (for now)I will not go there.

Dun kno de two a wi want de best fi Man U.

Respect Lazie.

Blessed