E. Vernan set for trial stint at DC United

how so?

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
      Why is he passing up all those offers from English teams for DC United's trial offer?

I mean, he just played in the Nigeria friendly in London!
      I'ts just a matter of time before you see the emerging players like Austin,Vernan etc. playing in England.The only reason why English clubs are a bit reluctant to try and sign these players is because i'ts difficult to obtain work permits.All these players need to do is keep gaining caps for Jamaica and as our ranking improves they will get thier chance.

Originally posted by TheDread View Post
        Karl, you are right, I don't want any of our top talent in the MLS..them too stingy and the level of competition is not there yet.
        MLS to often does not pay well relative to other leagues.
        The MLS also 'demand contracts' that leave our DPL clubs as minor stakeholders in transfer fees.

The DPL clubs get scraps while the MLS live as the Wall Street greedy fat hogs..err fat cats!

Usually these deals not good for Jamaica and Jamaicans.

Proof of the pudding?
        Show me the Jamaican who has left the MLS?
        show me the Jamaican who has made relative to World Football decent salaries...a good salary?

Tyrone Marshall?
        Was he good enough to have ventured elsewhere and made more?

Andy Williams?
        Is he making anywhere near Bibi's salary?

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
          Why is he passing up all those offers from English teams for DC United's trial offer?

I mean, he just played in the Nigeria friendly in London!
          Lack of marketing!
          DC knows a good player when they see one!

Do you think Shelton would have been paid 1 million dollars in the MLS?
            I believe you are confusing his transfer fee with his salary.

Well MLS wouldn't pay that transfer fee or the salary he is on now without him having a name in some recognized playing country.

I have spoken to Assasin about this already. He does not seem to know where transfer fee stops and where player salary starts.

Sass, let me break it down for you again. Clubs (eg. Sheffield United) will pay another club (eg. Harbour View) money for the rights to a player. This is true especially if a club has a contract with a player (thus holding the rights to the player) which the contract may not be expiring before the acquiring club intends to acquire the player. For the right to acquire the player, the acquiring club pays the club holding the rights to the player a fee both clubs can agree on as a fair valuation of the player.

When clubs agree on the transfer fee, the club acquiring the player then has to sit down with the player/player's agent and work out the personal terms for the player, like salary, housing, car and sometimes signing bonus among other perks. Because a club acquires a player for say £1 Million does not mean the player gets £1 Million as pay. For exmple, Manchester City paid £37 million for Robinho, but Robinho's salary may be about £160,000 per week.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Tilla I understand how it work, but you think any MLS team paying 1 million dollar for any player who is not established in an football playing country?

If you guys are so much on salaries you think the MLS will pay Vernon more the $50,000 a year? gwaan dream. That a third division money a England.

If you guys are so much on salaries you think the MLS will pay Vernon more the $50,000 a year?
                    Not likely, but I bet they'll pay him more than his current NPL salary.

was anyone comparing NPL salary here?

NPL is not a pro league.

Wa-chit Zeppo...

Bringing the NPL into this will only provoke guys like Mosiah and the rest of the NPL'ers.

BTW: your post above (about Vernan passing up european opportunities)had the desired effect....

Before I saw your post, i was going to post suggesting that Vernan should turn down DC based on salary....

Wa-chit Zeppo...

Bringing the NPL into this will only provoke guys like Mosiah and the rest of the NPL'ers.

BTW: your post above (about Vernan passing up european opportunities)had the desired effect....

Before I saw your post, i was going to post suggesting that Vernan should turn down DC based on salary....
                          You make it so clear who you take your cues from.

True. As you know, Austin was turned down two times because of Jamaica's ranking. He had the required anount of caps at the senior level, but our FIFA rank let him down.
                            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

No doubt Eric Vernan is a good player,his size is a slight concern.European clubs and in particular English clubs dont like taking the chance on small players.For some reason players who are small needs to be twice as good.

The English seem to restrict short players to the wings, so Vernan would stand a slight chance in England. It would be better if he was not in defence too.