New Reggae boy

• New Reggae boy

LONDON, England - The Reggae Boyz could welcome one new face and two more familiar ones to the squad for their Friendly against the Super Eagles of Nigeria at the New Den Stadium, home of Championship team Millwall FC, on Wednesday February 11.

Twenty year-old West Ham United striker Zavon Hines described by coach John Barnes as a ‘ a goal scorer, a skillful predator who could play off the main striker could earn his first cap for the country of his father’s birth against the Nigerians. 1998 World Cup veteran Deon Burton, who made his debut as a 20 year-old for Jamaica in 1997, earns another recall having played his 59th in September 2008 against Mexico in the World Cup qualifiers.

Wolry Wolfe, who was a part of the winning Digicel Caribbean Championships squad but did not play because of injury, has also been drafted in as cover for the injured.
    Stoke City’s Ricardo Fuller sustained a dislocated shoulder against Sunderland on the weekend and could be out of action for three to six weeks. Defensive stalwart Ian Goodison, who could be laid up for up to five weeks following an ankle injury in a recent League One encounter, will join Fuller on the sidelines.
    Captain Ricardo Gardner is another casualty. He missed his Bolton’s game against Everton on the weekend due to a sore knee and will not recover in time to suit up against the Nigerians.
    Prior to the recent pull outs, Darren Pratley, of English championship club Swansea City had his debut postponed by injury. Pratley suffered a serious injury to his shoulder in their recent 4-1 win over Preston and could be out for two months.
    First string goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts aggravated an old finger injury during Galaxy's a training session at the Home Depot Center and will not see any action in the game. Dwayne Miller of harbor View has already taken his place.

FULL SQUAD: Goalkeepers – Dwayne Miller (Harbour View FC), Shawn Sawyers (Portmore United);
    Defenders - Tyrone Marshall (Toronto FC), Claude Davis (Derby County), Damion Stewart, (Queens Park Rangers), Tyrone Mears (Marseille, France), Eric Vernan (Portmore United), Demar Phillips (Aelesunds, Norway);
    Midfielders- Rodolph Austin (SK Brann), Jason Morrison (Ferencvaros), Jermaine Johnson (Sheffield Wednesday), Wolry Wolfe (Portmore United), Omar Daley (Bradford City), Jamal Campbell-Ryce (Barnsley);
    Forwards - Marlon King (Middlesbrough), Dane Richards (Red Bull New York), Deon Burton (Charlton Athletic), Zavon Hines (West Ham United) and Luton Shelton (Aalborg, Denmark).

Whey di BBC dis RC eediat gone back fi RC Burton fah man!!!!!???? Mi tired a dis crap now mon!! CHO!!!

I am utterly sick of this! Is this all Jamaica can do? Which other country just sits around and looks for UB-40s to play for them?!?! MADNESS!!! SHAME!!!!

The trouble is, I can't even blame the coach, even though I would love to. He knows his job is hanging by a thin thread and results is all that matters. The JFF needs to do better than this.

NONSENSE!!!

Mind you mouth...Burrell is the best!

Might as cheap. He is a UB-40! That's the team we want to hav.

Dunny, yuh cyaan play ball?

Mosiah you know that Barnes was going to draft in as much English based players as he can. he made no secret about it. Simoes was fired for not using them.

When Simoes drafted all local he was branded as idiot so we can't do it have it both way. Barnes is fully on board with calling the UB40s.

Anyway now is the time to weed them out. he had a look at the local players recently so he can assess them. My main concern is for the local players to get more practise games and called to regular camps. Using the English based players also save the federation a lot of money.

wait nuh unno same one cuss simoes seh him use too much local and dash weh.. the trip to the motherland.. figet bout the ub40s who would you like to see that is missing

Isn't this where we were when Burrell fired Bora? Weeding out the local players then going to add the overseas based players to the mix?

I certainly did not know that when he was announced as coach. I knew once he got here and started talking. He is not about development in the least. And I don't need my head coach to develop anything, that's the JFF's job. But I certainly expected him to select the best players from the established pool and not just sit around and examine family trees!

Might as cheap. He is a UB-40! That's the team we want to hav.

Dunny, yuh cyaan play ball?
                    Mosiah i haven't seen him play,but according to reports he is a highly rated young player,what i really dont understand is why Deon is back in the squad.I would'nt over-react at the amount of UB40's in this squad.I'm sure if the game was being played in Jamaica you would see a more balanced squad.A guess they didn't want to spend too much money flying people over.

Not the same thing. Lovel, Claude, Stew Peas and the rest are not UB-40s. We can't punish or players for getting contracts. But it looks like we are punishing them for not having dual citizenship.

Simoes wasn't picking THE BEST(Portmore) local players. Di man go fi bare country jim from mobay who cant play ball.

Squad looks very good.

But he never looked at the overseas players. Bora was there for one year and didn't see most of his best players. How many other coaches you know do that?

Where were they hiding, every body with a dish or cable could see them play every weekend plus they were already known quantity why try to reinvent the wheel?