http://www.whufc.com/page/News/0,,12562~1552086,00.html

Hines a Reggae Boy

Zavon Hines has been named in the Jamica squad for their game against Nigeria

Zavon Hines has been called up by Jamaica for their friendly against Nigeria to be played at Millwall on Wednesday night
    The 20-year-old striker, who scored on his one and only appearance for the first team in last September's 4-1 defeat of Macclesfield Town, has just battled back to fitness from a knee injury. He played in the most recent reserve-team outing against Fulham on 20 January and has been training with the first team.
    Hines, who scored five goals in a terrific pre-season last summer, is relishing the opportunity to play at international level - although he cannot dream of the 2010 World Cup as Jamaica have already been eliminated. He said: "I am really pleased. It is great to be given a chance and I am looking forward to showing what I can do.
    "It was great in pre-season for me, but then it was a bit frustrating, as I got injured. I have worked hard and now this is like a reward, I am very excited."
    Hines, who was born on the Caribbean island but grew up in east London, explained that he had not been thinking about a Reggae Boyz call-up before he took the call from former Liverpool and England star John Barnes. "I still have family out there but playing for Jamaica has not been on my mind. I have just been concentrating on getting fit again.
    "The manager [of Jamaica] called me up after training yesterday and told me. I felt really good and now I want to use the experience and push on now. It's been good to be training again and I am happy to be back playing. I just want to show what I can do and play my best."

Barnes can do better !!this YOUT is not even established at his club ... I BET HE WOULD BE RELEASED AT THE END OF THE SASON .. sure he born in JA btw...

plus i remember naming this kid on my list last year ... look or for this next kid nile ranger of newcastle and theo robinson of watfrod

Not trying to turn this into a ****************ing contest but yes I know the top players from the DPL. BTW you still have not named the replacements. Another thing, are you upset that Barnes is taking a look at a 20 yr old who is already on the ground in England and who is currently in a professional set up? Hines might not be able to make the York Castle (my old school) Dcup team but let's find out. Oh, still waiting on the replacements.

p**sing contest. Now I know how Kartel feels.

Wait, I soon give you the list!

Originally posted by Naminirt View Post
              Hines, who was born on the Caribbean island but grew up in east London, explained that he had not been thinking about a Reggae Boyz call-up before he took the call from former Liverpool and England star John Barnes. "I still have family out there but playing for Jamaica has not been on my mind. I have just been concentrating on getting fit again.

Absolute disgrace!!!

I certainly did not know that when he was announced as coach. I knew once he got here and started talking. He is not about development in the least. And I don't need my head coach to develop anything, that's the JFF's job. But I certainly expected him to select the best players from the established pool and not just sit around and examine family trees!
                Why should the coach of the NATIONAL SENIOR TEAM be about developing the youth players...if they are not worthy of SENIOR TEAM places?

...I'll go further, why would any coach of the NATIONAL SENIOR TEAM consider players who do not deserve a place on that TEAM. It is an idiot that, in our situation, does not strive to make the NATIONAL SENIOR TEAM that takes the field the best it can possible be.

Development of footballers, you all seem to forget...if you ever knew...starts at extremely young ages and continue through the various school and club teams and academies...and within the NATIONAL AGE GROUP TEAMS.

...and as it pertains to the NATIONAL AGE GROUP TEAMS only those who are the absolute very best must be selected and have the JFF spend its money on thier development. It is from these "best of our young" that some 'step forth' and make it into our NATIONAL SENIOR TEAMs (Men & Women).

What other avenue do you all want for development and our very best reaching the TOP TIER...our TOP TIER NATIONAL TEAM(s)? It is total nonsense to select 'not yet good enough' or no good players to represent us at the highest...our highest level. NONSENSE to do otherwise TOTAL MADNESS to use the NATIONAL SENIOR TEAM as a place for 'may be good one day' players.

The NATIONAL SENIOR TEAM must have the best aggregation we can find. Those who develop our players...those charged with...the system within which players develop...must be improved! That is what must be done at those lower levels. That is where players must be developed and molded to reach NATIONAL SENIOR TEAM MUST PLAY/MUST BE SELECTED LEVEL...

...and what is that MUST PLAY/MUST BE SELECTED LEVEL?

Those who show quality that demand - MUST PLAY/MUST BE SELECTED by performing thus at lower levels! They will get into...MUST GET INTO the SENIOR TEAM by DISPLACING...by showing higher levels of competence as players than those players who then become relegated to former national team players status.

Do you want development and higher and higher levels of play of national teams or do you want a perpetual state of 'blooding'...'potential'?

mek up unnuh mine?!
                Sensible growth or continued NONSENSE?!

Do not blame the national senior team coach for selecting what he sees as his best players. If you have a grouse about player "x" or player "y" not being good enough to 'make the team', blame those who are responsible for their earlier development and or the system you all have that act as the conduit for development!

...and if you want to help - help by strengthening the teaching and or the systems at those earlier levels! Get them to turn out better and better players!

...get the teachers and the systems to the levels where the student-players that graduate through their hands or through those systems are MUST PLAY graduates. Face the realties of what we are turning out as graduate players. Deal with it...and stop jousting, as did Don Quixote, at WINDMILLS!

To paraphrase - "Obama is President of the United States because he is worthy". The 'born-a-yard' Jamaicans must be in the national senior team not because they were 'born-a-yard' but because they are worthy! ...and that goes for each and every Jamaican 'born-a-yard' or born-a-foreign'.

FORWARD with best TEAM!
                Last edited by Karl; February 10, 2009, 05:46 PM.

I take it we disagree. Right?

The youth is highly thought of at West Ham,he would have progressed further if it wasn't for is injury and him born a yard.John Barnes should be applauded for getting this youth on board now before England steel him.Ashley Young would've been a reggae boy if the previous regime were smart.Look at the player he is now.

You see, it's not about "where he was born". That's hardly my problem with what's happening. People criticise my stance without really understanding it.

I would really like to know - how did Barnes know Hines is Jamaican?!? Hines was not one bit concerned about representing him bawnland.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                        The youth is highly thought of at West Ham,he would have progressed further if it wasn't for is injury and him born a yard.John Barnes should be applauded for getting this youth on board now before England steel him.Ashley Young would've been a reggae boy if the previous regime were smart.Look at the player he is now.
                        ashley young did not want to play for jamaica ... he did not show up at the training for the reggae boyz games vs ghana and england .... then he jumped on a chance for the england under 21

You see, it's not about "where he was born". That's hardly my problem with what's happening. People criticise my stance without really understanding it.

I would really like to know - how did Barnes know Hines is Jamaican?!? Hines was not one bit concerned about representing him bawnland.
                          John Barnes and his team have got a job to make the National Team the best it can be,so it's there porogative to scout and find the best players available to improve the squad.No other country have a system where players pick themselves so why should we?It is up to the JFF and the head coach to go and get players on board.If that means selling the dream to them so be it as long as they are gonna improve our roster.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                            John Barnes and his team have got a job to make the National Team the best it can be,so it's there porogative to scout and find the best players available to improve the squad.No other country have a system where players pick themselves so why should we?It is up to the JFF and the head coach to go and get players on board.If that means selling the dream to them so be it as long as they are gonna improve our roster.
                            what about improveyour football

You are taking the mans words out of context to prove your misguided point. The man coming off of injury is not yet an establisbed pro...chances are playing for yard has not crossed his mind for a number of reasons and none of them is because he does not want to represent his homeland.

what about at youth level thedread how come he neva came foward?