New Reggae boy

But he never looked at the overseas players. Bora was there for one year and didn't see most of his best players. How many other coaches you know do that?
    We have to give John Barnes the benefit of the doubt,it's good he is trying to cap young players with great potential like Hines,if previous managers had the vision to do that Ashley Young would've been playing for The Reggae Boyz.

Can you really judge somebodies ability within your team by watching them on TV?

How many of our players were in the EPL when Bora was manager? How would he see Goodison, Omar Daley etc?

You think there is a reason Capello went to Milan to look on Becks?
      When man de pon TV you only see them when them inna the play for one.

I am utterly sick of this! Is this all Jamaica can do? Which other country just sits around and looks for UB-40s to play for them?!?! MADNESS!!! SHAME!!!!

The trouble is, I can't even blame the coach, even though I would love to. He knows his job is hanging by a thin thread and results is all that matters. The JFF needs to do better than this.

NONSENSE!!!
        Mosiah, what is the problem you have with foreign born Jamaicans?

Same problem that is driving the under utilization of the Diaspora...

Low self-esteem, bad-mind, fear... etc..

we go one step better - we look in passports and family trees!

not a thing. i just happen to love Jamaican-born Jamaicans more, I guess.

I just cannot understand why we are all happy about this. To me, Jamaica looks like a joke. We are no better than Dubai who buys athletes. With us, it's not even good enuff to dedicate yourself first to the NPL and get a decent English contract (at least better than the bullcrap Zeppo shows off about with his yankee jerks). You are going to be overlooked by someone who was born under Big Ben.

Madness! No other country does this to this level. NONE! But no, we are shameless about it! I can bet not a one of these players ever even had the decency to contact the JFF. They had to be searched out and sold a story as to why they should play for the country of their grandparents. I can imagine how happy they are that Johnny is the coach!

I really have no problem with the British based players who are interested in representing Jamaica (eg JCR). I don't think we should be in the business of convincing people to represent the country. If they are undecided, let them go their way.

For the 5 or so UK born Jamaicans in the squad can you please name some replacements (DPL or other leagues). Thank you

I certainly did not know that when he was announced as coach. I knew once he got here and started talking. He is not about development in the least. And I don't need my head coach to develop anything, that's the JFF's job. But I certainly expected him to select the best players from the established pool and not just sit around and examine family trees!
                    Some strong views there Boss,i know you are passionate about you local football and footballers. There is no doubt that there is a lot of talent in Jamaica,however the head coaches priority is to get results on the pitch and he is gonna live or die by those results so he is gonna pick the best squad available to get those results.A successful national team can only be good for the development of football in Jamaica in terms of bringing down our FIFA ranking,bringing sponsership and such the likes.I have no doubt that if John Barnes think a local player is good enough he would pick him ahead of a UB40 every time.Eric Vernan is in the squad because he as impressed the coach and it's up to other players to step up.There are 5 UB40'S in a squad of 20 i personally dont agree with the notion that John Barnes is just looking at family tree.

Do you know Zavon Hines?

how could you not have seen that? Look for a lot more players getting trials and in practise match over the next year.

That is part of what Barnes used to make his argument to be a national coach. The fact that nobody knows the English players like him and he can provide a unique blend with the talented locals.

Give thanks it could have been worst.

how could you not have seen that? Look for a lot more players getting trials and in practise match over the next year.

That is part of what Barnes used to make his argument to be a national coach. The fact that nobody knows the English players like him and he can provide a unique blend with the talented locals.

Give thanks it could have been worst.
                          Really? That was his argument to be the coach?!?! And the JFF employed him!?!?

why not?

Don't the JFF and the fans clamouring for a mix of UB40s and local players?

Were you at stadium when the local team get booed against Trinidad? you think them get booed because them born a foriegn?

You are definately in the minority. I don't support it wholesale but I give the coach a chance to bring in a few players but MOST welcome every single one a the players them. You nuh see how man a ball fi Nosworthy, Jason Euell and David Johnson? If them see a man play one EPL game them want a trial. My thing is we can do both, bring in a few good players while develop good local talent.

Apart from info available via the press and the internet no. So please enlighten me. Also please, at your convenience, provide those suggested replacements. Thanks much

Name the top players from the top teams in the DPL. Do you know them?

This celebrated Hines guy never played a day for West Ham in any decent game. He is now on loan to Coventry. The press release cnveniently left that info out, wanting us to believe he was striker for a big BPL team.

We don't question quality when they play abroad, regardless of the club or league.

NONSENSE!