• Sylvan the Reggae Boy?

Sylvan the Reggae Boy?

Wolves hitman Sylvan Ebanks-Blake has an open mind about playing for Jamaica.
    The Reggae Boyz coach John Barnes has indicated the striker – who has just been on England under-21s duty but is still to win a cap – could be a target for the Caribbean nation.
    Yet the Cambridge-born marksman, who qualifies to play through his Jamaican-born mum, will only make a decision only if he is forced to.
    He said: “I haven’t heard anything about it apart from what’s been in the Press. I’ve been called up for England under-21s and I’ve just been trying to concentrate on that, really.
    “I’m delighted with that and hopefully I can get a cap. They’re the best group of under-21 players in the country, so it’s nice to be involved.”

England have just qualified for the UEFA Under-21 Championships in Sweden next summer but, like Wolves team-mate Richard Stearman, there is doubt whether the pair can play in that tournament as they haven’t played in a qualifier.
    Ebanks-Blake said: “I’m definitely in the age group but I’m not sure whether I can play next summer. I think you may have had to play in a qualifier, which I haven’t.
    “My mum was born in Jamaica, so I could play for them, but I haven’t heard anything, so I’ve got nothing to think about. It’s a difficult question for me to answer, so i’ll cross that bridge when I come to it.”

This youth would be a great addition to our squad,i hope he is approached quickly.

Don't let mosiah read your pot

every man should defend him owna stash...suh mi seet!

so wha gamma he should join ?

if barnes invites and he wants to....why not?

Well the local base will not get chance to develop ...

We are not blessed with prolific strikers so this would be the perfect opportunity to have a striker who is full of confidence and scoring a bucket full of goals in our squad.

Originally posted by Naminirt View Post
                  Well the local base will not get chance to develop ...
                  Nonsense!
                  ...and this is the nonsense approach being noised abroad by many of our local football 'players' (i.e. administrators and other stakeholders).

The questions they must answer are; where does the development of players commence? ...where is that nutured?

...then...should not our very best be in our national teams?

They must then deal with - the local framwork within which our locals can be developed towards fullest potential...such that eventually they are at that same U-21 age better than 99.99% of those born outside of the island! (OK - 99.99% in arbitrary and extremely high...but we are Jamaicans! Just create the avenues for that type development...and stop wringing our hands and moaning about some others being at the moment better than our home-grown players!)

...deal with it...as with any other field.

Nonsense!
                    ...and this is the nonsense approach being noised abroad by many of our local football 'players' (i.e. administrators and other stakeholders).

The questions they must answer are; where does the development of players commence? ...where is that nutured?

...then...should not our very best be in our national teams?

They must then deal with - the local framwork within which our locals can be developed towards fullest potential...such that eventually they are at that same U-21 age better than 99.99% of those born outside of the island! (OK - 99.99% in arbitrary and extremely high...but we are Jamaicans! Just create the avenues for that type development...and stop wringing our hands and moaning about some others being at the moment better than our home-grown players!)

...deal with it...as with any other field.
                    Well said Karl.

I have no problem as long as he is not called up 2 weeks before international competition and then we looking to him as savior.

Over the next year we need a few good committed players to get familar with our system and players. When we go England we don't have to carry all the local players but we must keep the local players fully committed and make them know that we have a viable program.

Part of the problem with the local player the foriegn player but lack of communication and lack of oppurtunities. We have two games per year and if we call all the foriegners then they feel slighted like I would. We need to keep them in training and on the radar.

I have no problem as long as he is not called up 2 weeks before international competition and then we looking to him as savior.

Over the next year we need a few good committed players to get familar with our system and players. When we go England we don't have to carry all the local players but we must keep the local players fully committed and make them know that we have a viable program.

Part of the problem with the local player the foriegn player but lack of communication and lack of oppurtunities. We have two games per year and if we call all the foriegners then they feel slighted like I would. We need to keep them in training and on the radar.
                        International Managers haven't got the luxury of having players for any length of time leading up to games so we need people to adapt quickly.

Well Jamaica is no regular situation and if we want to be successful we have to find the time more like the US do. None of their players are left out.

We simple have to have a few more games and have more young teams in training on a regular basis.

I think that Barnes is going to have his work cut out for him when trying to recruit new UB40s, mostly because the timing is all wrong at the moment.

If Jamaica had made the Hexagonal then he would have a much bigger carrot to offer them.

But when considering that the next WC qualifying campaign won't even begin until three and a half years from now, I think that many of these potential ReggaeBoyz will to sit on the fence and wait to see how things play out before making the commitment.