• My laawd how much man a look my Girl

Kuwaitis line up £500m bid for Liverpool

Tom Hicks and George Gillett Jr, Liverpool's American owners, have been looking for a buyer for much of the past 12 months

Oliver Kay, Football Correspondent

div#related-article-links p a, div#related-article-links p a:visited {color:#06c;}One of Kuwait’s richest families is in negotiation to buy Liverpool. It emerged last night that the Al-Kharafi family, whose wealth is estimated at £8 billion, is involved in talks to buy the Merseyside club for a sum that is likely to be in excess of £500 million as the club’s American owners prepare to sell up.
    Tom Hicks and George Gillett Jr, Liverpool’s American owners, have been looking for a buyer for much of the past 12 months, having conceded that they do not have the resources to fulfil any of their ambitions for the club in a difficult financial climate. They established contact with the Al-Kharafi family in October and, although the buyers pulled out of a proposed purchase without explanation on that occasion, after going through the process of due diligence, a deal appears increasingly likely this time.
    It is not yet clear whether face-to-face talks have taken place between the Al-Kharafi family and the club’s owners or whether an initial deal would be for the entire shareholding or, in the first instance, for Gillett’s 50 per cent stake with a view to buying out Hicks a little farther down the line. Their interest is serious enough, however, for Hicks’s representatives to have attended a series of meetings and for two Liverpool officials — Ian Ayre, the commercial director, and Philip Nash, the finance director — to have been involved in high-level discussions.
    The Al-Kharafi family made their money through construction, engineering and telecommunications. It is led by Nasser, the patriarch, and his brother, Jassim, a politician. If successful, it is likely that Liverpool would be seen as a family enterprise.
    Related Links

Chelsea are also attracting speculative interest from the Middle East, even though Roman Abramovich has vehemently dismissed reports that he was looking to sell the club. Peter Kenyon, the chief executive, has been eager to emphasise Abramovich’s long-term commitment to the club, but that has not stopped Dr Sulaiman Al-Fahim, who led the Abu Dhabi United Group’s purchase of Manchester City in September, drawing up a takeover proposal with Falcon Equity, a Swiss-based private-equity partnership.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

girl is right...

Poor X. That is because your girl is a sketel!

When the fox cant get the grape im say it souwa! Maybe the price is out of certain man reach.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

No Man U fan wants your sketel. Ours is in form, fit and beautiful. Not one that tells how she used to be hot donkeys years ago but is now old, used up, worn out and looking really tired as ours just walked past her. Watch all ugly Chelsea waltz past your sketel soon.

Anyway, so much for trash talk. Walk good.

Post subject: Re: TAKEOVER Talk Thread v.3: G&H given loan extension? (p.18)
            Posted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 11:50 pm
            TIA Subs Bench

Location: High peak The second time he's tried to sell to this lot, surely he knows what they are prepare to pay and that they will walk away if the deal is not to their liking. I doubt he would be wasting his time taking them a deal he knows they will not accept.

liveforthereds Post subject: Re: TAKEOVER Talk Thread v.3: G&H given loan extension? (p.18)
            Posted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 11:54 pm
            TIA Youth Team

Location: Hunts Cross, Liverpool Like I have said I will beleve it when I see IT

liveforthereds Post subject: Re: TAKEOVER Talk Thread v.3: G&H given loan extension? (p.18)
            Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 12:03 am
            TIA Youth Team

Location: Hunts Cross, Liverpool Over on news now liverpool pages they have a story being run by the Times. There must be something in this if two of major papers are running a story. Lets hope it's right and it only takes days rather than months.

On a side note there are storys that Chelsea are being targeted for a take over by conection for the same area.

Red_Power_Ranger Post subject: Re: TAKEOVER Talk Thread v.3: G&H given loan extension? (p.18)
            Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 12:26 am
            TIA Legend

i take such things with huge pinches of salt, but no harm in hoping....quite sad really, the club ive loved since childhood and now i clutch at straws for an arab takeover.

gold132 Post subject: Re: TAKEOVER Talk Thread v.3: G&H given loan extension? (p.18)
            Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 12:59 am
            TIA Youth Team

Posts: 127 I'm slightly disappointed, i want the yanks out as much as anyone but £8 billion seems tiny compared to what Dubai had

If they do buy us i can't imagine we'll be seeing too many huge signings

5euros Post subject: Re: TAKEOVER Talk Thread v.3: G&H given loan extension? (p.18)
            Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 1:04 am
            TIA Legend

Location: Northern Ireland Perhaps I was too quick to condemn GBH's rumour as 'bull****************', but we've been here time and time again. There's little doubt that Hicks and Gillett are financially out of their depth. This buyer will need to have the means to build a new stadium and provide adequete finances for the club regarding transfers. Let's hope this crowd are suitable for the club and properly interested. Until I see them taking the reigns, however, I won't be living in a state of expectation.

shelovesyouyehyehyeh Post subject: Re: TAKEOVER Talk Thread v.3: G&H given loan extension? (p.18)
            Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 1:07 am
            TIA Youth Team

shelovesyouyehyehyeh wrote:
            redbj wrote:
            well, youve already said it without saying it, so....how realiable are you/youre sources?

i wouldnt put my life on it , put it that way ..........

Is this linked to GBH's rumour about involvement from a wealthy Arab?

No.

OperationRED Post subject: Re: TAKEOVER Talk Thread v.3: G&H given loan extension? (p.18)
            Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 1:13 am
            TIA Youth Team

VamosLFC Post subject: Re: TAKEOVER Talk Thread v.3: G&H given loan extension? (p.18)
            Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 1:16 am
            TIA Youth Team

Location: Ireland There is no doubt that the yanks have been terrible owners,but I would be very sceptical of any new owners who take over.

MadMax7 Post subject: Re: TAKEOVER Talk Thread v.3: G&H given loan extension? (p.18)
            Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 1:27 am
            TIA Reserve Team

There is no doubt that the yanks have been terrible owners,but I would be very sceptical of any new owners who take over.

Indeed. After the situation we've experienced with the current owners, I'm sceptical about whoever comes in next.

lfc.eddie Post subject: Re: TAKEOVER Talk Thread v.3: G&H given loan extension? (p.18)
            Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 2:08 am
            TIA Legend

Also don't get too excited...

Even if it does/is happening, you don't know who these folks are or what their philosophy towards the club could be. They could be even more miserly than our current owners. Might explain some hesitations over Rafa's contract though. We'll see.

Apart from the obvious, development and oil projects, they also own Zain Group one of the largest telecommunication (mobile) players in Mid-East and Africa, spreading over 20countries. Outside their area, Kharafi is quite low key, even though they holds $14bil worth of wealth.

Not that I know much about them directly, but I do know about Zain Group and they way it is operate. Like any typical mid-east owned company, they are pretty extravagant over their branding and how they are perceived in the world. Though the family is on the board of directors group level, but in their local outfit, they will put the local boys to be in their board of directors in the local outfit and hire the best person to run that particular outfit. Very professionally managed group and has some wonderful foresight in-terms of future road-map and plans. I have been pitching a sale to them for months now...

blank33 Post subject: Re: TAKEOVER Talk Thread v.3: G&H given loan extension? (p.18)
            Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 2:11 am
            TIA New Signing

Location: Australia Pretty excited by this - Even though just rumour material thus far.

Anyone have any information on him? He isn't a secret human smuggler or has any brazilian tv football rights?

nzred Post subject: Re: TAKEOVER Talk Thread v.3: G&H given loan extension? (p.18)
            Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 2:48 am
            TIA Youth Team

bkwitche wrote:
            Also don't get too excited...

Even if it does/is happening, you don't know who these folks are or what their philosophy towards the club could be. They could be even more miserly than our current owners. Might explain some hesitations over Rafa's contract though. We'll see.

Apart from the obvious, development and oil projects, they also own Zain Group one of the largest telecommunication (mobile) players in Mid-East and Africa, spreading over 20countries. Outside their area, Kharafi is quite low key, even though they holds $14bil worth of wealth.

Not that I know much about them directly, but I do know about Zain Group and they way it is operate. Like any typical mid-east owned company, they are pretty extravagant over their branding and how they are perceived in the world. Though the family is on the board of directors group level, but in their local outfit, they will put the local boys to be in their board of directors in the local outfit and hire the best person to run that particular outfit. Very professionally managed group and has some wonderful foresight in-terms of future road-map and plans. I have been pitching a sale to them for months now...

Well if Eddie says they know how to run a business then I for one believe him

Arab tycoon considers Chelsea bid

Fahim is part of the Abu Dhabi United Group that bought Manchester City

The Arab tycoon who led the takeover of Manchester City has revealed that he and a group of German investors are considering a bid to buy Chelsea.
              Blues owner and Russian billionaire Roman Abramovich has insisted that the London club is not for sale.
              But Dr Sulaiman al-Fahim said: "It would not be cheap... but through a number of investors, there is money available to put together a deal."
              Abramovich has invested about £600m in Chelsea since taking over in July 2003.
              Fahim, part of the Abu Dhabi United Group that bought Manchester City, is understood to have drawn up a proposal with Falcon Equity - a Swiss-based private equity partnership.
              He added: "Nobody wants to be over-exposed on one deal... first we need to see if we're in a position to buy it." 606: DEBATE

It was widely thought that Chelsea were going to announce some big news

supajoeBOI

Even though Abramovich's personal fortune is understood to have been affected by the global economic downturn, Chelsea chief executive Peter Kenyon insists the club is not for sale.
              "Next year we expect our operating profit to break even," he said.
              "Our financial accounts for 2007-08 are published in February, and any notions about the owner losing interest are dispelled in that.
              "The owner does not have to sell Chelsea and he doesn't want to."
              Still, it is believed Fahim and his investors are weighing up a bid.
              The chief executive of Abu-Dhabi-based Hydra Properties also chairs Falcon Equity, which is run by Holger Haims, former managing partner of 'DVC' - Deutsche Venture Capital.
              Heims told www.arabianbusiness.com: "I don't believe anything is not for sale if you come up with the right price.
              "We have looked at some European clubs to see if the numbers added up, and now we're doing the same with Chelsea. "I can't go into more details at this stage. It's not about trying about to buy a football club but about a business. "You don't make money because 11 guys run around the pitch, you make money because of all the other commercial aspects that go with a football club, particularly real estate and television rights."

If Liverpool is a sketel what does that make ManUre? Let me answer for you... Probably makes the bunny ranch look like a junior kindergarten class.

X, it is virtually impossible for Liverpool to become a "club of the future" without a sale to a more well-heeled and savvy organization.

The current owners just don't have the kind of money needed to bring the club into competitive alignment with the other top clubs in the league or their European rivals for that matter. However, as we have seen at City, money alone is not enough, you need football smarts and common sense among leadership.

The truth be known, in any deal to sell the club, the person that really MUST LEAVE is Rick Parry. He is a sham of a Chief Executive and it is beyond me how he has lasted this long. As you may know, many among the faithful want "Coco the Clown" to go. I am among them. I blame him 1000% for the sellout to Gillette and Hicks while he had DIC on a string. Now Al-Maktouhm says he's no longer interested due to inflated valuations by the Americans. Parry has to take responsibility for that.

For him to leave, the club needs to be sold to a ruthless bunch that will stop at nothing until the club is restored to its rightful place atop the pantheon of footballing powers...and step one has to be - Sack Parry.

YNWA

liverpool a girl yes. a bere balls fly up inna dem goal.