• Reggae Boy Obrien White Chose 4th to MLS Toronto

http://www.thestar.com/Sports/article/571993

has he ever had a senior cap for the reggae boyz?

no.

How lucky to be close to home!

No.his Nick Name is ReggaeBoy..
          Last edited by OJ; January 16, 2009, 12:02 PM.

is lyle Adams Westman's kin?

THE VIDEO

Zeppo, please educate me, What is the purpose of these drafts? i am not trying to be sarcastic. I know it's part of the American professional sports tradition, but I have never understood its purpose.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

to assign the right of a player to a team. By doing this you keep a salary structure and cost certainity. In oppose to this you will see in Europe that the big spenders can acquire a player based on thier tradition, clout or financial status. In the draft system a team in a market like Cleavland can draft a LB James.. and have him for a minimum 4 years at a set salary. Now you take away this draft and that player only plays for a NY or LA.. or what the market can afford. The Draft system is helpful and proably the way you may see European teams going as a way of cost containment.

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                    to assign the right of a player to a team. By doing this you keep a salary structure and cost certainity. In oppose to this you will see in Europe that the big spenders can acquire a player based on thier tradition, clout or financial status. In the draft system a team in a market like Cleavland can draft a LB James.. and have him for a minimum 4 years at a set salary. Now you take away this draft and that player only plays for a NY or LA.. or what the market can afford. The Draft system is helpful and proably the way you may see European teams going as a way of cost containment.
                    In addition it is also a way to promote parity and competition in that the last place team usually has first crack at the best player in the draft. consequently Cleveland in the NBA who had one of the worst records four years ago was able to draft Lebron James and now has the best record in the NBA. Kind of Biblical when you think about it"the first shall be last and the last shall be first" in draft picks anyway.

Jangle,

The other guys did a pretty good job of explaining the theory behind the draft, although whether this is the best system for soccer in America is debatable.

Check out these couple of recent articles that discuss that question:

Not feeling the draft of MLS

Counterattack: Does the MLS draft make a difference?

Galaxy and D.C. join Toronto as biggest winners

With three first-round picks, Toronto FC always figured to be one of the controlling forces in the 2009 MLS SuperDraft. However, it was believed that Toronto would influence the draft by trading away some of those draft choices. When Toronto ended up keeping its picks and watched the draft fall in a way it could have only dreamed of, the Canadian club emerged as the big winner.

Along with Toronto, D.C. United and Los Angeles walked away as the biggest beneficiaries of a deep draft that had intriguing prospects available all the way up to the fourth round.

Here's how we think the 15 teams did at the MLS SuperDraft:

(continue)

He is in fact a Reggae Boy as he has represented our national teams at the junior levels, he is a Jamaican citizen living in Canada and he has not switched his allegiance to any other country before his 21st birthday per FIFA rules. This means he is tied to Jamaica. Hopefully he can give a good show of himself to let John Barnes see what he has and give him a call.
                          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

On the other hand, Lyle Adams sound like he is more inclined to represent the USA if both countries called at the same time.

Have you spoken to Lyle?
                              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran