Two Jamaican drafted in 1st round of MLS draft

yeah mi lick out against them but fair is fair and I am happy for the oppurtunity.

Why? The season is about 9 months long...get a job in the off-season if you want to supplement your income.

Get a part-time job during the regular season if you want o supplement your income (don't know what the contract says). Football is not 9-5.

Many expenses are borne by the club so the player is not out of pocket on many occasions for food/drink etc.

Prove yourself before you start call for bigger money...why can't a 22yr old survive on $28K? cool yourself and learn your trade...

If you don't like the salary you can go start working in a job, 9 to 5 with two weeks vacation, where you might make 30-40K a year (if that) ...depending on your qualifications.

The expectations of many youths nowadays and it is seen in the working world , is that they should start off right away with a big salary without even having to prove that they can in fact make a contribution to the bottom line.

No excuse to show up out of shape for the biggest day of his life. This reflects on his commitment to be a professional.

Why? The season is about 9 months long...get a job in the off-season if you want to supplement your income.

Get a part-time job during the regular season if you want o supplement your income (don't know what the contract says). Football is not 9-5.

Many expenses are borne by the club so the player is not out of pocket on many occasions for food/drink etc.

Prove yourself before you start call for bigger money...why can't a 22yr old survive on $28K? cool yourself and learn your trade...

If you don't like the salary you can go start working in a job, 9 to 5 with two weeks vacation, where you might make 30-40K a year (if that) ...depending on your qualifications.

The expectations of many youths nowadays and it is seen in the working world , is that they should start off right away with a big salary without even having to prove that they can in fact make a contribution to the bottom line.

This is complete nonsense.

28K? Living in New York, Washington DC, Los Angeles is a struggle. The youths them going into a profession where the lifespan is short, they certainly should be getting more than that.

The point is they have to earn it.

The minimum salary is not $28K by the way... I think it is $33K, not much more but these guys have the potential to earn a lot of money if they prove themselves. If they can't make the grade go back to school or find another job.

I was surprised that Andy Williams only earned $80K last year...but Tyrone Marshall earned $150K...not megabucks but better than a kick in nthe teeth. Ask him how much he signed for.

Potential to earn a lot more money? Rubbish.

They have a career that does not last very long. By time they get to a decent salary level, their career is over.

They have earned the right to a decent living by dominating college, being drafted and making the team's roster. Full time MLS stop rape the draft picks, not to mention those players who were signed to development contracts and given 11 k. Is only the shame of the numbers going public why the MLS even start giving the lower players an increase.

Tyrone Marshall was living in LA for part of his time as a decent wage earner. By time Uncle Sam done tax him and him pay rent, him don't have much savings left. ... Good thing him have little bit of reggaeboy appearance fees to supplement his income.

what yuh talking about? that is almost J$250K!!!!

Good points.

And if these youths were good enough to be playing in higher-paying leagues then where were those offers??

The Scandinavian leagues have been scouting NCAA soccer for years now. That's why Marcus Tracy just signed in Denmark straight out of Wake Forest, just as Charlie Davies went to Sweden out of Boston College a few years earlier. Bundesliga teams have signed players out of U.S. universities, too.

If these Jamaican kids had been deemed good enough for those leagues then the offers would have been there. But apparently it didn't work out that way.

People can whine and cry all they want about MLS salaries, but from the get-go all of the draftees had a clear idea of what they would be offered. And no one is forcing them to accept it either.

Some of them (plural) have been contemplating numerous such offers. They just aren't talking about ti publicly.

Some of them (plural) have been contmplating numerous such offers but they just have not been talking about that publicly.

your post is taken in the spirit in which it was made

Thank you, Westman!

And Zeppo wrenk, bout if these Jamaicans were deemed good enuff. There are a million reasons why some are offered or not offered whatever offer, and some have nothing to do with quality of play.

And congrats to your nephew, Westman!

Nosense!!!! What is the starting salary of a NBA or NFL draft pick? Yes I know that soccer is not as popular as those other sports in America, but these salaries are just plain ridiculous. The MLS has the potential to earn significantly more and to increase the popularity here, but the problem has to do with the format and the stranglehold that the MLS organisation has over the teams. And for those converting the Jamaican picks' earnings to J$, that's just ridiculous. I am happy for them though, as the MLS is a stepping stone to a better league - Europe. However, the MLS organization should be looking to strengthen the league so that it is not seen as a quick stop by football professionals.
                            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
                              Good points.

And if these youths were good enough to be playing in higher-paying leagues then where were those offers??

The Scandinavian leagues have been scouting NCAA soccer for years now. That's why Marcus Tracy just signed in Denmark straight out of Wake Forest, just as Charlie Davies went to Sweden out of Boston College a few years earlier. Bundesliga teams have signed players out of U.S. universities, too.

If these Jamaican kids had been deemed good enough for those leagues then the offers would have been there. But apparently it didn't work out that way.

People can whine and cry all they want about MLS salaries, but from the get-go all of the draftees had a clear idea of what they would be offered. And no one is forcing them to accept it either.

Now you come with your nonsense. There are low level teams out there who will pay more and they are not scouting NCAA, so stop chat nonsense.

Clint Dempsey was good enough out of college, Khari Stephenson was. Hell, if Stephen Deroux had better people around him, he would have known that he was better than an 11k developmental contract at DC United.

Nosense!!!! What is the starting salary of a NBA or NFL draft pick?
                                You're not seriously making this comparison, are you?

There are currently only 3 teams in the entire league that operate at a profit, and the league as a whole is still not profitable:

http://www.forbes.com/2008/09/09/mls...mlsvalues.html

If MLS could pay higher salaries it would do so. Do you think that the league's officials like losing some of the best players to places like Norway and Sweden?

Anyway, get back with me when you have a basic grasp of economics.