Next for the U20 team

• Next for the U20 team

Congrats to D. Duckie and the U20 team for reaching the next stage of qualification. Some people may not like to hear it but we must move move to the next level. To get to the next level with the U20 team, we need a new coach. I have wanted to say this for some time but before the just completed tournament did not seem righ. I would emplore the JFF to take a close look at the technical analysis of the team. This team needs more technical and tactical training that cannot be done by D. Duckie in time for the next round. My suggestion would be to have none other than T. Whitmore to take over this effort to move this team to the next level. If we are serious about this U20 team and want them to progress, we need a new coach. We also need to get some more serious training camps and practice games to further develop this team. As some people have mentioned, I would not be surprised if the group we end up with will include Mexico, Costa Rica and Honduras. Some how this is how is seems to always work out. But if we want to make it to the U20 World cup then we must be able to make it through this kind of group.

On what basis do u say that Theo Whitmore is a better coach and tactician than Duckie.
    By the way not starting an argument just want to know the reason for you thinking that.

Why relieve Duckie of the position? I agree that we may have to act quickly to bolster our approach for the next round but cutting Duckie...just soh-so-suh!!!....seems cold and ungrateful. Why not give him added help by surrounding him with people like Geoff Maxwell, Tappa or Bradley Stewart?

For that reasoning, are we also going to call for better players to bolster the squad?
      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Duckie and Lennie alright in my opinion...I think he showed the necessary tactical awareness in this tournament, especially in the way he handled the Haiti and SVG games. I wouldn't change him, we just need to organize better opposition as preparation leading into the concacaf final round.
        At a young age winning is not the most important thing... the important thing is to develop creative and skilled players with good confidence.

Arsene Wenger

If we planning on grooming these youngsters for the next level, we should have someone with a better approach than Hyde as the assistant.

You can't change coach now. These youngsters have been with Duckie for the past 8 months. Remember these are not pro players and look up to their coach. Dropping their coach now is just going to upset the team plus a new coach have to do his own accessment in 2 months?

Yes you need qualified people to work with them. What would be good if Barnes and Digicel could work up a English camp at Sunderland or another team for the youths.

can't change coach now.

As for players the youth from Park university was hurt and john ross doley just coming back from injury.

I'm wondering myself. Yes, Tappa's results have been good, but...

Duckie is very qualified - from a JFF Level 2 certificate to N.S.C.A.A. National Diplomas at several levels, many of which he financed himself.

He was a very good coach in the NPL for first-timers St. Georges, keeping them mid-table all season. Doesn't seem like a big feather, but given the history of first-time teams, esp. rural teams in the league...

Keep Duckie! Just get the young Boyz some international friendlies.

You can't change coach now. These youngsters have been with Duckie for the past 8 months. Remember these are not pro players and look up to their coach. Dropping their coach now is just going to upset the team plus a new coach have to do his own accessment in 2 months?

Yes you need qualified people to work with them. What would be good if Barnes and Digicel could work up a English camp at Sunderland or another team for the youths.

can't change coach now.

As for players the youth from Park university was hurt and john ross doley just coming back from injury.
                Take them somewhere warm...Africa? ...Mexico (matches behind closed doors against Mexico's 1st division teams) ...Costa Rica?

Play against our Confederation teams. Sure the Confed teams would be pick up teams...but each Confed has numerous present and past national senior team players (past U-20 players as 'back-ups).

cannot argue around tappa tactical awareness. Not sure though how you change coaches. I am not impressed by teacher hyde past teams and have not seen this particular team play. However the TD should be able to assist with making this group maximize thier potential.

Nuff big up to di coach. Tappa ah one coach weh hab di tactics an di ability fi motivate di yout dem. Especially when it come to di big guns dem inna di Concacaf him show him hab di strategy an tactics fi hangle dem. Plus him hab di experience pan di biggest stage of all. Wi mus utilize him to di fullest kah him seem like him have di knack fi dis national coaching ting. Plus two head bettah dan one, mi nuh know if him fi runit but him need fi have him input inna di ball strategy an tactics

"hab"...interchanged with "have" from time to time.

Confusing!

same tense, dats why it interchangable. Patio hab structure to yuhnuh

I guess Duckie is more qualified to coach the national team.
                          However, we should leave "good/well enough" alone, Duckie should continue.

Blessed

Originally posted by Mac View Post
                            Congrats to D. Duckie and the U20 team for reaching the next stage of qualification. Some people may not like to hear it but we must move move to the next level. To get to the next level with the U20 team, we need a new coach. I have wanted to say this for some time but before the just completed tournament did not seem righ. I would emplore the JFF to take a close look at the technical analysis of the team. This team needs more technical and tactical training that cannot be done by D. Duckie in time for the next round. My suggestion would be to have none other than T. Whitmore to take over this effort to move this team to the next level. If we are serious about this U20 team and want them to progress, we need a new coach. We also need to get some more serious training camps and practice games to further develop this team. As some people have mentioned, I would not be surprised if the group we end up with will include Mexico, Costa Rica and Honduras. Some how this is how is seems to always work out. But if we want to make it to the U20 World cup then we must be able to make it through this kind of group.

Guess we have not learned from the CB and Laza debacle ? Remeber that one, and what it cost us ?

I finally got to see the game against Haiti and it confirms what I had read that they totally dominated us. The Haitian team could not put away their chances and our keeper saved our hide. Trust me, we are luck to have come away with a draw! More importantly, if we take this team to the next round playing like this we will not progress. Too often I see our local coaches with teams on the international stage playing tactically inferior football. People have been telling me about their training session and practice games against the NPL teams. And this U20 team is talented but is not ready for the next level. From what I have seen and heard, I have no confidence that D. Dockie can take this team to another level. It is good that he had coaching credentials and he had done well so far. But he does lack international experience.

I have suggested T. Whitmore for several reasons. The JFF does not have much money now so we have to get someone who is available and would not cost any extra money. Plus, based on the games that Whitmore had coached so far he had shown that he can produce a team that plays disciplined and tactically sound. Plus he as the international experience as a player and coach that I think is needed for this team.

The next round of qualifying games start the 6th of March so there is some time to do some serious development of the team from here forward.