Gay campaigner rails against Big Phil

• Gay campaigner rails against Big Phil

Gay rights campaigner Peter Tatchell has launched an attack on Chelsea's decision to appoint Luiz Felipe Scolari as manager after the Brazilian's previously aired views on gay players.

"The appointment of Phil Scolari to manage Chelsea should have been vetoed by FA and Chelsea bosses," said Tatchell. "He had previously said he would refuse to have a gay player in his team.

"The FA should have not allowed him to take up his post until he renounced discrimination and gave an undertaking to abide by the FA's equality policies.

"If Scolari had said that black players were banned from his team, there would have been uproar. He would have been immediately ruled out of the running for the Chelsea managership. Why the double standards?

"Sport is one the last great bastions of homophobia, and football (together with boxing) is the least gay-friendly of all sports. We need much tougher official action to root out bigotry."

The FA has agreed to fund a video featuring high-profile Premier League stars speaking out against homophobia in the game. Tatchell, of the gay rights group OutRage!, suggested the DVD as a way of challenging the abuse hurled by fans at some players.

Tatchell's proposals have now been given the go-ahead by the FA and its equality and diversity organisation, Kick It Out, with the backing of the Professional Footballers' Association, which represents Britain's top players.

"After years of lobbying, the FA has agreed to approach top footballers to make a MTV-style video against homophobia," said Tatchell.

"The plan is to feature big-name stars speaking out against homophobia, in order to make anti-gay chants look as stupid, ignorant and uncool as racist ones.

"Our aim is to 'Give homophobia the boot' - to kick anti-gay prejudice off the pitch and out of the terraces. We believe this video will help challenge bigoted attitudes among fans.

Tatchell insists it is high time homophobia received the same treatment within the game as racism.

"Although it is only a minority of homophobic fans who are creating problems, they are quite sizeable and vociferous. Many gay spectators currently feel threatened and excluded. It is also a turn off for straight families to be surrounded by aggressive, homophobic hooligans," he said.

"The FA should impose big fines and match suspensions on players and managers who use anti-gay insults. Stewards should be required to identify fans who shout homophobic abuse and the FA should secure the agreement of the police to arrest and evict them - in the same way that they arrest and evict racist fans."

this tatchell guy.....is everywhere!

This pedophile will never stop will he? More a dis need to reach him:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iDOV6qvizmA

.....dat was so barbaric....

Bwoy Bricky it amazes me how you always have the right little clip or pictures on this subject matter. Just an observation.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

"If Scolari had said that black players were banned from his team, there would have been uproar. He would have been immediately ruled out of the running for the Chelsea managership. Why the double standards ?

Easy homosexuality is not a civil rights issue on par with racism, its a moral issue that crosses all ethnicities, black , white , yellow and pink.

They have the luxury of hiding in the heterosexual community i.e (down Lo) To advance their individual careers , People of colour don't we cannot hide and we advance as a group not individuals .

Thats why the African American and Hispanic community rejected your Agenda in Proposition 8 , thats why African , Middle eastern and Asians and White right wing Christian movements will reject your agenda.

We see it as an abomination , taught to us by our former slave masters in their Christian bible and reinforced by our African /Asian culture.

Sorry the truth hurts .
            Last edited by Sir X; January 6, 2009, 10:58 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Morning Mr. X. How yuh doing?
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

This pedophile will never stop will he? More a dis need to reach him:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iDOV6qvizmA
                How exactly is he a pedophile?

And those goons in the video that you are praising would just as soon attack you for the color of your skin as they would someone else for being gay.

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
                  How exactly is he a pedophile?
                  What would you call someone who wants the laws changed so he can sleep with 14 year old boys?

hanging on , watching the market .

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I think this month will be a tuff month for Man U and Chelsea.

Well I like to keep up on what's going on around me. Next ting mi end up clueless like ZEPPO and go mek di pedophile Tatchell go babysit mi bwoy pickney

I think this month will be a tuff month for Man U and Chelsea.
                          I really appreciate your optimism. So your likkle side naw go have a difficult month? Yuh look pon yuh line up for this month?

No ! Torres is back .

At least we know where we stand and we cannot hide (colour), half those goons might be closet homos , but i bet i would be lucky to find one to speak up for a black man .

Homosexuality is a line in the sand to pedophillia, just waiting for a pervert to step over and advocate legality.