• Arsenal To Sign Andrei Arshavin

12/28/2008 6:24 PM
    Reports: Arsenal To Sign Andrei Arshavin

Reports in England suggest that Arsene Wenger will be following fans' advice in January and splashing out on a seriously big name as midfield reinforcement for the Gunners.

Andrei Arshavin is on his way to North London, if reports in the English media are anything to go by. Arsenal are reportedly lining up a bid for the player, as Arsene Wenger breaks his habit of thrift and looks to spend rather than save for once.

When questioned regarding the player by a number of reporters today, Wenger reacted with a smile each time he was asked to give a positive identification of the player the Gunners have lined up.

"I don't need to announce a name," The Guardian reported Wenger grinning to French television channel Canal Plus, "because when you do that there is 50% less chance of making the signing. But I need a creative midfielder and eventually another midfielder, because we are short."

Long-term injuries to skipper Cesc Fabregas and to Tomas Rosicky mean that Arsenal are short on flair in the midfield area, and Arshavin, with his silky skills and almost magical ability to create, is definitely an 'Arsenal type' player.

Wenger also seemed to confirm the move was going ahead in his program notes ahead of the Gunners' 1-0 victory over Portsmouth at the Emirates Stadium today.

"The transfer window opens [on Thursday] and, although we are not close to signing anyone at the moment, if we do buy, I think what we need is maybe someone with a bit of experience," Wenger wrote.

"We already have many young players so, if we buy, it will be somebody who is ready to play straight away. A loan deal could also be a possibility.
    "Cesc is a long way from playing again, so are Tomas Rosicky and Theo Walcott, and these are three creative players that we count on at the start of the season. So what we might need is someone who can create a little spark."

In the world of bluff, counter bluff and rumor that is the transfer market, those words are probably the closest to a positive confirmation fans are likely to get that the Zenit St. Petersburg playmaker is on his way to the Emirates.
    --Zack Wilson, Goal.com

Wasn't he valued about 20 million? Is that in Wenger's price range? Futhermore, isn't he CL tied already?

Eto'o next?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Samuel_Eto'o

Wasn't he valued about 20 million? Is that in Wenger's price range? Futhermore, isn't he CL tied already?
        What?
        You do not want us in the EPL race?

What?
          You do not want us in the EPL race?
          Race for what? 4th spot? Talk to Sass and Aston Villa bout that.

Unuh love put unuh hat where unuh cyaan reach it boy. Eto'o is a member of a team that is on its way to winning La Liga and favourites for the Champions League. As a matter of fact he is the leading scorer in the league.

Now why would he want to give that up to fight for 4th place in the EPL?

very good signing.

Unuh love put unuh hat where unuh cyaan reach it boy. Eto'o is a member of a team that is on its way to winning La Liga and favourites for the Champions League. As a matter of fact he is the leading scorer in the league.

Now why would he want to give that up to fight for 4th place in the EPL?
                Money...and greater fame!
                A 3 years now mi a beg Arsene Wenger fi get im!
                Henry out - Eto'o shudda benn hin!

Money...and greater fame!
                  A
                  Greater fame for finishing 4th or 5th compared to winning a league? Futhermore, Arsenal nuh pay good money ... suh get real. Remember Adebayor almost went to Italy because of Wenger's stinginess?

Race for what? 4th spot? Talk to Sass and Aston Villa bout that.
                    Mr. President, how yuh a handle the big man like bwoy soh????!!!! That is the quote for the month to rhatid!!! Nice start to the New year.
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

lazie.. you need to worry about beating chesea and stop red eye mi team..

Mr. President, how yuh a handle the big man like bwoy soh????!!!! That is the quote for the month to rhatid!!! Nice start to the New year.
                        10 points can be made up by the GUNNERS with a goal rat
                        on board!!!

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                          Tell him again, boss!

Seeitdeh!!! Sarry feh mawga dawg, mawga dawg tun round bite yuh!!!
                            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                              Huh? Red eye yuh team wid wha? Manu attempting to reclaim their title, you playing to secure ..mek mi check the table ...5th spot.