News Flash!!!

• News Flash!!!

Me a buss ya so first !! Just heard it on Fame Sports that Jamaica may be asked to replace Ghana in a friendly match against Nigeria in England early next year. Go JB!!!!
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

That would be nice!
    ...and I hope for more against our FULL and MOST TEAM!

Boyz could face Nigeria in February

Boyz could face Nigeria in FebruaryThursday, January 01, 2009

Jamaica's Reggae Boyz could face African rivals Nigeria in a friendly international in London, England, next year if both associations can come to terms.

Complete Story ...

"African rivals"?

well this is Nigeria so until it is dotted then i won't say anything.

After Ghana Snub, Nigeria Turns to Reggae Boyz

Nigeria has turned to old foes Jamaica for an international friendly after West African rivals Ghana opted to play Egypt. “Ghana have decided for reasons of their own to play Egypt instead of us after negotiations had reached advanced stages,” a disappointed Super Eagles head coach Shaibu Amodu said yesterday.
            “So now we are looking at Jamaica, but we will only know for sure in the new year."
            The Super Eagles coach explained that the choice of Jamaica was a forced hand as attempts to arrange games with other African countries are proving difficult. “Most of these countries already have games lined up, and it seems as if others just don’t want to play us,” he adds.
            Amodu added that he was especially disappointed at the Ghana snub because an almost certain game against Namibia was jettisoned to make room for the Black Stars.
            “We had a game against Namibia lined up, but we decided to pick Ghana because we felt it is always better for us to play against strong African sides. And now that option is no longer available because the Ghanaians left it so late, and then went on to take Egypt.
            “But we will hopefully get Jamaica in London. The important thing is for us to get together as a group, keep ourselves busy and talk to each other as a team before we face our first game.”
            The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) in its bid to beat time is shopping for other countries after Ghana dramatically shunned a friendly match with the Super Eagles billed for February 11, a FIFA free day.
            NFF spokesman Ademola Olajire had told THISDAYSports Monday night that talks were on with Zambia, Sudan and the third country understood to be Mali, to help knock the Eagles in shape for their South Africa 2010 Group B trip to Mozambique, after discussions was stalled with the Ghana Football Association (GFA). Now, the Jamaica friendly appears last resort so as not to waste the FIFA free day.
            The Eagles, Black Stars match which had been touted before the Christmas holiday was due to be tidied last week after officials of the two federations held discussions in Calabar early in the month. But it looked to be a like a pie in the sky after GFA Chairman Kwesi Nyantakyi failed to confirm the federation’s interest by last Monday’s deadline set by NFF.
            The Ghanaians who are angling to gain their second World Cup tickets are under stood to be tilting towards playing the Pharaohs of Egypt in Accra instead of old rivals Nigeria early next year.

Nigeria courts Jamaica, Zambia, Togo

Frustrated by the refusal of Ghana to honour a proposed friendly game scheduled for early January, the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has turned its search for opposition on Jamaica, Togo, Zambia and Benin Republic as it prepares for the last phase of the African zone of the 2010 World Cup qualifiers.

Nigeria has played several friendly games with Jamaica and the NFF believes the Caribbean country will give the Super Eagles a good test as it gets ready for the qualifiers.

"Ghana has decided for reasons of its own to play Egypt instead of us after negotiations had reached advanced stages," a disappointed Shuaibu Amodu said. "So, now we are looking at Jamaica, but we will only know for sure after the New Year," he added.

The Super Eagles coach explained that the choice of Jamaica was a forced hand, as attempts to arrange games with other African countries are proving difficult. "Most of these countries already have games lined up, and it seems as if others just don't want to play us," he said.

Amodu added that he was especially disappointed at the Ghana snub because an almost certain game against Namibia was jettisoned to make room for the Black Stars.

"We had a game against Namibia lined up, but we decided to pick Ghana because we felt it is always better for us to play against strong African sides. And now that option is no longer available because the Ghanaians left it so late, and then went on to take Egypt.

"But we will hopefully get Jamaica in London. The important thing is for us to get together as a group, keep ourselves busy and talk to each other as a team before we face our first game."

NFF Media Officer, Ademola Olajire, has also listed Zambia, Togo and Benin as teams likely to face the Eagles before the qualifiers begin.

"We have not made any progress with the Ghana Football Association as regards the proposed friendly on February 11 and as such, we are now talking to other countries like Zambia, Togo and Benin to see who will be available on the same day," Olajire said.

"Our target is to play against one of the teams who have qualified for the final round of the qualifiers," he added.

Playing against Benin might not be possible because it is already scheduled to tackle Algeria on February 11 as part of its build-up for the final round of the World Cup qualifiers.

Super Eagles will play its first match of the last round of the qualifiers away to Mozambique on March 28.