Warlord question for you

Don't talk what you don't understand.

Newcastle is the only big team in Newcastle which is one of the fast growing city in England. NewCastle have one of the biggest fanbase in England. If that team is running right and wining they could be one of the biggest money drawer in England.

Anybody who know about English football can tell you about the Newcastle fanbase. Even when they are losing so badly they can still afford to buy overpriced player. Check the money they have spend over the last 5 years to one likkle 70 million that Sunderland could dash away.

WARLORD Shut UP.

Stadium

Main article: St James' Park

St. James' Park in 2007, looking at the Leazes End (officially the Sir John Hall Stand)

Newcastle's home stadium is St James' Park, which has been their home since the merger of East End and West End in 1891, though football was first played there in 1880. At the turn of the 20th century the ground could hold 30,000, but this was soon expanded to 60,000.[24] However, the ground was altered little in the next 70 years, and by the 1980s was looking dated.
      The Bradford fire in 1985 prompted renovation, but progress was slow due to financial difficulties. The takeover of the club by Sir John Hall in 1992 resolved these difficulties, and the stadium was redeveloped to comply with the Taylor Report. In the mid-1990s, the club wished to build a new ground in the nearby Leazes Park, however these plans were quashed. In response to this, the club expanded St. James' Park further. Following the completion of the construction in 2000, St James' Park became the club ground with the second highest capacity in England with 52,387 seats,[25] behind Manchester United's Old Trafford. It later became the third highest capacity after the completion of Arsenal's Emirates Stadium.
      Two stands, the Sir John Hall stand and the Milburn stand, have two tiers and are of cantilever construction, whereas the East Stand and the Gallowgate End are roughly half as high, and each have a single tier. This can make the stadium look quite lopsided. The Gallowgate End is traditionally home to Newcastle's most vociferous supporters, as it was once the stand with no roof covering. In recent years, a fan based group named Toon Ultras has began to assemble in Level 7 of the Sir John Hall Stand to attempt to "Bring Back The Noise" which supporters feel was lost when the club expanded the stadium and split fans to cater for executive boxes.
      It was announced on 2 April 2007 that the club intend to submit plans for a new £300 million development that would increase the stadium's capacity to at least 60,000.[26]

Supporters

Supporters at St. James' Park, 2007

Supporters of Newcastle United are often referred to as the Toon Army, the Magpies, or the Geordies. The name Toon originates from the Geordie pronunciation of town.[27] Magpies refers to the black and white colours of the club, similar to the Magpie bird. Geordie is a regional nickname for people from Newcastle, of debated origin, which is often applied in the media to supporters of NUFC in general.
      NUFC is often equated in the media and by supporters as having one of the best supported clubs in the country on account of the high average home attendance record of St James' Park, as the third (formerly second) largest Premiership football ground by capacity since expansion in 1998. This is countered by detractors who point out that the club benefits from being located in a 'one club city', implying that other clubs in the country have to compete for support with other clubs within their catchment area. This is despite Newcastle being only the 20th largest city in England by population, and being located in only the 13th largest county in England, which also comprises Sunderland A.F.C..
      In a 2007 Virgin Money survey of football supporters who held season tickets or otherwise paid to attend games, it was found that Newcastle fans were the most dedicated in terms of making sacrifices in order to attend the game[28] In a 2004 survey by Co-operative Financial Services, it was found that Newcastle topped the league table for the cost incurred and distance travelled by Newcastle based fans wishing to travel to every Premier League away game[29]. The cost was highest whether travelling by car, train or coach. The total distance travelled was found to be equivalent to a round-the-world trip.
      In addition to the city and the North East of England, the club has followers in Durham[30], Yorkshire[31], London[32], Isle of Man[33], Italy[34], Iceland[35], Finland[36], Scandinavia,[37], Denmark[38], Israel[39], North America[40], Australia[41], Hong Kong[42] and Singapore[43].
      The club's supporters publish fanzines such as True Faith and The Mag. In addition to the usual English football chants, Newcastle's supporters sing the traditional Tyneside song Blaydon Races.[44]
      Former Labour Prime Minister Tony Blair is known to be a keen supporter of Newcastle, as is Tyneside-born Abhisit Vejjajiva, the current Prime Minister of Thailand. Other famous supporters include Sir Frank Williams, founder and manager of the WilliamsF1 Formula One Team, Auf Wiedersehen Pet star Jimmy Nail, Iron Maiden guitarist Janick Gers, racing tipster John McCririck and AC/DC frontman Brian Johnson. TV presenters Ant McPartlin and Declan Donnelly also known as Ant & Dec are also Newcastle fans.
      Following on from demonstrations against the board and Mike Ashley following the resignation of manager Kevin Keegan, on 16 September 2008 a new independent supporters group, the Newcastle United Supporters Club (originally styled the Newcastle United Supporters Group), was set up by fanzines True Faith and The Mag and the fan site NUFC.com, aiming to "represent the broad church of Newcastle United's support"[45]. Another group, the Newcastle United Independent Supporters Association, had existed since 2002 and was still commenting on NUFC up to the 2008 Keegan resignation.

Don't talk what you don't understand.

Newcastle is the only big team in Newcastle which is one of the fast growing city in England. NewCastle have one of the biggest fanbase in England. If that team is running right and wining they could be one of the biggest money drawer in England.

Anybody who know about English football can tell you about the Newcastle fanbase. Even when they are losing so badly they can still afford to buy overpriced player. Check the money they have spend over the last 5 years to one likkle 70 million that Sunderland could dash away.
        Based on your analogy Newcastle is the only big club in England right? You seriously need to learn what the term "fanbase" means. While youre at it learn what the term "financial solvency" means. When you do that get back to me.

WARLORD Shut UP.

Stadium

Main article: St James' Park

St. James' Park in 2007, looking at the Leazes End (officially the Sir John Hall Stand)

Newcastle's home stadium is St James' Park, which has been their home since the merger of East End and West End in 1891, though football was first played there in 1880. At the turn of the 20th century the ground could hold 30,000, but this was soon expanded to 60,000.[24] However, the ground was altered little in the next 70 years, and by the 1980s was looking dated.
          The Bradford fire in 1985 prompted renovation, but progress was slow due to financial difficulties. The takeover of the club by Sir John Hall in 1992 resolved these difficulties, and the stadium was redeveloped to comply with the Taylor Report. In the mid-1990s, the club wished to build a new ground in the nearby Leazes Park, however these plans were quashed. In response to this, the club expanded St. James' Park further. Following the completion of the construction in 2000, St James' Park became the club ground with the second highest capacity in England with 52,387 seats,[25] behind Manchester United's Old Trafford. It later became the third highest capacity after the completion of Arsenal's Emirates Stadium.
          Two stands, the Sir John Hall stand and the Milburn stand, have two tiers and are of cantilever construction, whereas the East Stand and the Gallowgate End are roughly half as high, and each have a single tier. This can make the stadium look quite lopsided. The Gallowgate End is traditionally home to Newcastle's most vociferous supporters, as it was once the stand with no roof covering. In recent years, a fan based group named Toon Ultras has began to assemble in Level 7 of the Sir John Hall Stand to attempt to "Bring Back The Noise" which supporters feel was lost when the club expanded the stadium and split fans to cater for executive boxes.
          It was announced on 2 April 2007 that the club intend to submit plans for a new £300 million development that would increase the stadium's capacity to at least 60,000.[26]

Supporters

Supporters at St. James' Park, 2007

Supporters of Newcastle United are often referred to as the Toon Army, the Magpies, or the Geordies. The name Toon originates from the Geordie pronunciation of town.[27] Magpies refers to the black and white colours of the club, similar to the Magpie bird. Geordie is a regional nickname for people from Newcastle, of debated origin, which is often applied in the media to supporters of NUFC in general.
          NUFC is often equated in the media and by supporters as having one of the best supported clubs in the country on account of the high average home attendance record of St James' Park, as the third (formerly second) largest Premiership football ground by capacity since expansion in 1998. This is countered by detractors who point out that the club benefits from being located in a 'one club city', implying that other clubs in the country have to compete for support with other clubs within their catchment area. This is despite Newcastle being only the 20th largest city in England by population, and being located in only the 13th largest county in England, which also comprises Sunderland A.F.C..
          In a 2007 Virgin Money survey of football supporters who held season tickets or otherwise paid to attend games, it was found that Newcastle fans were the most dedicated in terms of making sacrifices in order to attend the game[28] In a 2004 survey by Co-operative Financial Services, it was found that Newcastle topped the league table for the cost incurred and distance travelled by Newcastle based fans wishing to travel to every Premier League away game[29]. The cost was highest whether travelling by car, train or coach. The total distance travelled was found to be equivalent to a round-the-world trip.
          In addition to the city and the North East of England, the club has followers in Durham[30], Yorkshire[31], London[32], Isle of Man[33], Italy[34], Iceland[35], Finland[36], Scandinavia,[37], Denmark[38], Israel[39], North America[40], Australia[41], Hong Kong[42] and Singapore[43].
          The club's supporters publish fanzines such as True Faith and The Mag. In addition to the usual English football chants, Newcastle's supporters sing the traditional Tyneside song Blaydon Races.[44]
          Former Labour Prime Minister Tony Blair is known to be a keen supporter of Newcastle, as is Tyneside-born Abhisit Vejjajiva, the current Prime Minister of Thailand. Other famous supporters include Sir Frank Williams, founder and manager of the WilliamsF1 Formula One Team, Auf Wiedersehen Pet star Jimmy Nail, Iron Maiden guitarist Janick Gers, racing tipster John McCririck and AC/DC frontman Brian Johnson. TV presenters Ant McPartlin and Declan Donnelly also known as Ant & Dec are also Newcastle fans.
          Following on from demonstrations against the board and Mike Ashley following the resignation of manager Kevin Keegan, on 16 September 2008 a new independent supporters group, the Newcastle United Supporters Club (originally styled the Newcastle United Supporters Group), was set up by fanzines True Faith and The Mag and the fan site NUFC.com, aiming to "represent the broad church of Newcastle United's support"[45]. Another group, the Newcastle United Independent Supporters Association, had existed since 2002 and was still commenting on NUFC up to the 2008 Keegan resignation.

What are you trying to prove here? That Newcastle is a big club? I already confirmed that several posts back before you posted this.

Tell me something I dont know about the other big club in that area.

Peter R quote:
            But your point above is condfusing... so enlighten me for after reading through the exchanges it's still not clear to me...are you saying that if your team is in the top teams lets say the first 7, then you are a good striker? and if your team is in the bottom whatever, you are NOT a good striker? is that how you are measuring ability?

No that isnt what I said nor did I imply that. The debate was about the difference between qualities a solid striker has vs the average ones in premiership. Of course the bigger teams will have better quality players in their squad. The fact is that none of the top tier teams have gone in for Fuller even with the claims by many here that he is better than KJ and that he has a better scoring ratio which is just crap based on current stats. Last March Liverpool were ready to sign Jones for 12 million but then manager Roy Keane publicly stated that he isnt for sale. Last week Sky Sports revealed that Chelsea manager Scolari has put Jones on his shopping list for the new year. I've yet to read anything on Fuller being linked or any club in the top half showing interest.

Just a couple facts...last year Sunderland (KJones' team and hes a top drawer striker right?) finished just three points out of the relegation zone... Alex ferguson signed a guy named Berbatov from a team that was ten points out of the relegation zone and finished 11th...so what was Sir Alex smoking? And if we back it up where was Jones signed from?
            Again this has to do with individual quality as a player and not team performance. I dont think any manager will buy a player on team performance do you? Berbatov is a quality player in the premiership. He attract Man U. Any quality player will do that. It speaks volumes of Jones quality as a player when he can attract a club like Liverpool and now Chelsea dont you think?

Big club is different from TOP CLUB. You can be big and at the bottom and be small and be a top club.

Think before you talk and stop running all over the place.

[quote=Assasin;145096]

Big club is different from TOP CLUB. You can be big and at the bottom and be small and be a top club.
                Still cant answer my question yet. Top Club? What has Newcastle won over the last decade that makes them a TOP Club? last time I checked I didnt see any of the following:
                1. Premier League Title
                2.FA Cup Title
                3. European Cup
                4. UEFA Cup

TOP clubs win one or more of those I mentioned in at least one season. Newcastle is no where near what you claim. Big Club yes..top Club absolutely NOT.

Think before you talk and stop running all over the place
                Thats what you resort to doing after consistently getting exposed for your lack of football knowledge. btw..Im still waiting on your answer for the question I asked several comments back.

I said they are big club not top club. that is my point

You claim Sunderland is rank as a top club. What have they won? Championship?

You are using fanbase to describe club as top club.

[quote=Assasin;145153]

I
                    said they are big club not top club. that is my point

You claim Sunderland is rank as a top club. What have they won? Championship?

You are using fanbase to describe club as top club

If youre going to quote me then at least quote me correctly bredrin. I NEVER said Sunderland is a top club. I said they are a big club with a solid fanbase, strong finances and ambition evidenced by the quality players they are signing. There is a difference. Scroll back and you will see that.

What player signing they have done to have ambition, and what signing they have done to make them more than a mediore club?

Man City have more ambition with them signing and fanbase. You see where they are in on the table?

[quote=Assasin;145167]
                        What player signing they have done to have ambition, and what signing they have done to make them more than a mediore club?
                        really want me to answer that? Lets see here Cisse(loan) Malbranque, Anton Ferdinand, Chimbonda, Diouf all quality players. Diouf who cannot even crack the first team. Should I continue?

Man City have more ambition with them signing and fanbase. You see where they are in on the table?
                        Man City is a bigger club but have only signed 2 real quality players this summer. Phillips and Robinho? And both arent having the greatest of seasons. Robinho for one preferred to go to Chelsea but ended up at Man City.

really want me to answer that? Lets see here Cisse(loan) Malbranque, Anton Ferdinand, Chimbonda, Diouf all quality players. Diouf who cannot even crack the first team. Should I continue?

Can these players make you a top six club? The answer is no. These will make you a middle of the pack club. Cisse and Jones were good signing but there is nothing exceptional about Malbranque, Ferdinand, Chimbonda or Diof, NOTHING.

Malbranque, Chimbonda arent world beaters but theyre quality players that played for Tottenham and had a good season last year didnt they? Ferdinand was also solid for West Ham as well not to mention that Diouf had a good season last year with Anelka while at Bolton.

These players can lift a club into the top 8 if they can play together often and more than likely qualify for a euro competition like UEFA Cup or Intertoto Cup. Just shows you the club is ambitions and are building for the future. They couldve easily went in bought some washed up english players like Fowler and Barmby if they werent serious about anything.

Did you realise Fuller never pass a medical at age 25? and Portsmouth pretty much said he will never pass a decent medical because of his problem in the past?

What big team is going for a 28 year old striker with medical history problem? I can however bet you if he didn't have so many medical problem when he first went England he would have been with a much bigger team by now.

Yuh nuh, wid all di chat against di yout (dem nuh waan membah or nuh know) Boo face nuff nuff tribulation inna him ball career ah Englan an still ah shine said speed. Dat ansah all di question dem. Jus waan fight di yout, but e nuh done yet, Boo have sumpn in store fi dem, jus wait until new year start ah fiyah.