MLS new expansion team Seattle Sounders

• MLS new expansion team Seattle Sounders

I think Sigi Schmid will be their coach.

(...and the forum pundits are hit again with muddy sod in their face at every turn)
    Last edited by HL; December 17, 2008, 02:15 PM.

That is a good coach to have for them. That man knows the West Coast football scene very well where there is quite a bit of talent.

Solid franchise, with a good base form their A LEAGUE days.

On another matter: what I like most about the american model of football sports franchise is-- that there is no dominance at the top by any team.

By contrast, the european model --only the rich teams dominate. The sad part of their dominance is that rich clubs buy the best players from lesser team in order to keep them less competitive...

I won't spend time giving examples.

The american model gives each team equal opportunity to win.

Its european ? I thought it was a standard model in world football? Isnt it the free market way?

The standard model immediately garners grassroot support from all spheres.The american model leans on corporate support then selectively recruits whom it wants to participate in its grassroot support network.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

...i don't think you get the point i am making...

i don't either.

neither do I
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

...a brite bwoy like-a yuh?....

Jangle, sit down!

...a brite bwoy like-a yuh?....

well if yuh neva know, me nuh support the MLS format. I think it is rather ridiculous that a team like the NY Red Bulls (which I have no choice but to support....Good Afternoon TK) can perform so poorly during the season, and still almost walked away with the top prize. Also the fact that an East coast team can lay claim to being the Western Conference Champion....ridiculous.
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

not to mention the lunch money that a rookie make!!!

That i will somewhat agree wit you on the...(the playoff format).

In other sports like baseball, basketball, ice hockey and NFL, no club dominate because they have more financial resources than the other....

That makes for equal opportunity championship outcome.
                        Last edited by HL; December 17, 2008, 03:56 PM.

That's the problem. All teams are not equal. What about the free market system? This equality makes the league uncompetitive, there, unattractive.

I am aware of your side of the debate.

The american model is highly financially successful.

MLS with time will see the same level of success...using the same playoff format. If you think about it, sports primary function is to generate money. It is business first.

Can you imagine the amount of money that would be generated if the EPL had the 'unattractive' US playoff system?

The EPL fans would still attend games. The business owners know fans are 'suckers'.

With the no good team making the playoffs it will soon stop as the more team come into the league the less teams will make the playoffs. A few years ago almost everone made the playoffs but it is getting a little better.

While I may not like many things bout the MLS I have to try and work with them and at the same time lick out against certain things but currenlty they are showing interest in some of our players nobody else would look at even though them need to pay some better.

As of recently big time scouts looking our way, in previous years they use to think a pure seals deh a yard but with time and Andy, Damani, Tyrone, and others who pave the way them trying to pick one and two diamond. The thing why MLS franchise have to be this way is most of the people investing will not invest 20 million dollars and the team disappear in one or two years.

There is no D1 and the A league aint no championship league. Most A league team outside of the ones in Canada and Buffalo couldn't full a stadium and have no real support so at least they can choose the destination and build accordingly.

The management of MLS getting better and one of the best move they made was to bring in Toronto FC. In the next 5 years I look for a very good MLS and one thing it has is a draft system that allow for the development of local players and some of our scholars who maybe wouldn't see a contract nowhere else.

HL a work pon him 30 MIL fi put up a franchise inna the ATL