Hleb: Ronaldo robbed Messi

• Hleb: Ronaldo robbed Messi

Former Arsenal midfielder Alexander Hleb has stuck the knife into Manchester United by claiming Lionel Messi was robbed by Cristiano Ronaldo for the Ballon d'Or. Ronaldo scooped the award ahead of Barcelona star Messi in France last week after a season where he netted 42 goals and won the Premier League and Champions League.But Hleb insists club team-mate Messi does not need to win anything to justify being crowned Europe's best player.

Messi has continued his brilliant form this season and scored in Saturday's El Clásico against rivals Real Madrid and there is no doubt in Hleb's mind that he is the best player in the world.

He said: "If you are from this planet then you understand that you do not need to win titles to be recognised as the best player in the world.

"Ronaldo played well and walked through England winning the Premier League and the Champions League, but if there was an award for the player who gives us the most joy then it would be Messi.

"Messi gives pleasure to every football fan and is responsible for revolutionising the game.

"It is an honour to work with him everyday - he is a true genius."

Hleb have any sense? What Messi win last season? Not a damn thing suh how and why should he be player of the year?

At the rate he is going this season, all he need to do is keep it up. The title will be his.

Ok..So Hleb is biased...but are you saying that you have to be on a winning team in order to win the prize? Hleb is saying that you don't, and I agree.

How yuh going to be player of the year and nuh win nothing? Thats like D'Angel being named DJ of the year.

Hleb have any sense?

and the answer is ...HELL NO !! none at all !!

Hleb is a b'AFFoon!!!!!
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Hleb is a clown,Ronaldo won the award because he deserved to win it even though i'm saying that through gritted teeth as an Arsenal fan.

An she nuh win?? I still wouldn't list it as a MUST in my criteria.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                  Hleb is a clown,Ronaldo won the award because he deserved to win it even though i'm saying that through gritted teeth as an Arsenal fan.

Mi know the feeling !!
                  but truth be told Ronaldo deserves it....sigh !

So we all agree Ronaldo is deserving...the question that a couple of you have answered is: Should you be on a winning team in order to get the award? Lazie says you should be... I say you don't have to be... I was checking and it does appear that historically the winner brings glory to his side (or vice versa). I believe that George Weah who won in 95 did not win the League that year...but I think his goal scoring tally was pretty high.

true.. bwoy mi side miss Helb and Roisky. now some bwoy can come dive in and dont get punished.

So we all agree Ronaldo is deserving...the question that a couple of you have answered is: Should you be on a winning team in order to get the award? Lazie says you should be... I say you don't have to be... I was checking and it does appear that historically the winner brings glory to his side (or vice versa). I believe that George Weah who won in 95 did not win the League that year...but I think his goal scoring tally was pretty high.
                        It is not a must to win trophies,it all depends how many ballot votes you get.

Peter R, it mek sense that to be crowned the best you have a championship to show for it. An exceptional scoring tally may get a player in the running and Ronaldo did both last season. Remember the season before, Ronaldo won the EPL but the world best title went to Kaka for winning the CL.

ronaldo had the best year of any footballer Messi is the better player, but Ronaldo deserves it.

The stats support your position...which means the writers agree with you...the year before that you cite when ronaldo also had a great year, the decider was probably who took home more hardware...
                              so messi better don' mess up and win some hardware this year...cause this is his year...