• Wake up LuLu for JA vs Scotland?

Preparing for the Gold Cup

And head coach John [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]Barnes[/COLOR][/COLOR] says the Reggae Boyz are focused on producing good results at next year's Gold Cup in America starting in July.

"Between January and July, we have 4, 5 matches that we have to organize in preparation for the Gold Cup which I would to be against the strongest opposition as possible," he said.

Jamaica are now ranked 83rd in the world which makes it a bit difficult to attract top class oppositions but according to Barnes, Scotland, who are ranked 50 places above the Reggae Boyz, is among the countries they would want to play.

Contacts , beating Scotland , wales , N.Ireland and Ireland would prove irresistable for Capello to turn down a game in wembley.

Barnes the genius, I expect all his contacts to be pulled to have us moving up the ladder, some of these guys now managing clubs and countries are players he knows personally.

How Barnes is not the man for some I dont know ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Contacts , beating Scotland , wales , N.Ireland and Ireland would prove irresistable for Capello to turn down a game in wembley.

Barnes the genius, I expect all his contacts to be pulled to have us moving up the ladder, some of these guys now managing clubs and countries are players he knows personally.

Darn X, can't believe I'm in agreement with you

The problem is: would these countries be interested in playing an 80 something ranked country!!?

One of the value added advantage of hiring John Barnes is his ability to attract the quality competition he speaks about.

Tappa can do so much and no more../....

The BoyZ are playing "ugly" right now; but I am sure If they win the Gold Cup with that unattractive (close to mechanical style) play...the pundits will all be happy.

England?
          What about the small matter of funds owed to theFA?
          Would you do additional business with someone in default on the meeting of financial obligations?

Well if Scotland, Wales and Ireland etc. not in runnings for the world cup if they want to play they may not have a whole lot of choice to play against top rank countries.

Many will be in a rebuilding state so they wouldn't mind a game.

The difference between ugly and pretty football can be one player.

Look at Bayern Munich, now take out Frank Ribbery and tell me what you get.

Well if Scotland, Wales and Ireland etc. not in runnings for the world cup if they want to play they may not have a whole lot of choice to play against top rank countries.

Many will be in a rebuilding state so they wouldn't mind a game.

The difference between ugly and pretty football can be one player.

Look at Bayern Munich, now take out Frank Ribbery and tell me what you get.
              Yuh aware that UEFA qualifers run different? All teams have games until the end. IF the group have an odd number of teams, one team may have a match day off.

ok, well I can only assume they will be off then or maybe it is after the qualifiers

When all is said and done, the most lucrative team to playa "friendly" with, is the USA. Unfortunately, they would be iinvolved in WCQ on those same FIFA dates. However, if a match could be arranged on a non-FIFA date...maybe say a two-legged home and away.....then the doollaas would be rolling. One at the Giant stadium and another in the office.
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

A Scotland game may be personal for John Barnes. I am sure he would love to defeat Scotland, preferably at Hampden Park, in front of the Celtic supporters who treated him so harshly during his brief tenure at Celtic Park. IT would be a great opportunity to show Scotland, and even England that he can be a successful manager. I know the players would want to give him that win to get bragging rights. Plus, a Jon Barns-coached Jamaica vs Scotland would get top billing. If Jamaica gets this game, I hope it is played in Scotland.

Originally posted by DweetSweet View Post
                      A Scotland game may be personal for John Barnes. I am sure he would love to defeat Scotland, preferably at Hampden Park, in front of the Celtic supporters who treated him so harshly during his brief tenure at Celtic Park. IT would be a great opportunity to show Scotland, and even England that he can be a successful manager. I know the players would want to give him that win to get bragging rights. Plus, a Jon Barns-coached Jamaica vs Scotland would get top billing. If Jamaica gets this game, I hope it is played in Scotland.
                      As Burrell would say: "Boss how much a my cut?"
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Well it have the appeal as many would want to see one rux balla named Ricardo Fuller again if it was played in Scotland.

Easier said against Scotland.

Scotland could easily be the most improved team in "Europe."

Their current ranking is no fluke. They beat France twice and Italy cheated them is a very close game...

I don't think Captain Burrell and John Barnes will have any problems arranging friendlies for 2009 going into the Gold Cup.
                            Many of the forumites seem to forget already that when they wake up tomorrow Wednesday they could see Jamaica as #68 in the FIFA ranking.

I think whe should try and build on the successes we had over the past few months by taking on opponents that we can be competitive against in the run up to the gold cup,winning games breed confidence and that will get us back to where we want to be.