- <LI>"My greatest challenge is not what's happening at the moment, my greatest challenge was knocking Liverpool right off their focking perch. And you can print that!" (SAF).</LI><LI>"He's a novice. He's come here from Japan and he's telling English people how to organise our football. He should keep his mouth firmly shut."
Welcome to England, Arsene.</LI><LI>"They are the worst losers of all time"
Arsene's Arsenal, again.</LI><LI>"They say he's an intelligent man, right? Speaks five languages. I've got a 15-year-old boy from the Ivory Coast speaks five languages."
On Arsene, again!</LI><LI>"When an Italian tells me it's pasta on the plate I check under the sauce to make sure it is."
Diplomacy ahead of United's '99 semi-final clash with Juventus.</LI>
Interesting quotes from the Great man!
"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)Tags: None
RE: Interesting quotes from the Great man!
Balla, dis yah one yah special!
"He was certainly full of it, calling me Boss and Big Man when we had our post-match drink after the first leg. But it would help if his greetings were accompanied by a decent glass of wine. What he gave me was paint-stripper."
Ferguson wasn't impressed with Jose Mourinho's vintage! :P:hehe:"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
"He's a novice. He's come here from Japan and he's telling English people how to organise our football. He should keep his mouth firmly shut." Welcome to England, Arsene.
Well the novice hasn't done too badly has he?!!! 10 years to fergies 20 or is it 25?
Let me help you out here...Fergie's teams have won 25 trophies in 20 years....the team from West London with the record loss in English football last season still has some work to do, the EPL, FA Cup and CL in one season is Still the bench mark. Dont forget that.Solidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.
Sickko (11/7/2006)Let me help you out here...Fergie's teams have won 25 trophies in 20 years....the team from West London with the record loss in English football last season still has some work to do, the EPL, FA Cup and CL in one season is Still the bench mark. Dont forget that."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Bwoy me heart swell big fe see how yuh a box up a likkle bwoy!!!! I tell yuh Mr. President, yuh need fe watch dis bredda yah. Him woulda run a very good race 'gainst yuh.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Gamma (11/8/2006)still not bad for a <U>novice</U> from japan, don't you think?
Arsène Wenger, lifting the Carling Premiership Trophy on the 4th May, 1998, at Highbury. He became and still is the only foreign manager to achieve the Double.Wenger has a reputation as a shrewd talent scout and developer of young players' skills. At Monaco, he brought George Weah from Africa who later became FIFA World Player of the Year with AC Milan. In his time at Arsenal, Wenger has signed young, relatively unknown players such as Patrick Vieira, Nicolas Anelka, Francesc Fà bregas, Kolo Touré and Robin van Persie, and transformed them all into world-class players. In particular, the defence which set a new record, after going ten consecutive games without conceding a goal on route to the UEFA Champions League 2005-06 final, cost Arsenal less than £5m to assemble.
Although Wenger has made some big-money signings for Arsenal, thanks to his talent-spotting ability, and the sale of several players for large fees after they had become established, his net spending record compares favourably with the large spending of some other leading Premiership clubs; according to Peter Hill-Wood, Arsenal chairman, "Arsène's basically spent, since he's been with us, £4m to £5m a year net." A notable example of this ability was the purchase of Nicolas Anelka from Paris St Germain for only £500,000 and his subsequent sale to Real Madrid just two years later for £22.3m. The money was used to buy three players — Thierry Henry, Robert Pirès and Sylvain Wiltord, who all played a significant role in the Double of 2001-02 and the league title win of 2003-04.
As well as finding new talent, he has also rejuvenated the careers of several established players who had lost form. Dennis Bergkamp, who had been signed by Arsenal a year before Wenger joined, reached his peak under Wenger's management. Wenger stood by captain Tony Adams after the latter admitted his alcoholism in 1996. Wenger's support was a key factor in Adams' rehabilitation and return to form, which extended his career by several years, and was rewarded as Adams led the club to two Doubles. Similarly, Wenger also resurrected the career of his former protégé at Monaco, Thierry Henry, who had struggled to cope at Juventus but at Arsenal he became the club's all-time top scorer and captain.
Wenger has also reformed the training and dietary regimes, ridding the club of its drinking and junk-food culture. Wenger had a direct input into the design of the Gunners' new Emirates Stadium and its move to a new training ground at London Colney. He enjoys a great deal of popular support from among the Arsenal fanbase; the club's fans have put tremendous faith in the manager and his vision over the long term, as characterised by the popular saying among Gunners supporters — "Arsène Knows" — which is emphatically repeated many times on the banners seen in the Highbury crowd.
For Arsenal's valedictory campaign at Highbury in 2005-06, supporters showed their appreciation for the manager by choosing "Wenger Day" as one of various "Themed Matchdays" proposed by the club in celebration of the team's move away from their historical ground. Wenger Day was held on his 56th birthday on October 22, 2005, during a match against Manchester City.
Wenger reached his landmark 10th anniversary at the club in October 2006
David Dein, the vice-chairman of Arsenal, has described Wenger as the most important manager in the club's history: "Arsene's a miracle worker. He's revolutionised the club. He's turned players into world-class players. Since he has been here, we have seen football from another planet."
---------
Awards
Wenger was awarded the Légion d'Honneur, France's highest decoration, in 2002. He was awarded an honorary OBE for services to British football in the Queen's Birthday Honours List of 2003, along with fellow Frenchman and Liverpool manager at the tim"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Outside of ManUin the EPL where has Sir Alex reaped success?
I think Arsene Wenger's achievements outside of the EPL should also be noted... Right?
I wonder if Lazie thinks those other Wenger achievements should be given any consideration?"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Amazing!
From the 1997-98 season through to the 2004-05 season Wenger and his Arsenal has won at least one trophy every seasonexcepting the2000-01 season...
...and, that season 2000-01 Arsenal was runners-up in both the Premier League and the FA Cup! Simply amazing!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Karl (11/8/2006)Outside of ManUin the EPL where has Sir Alex reaped success?
I think Arsene Wenger's achievements outside of the EPL should also be noted... Right?
I wonder if Lazie thinks those other Wenger achievements should be given any consideration?"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Lazie (11/8/2006)Karl (11/8/2006)Outside of ManUin the EPL where has Sir Alex reaped success?
I wonder if Lazie thinks those other Wenger achievements should be given any consideration?"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."