• Lowly Blackburn sack manager Ince

Lowly Blackburn sack manager Ince

Paul Ince has paid for Blackburn's poor start to the season

Blackburn have sacked manager Paul Ince after only three wins in 17 Premier League games left the club languishing second from bottom in the table.
    Ince, 41, joined Rovers from MK Dons in June but Blackburn's last league win was at Newcastle on 27 September.
    Chairman John Williams said: "Three wins in 17 games has seen a squad which finished seventh last season fall to 19th place.
    "We are currently in danger of becoming detached from the pack."
    606: DEBATE

He was definitely out of his depth at Blackburn - stepping up 3 leagues was just too much

fenriz

The decision to sack Ince was taken after a Blackburn board meeting and Williams made it clear that the need to keep the club in the top flight was behind the move.
    Former boss Graeme Souness is an early front-runner to take over, possibly assisted by veteran Blackburn midfielder Tugay.
    The former Bolton and Newcastle manager Sam Allardyce, who was considered for the post in the summer before Ince got the job, and ex-Charlton and West Ham boss Alan Curbishley have also been linked.
    Williams was publicly critical of Blackburn's display in what proved to be Ince's final game, the 3-0 defeat at Wigan on Saturday.
    He added: "The survival of the club in the Premier League is paramount and our focus is on finding a replacement who will be able to maintain our top-division status.

Ince's final interview as Blackburn manager

"Paul will bounce back, he is a fighter and we wish him well."
    A statement released on the Blackburn website said: "The board, having selected Paul Ince back in June, were desperate for him to succeed and wanted to give him as much time as possible in the unforgiving environment of the Premier League, where time is such a precious commodity."
    The Blackburn squad returned to training on Tuesday after their Christmas party in Dublin and they were put through their paces by assistant manager Ray Matthias while Ince met with the board.
    Ince, a former Manchester United and England midfielder, was appointed on 22 June on a three-year contract and, despite a promising start to the campaign, saw performances and results begin to deteriorate.

The worry is the league table is beginning to stretch out and now we need two wins just to get back among the pack at the bottom

Blackburn chairman John Williams after Saturday's 3-0 defeat by Wigan

Rovers have lost their last six league games and there have been reports of dressing-room unrest.
    Following the defeat at Wigan, Williams told the Lancashire Telegraph: "After all the signs coming out of Brockhall (Blackburn's training ground) this week, I was led to believe we would get a top performance.
    "Without taking anything away from Wigan I have to say I was very disappointed with what I saw.
    "The worry is the league table is beginning to stretch out and now we need two wins just to get back among the pack at the bottom."
    Blackburn's part-time defensive coach Nigel Winterburn felt Ince should have been given more time to prove himself at Ewood Park.
    "I would have loved for him to be given time in the transfer window in January to bring in his own players," Winterburn said.
    "I'm positive that he would have seen results improve but the board have decided that isn't the case.
    Who's going to want to turn to the club now - they're struggling a little bit, there's not a lot of finances there, there are quite a few injuries

Former Blackburn striker Kevin Gallagher

"I think people were starting to panic. The results have not picked up and they've decided they need someone else in place to drive the club forward."
    Former Blackburn striker Kevin Gallagher told BBC Radio 5 Live that the club is desperate to avoid relegation and the resultant loss of income.
    "I thought he would get a little bit more time, maybe to get into the transfer market, spend a bit of money and see how it went," said Gallagher. "But having seen the chairman's face on the Tv at the weekend that told a massive story. "The club have a trust fund and they have been trying to sell the club. If the club go down that's a lot of money lost and the valuation of the club goes down as well. I think they've been possibly putting a lot of pressure on the board.

"The board have been trying to back Paul as much as they could but the display at the weekend was the final straw - the pressure told and something had to give. Unfortunately it was Paul."
    Gallagher admits the club is not currently the most attractive proposition for an incoming manager.
    "Who's going to want to turn to the club now, sitting second bottom?" he added. "They're struggling a little bit, there's not a lot of finances there, there are quite a few injuries. "Steve McClaren was mentioned but he's doing very well in Holland (at FC Twente) and I've heard a small rumour about Roberto Mancini, there'll be a lot of names brandished about. "The CVs that were put in a cupboard six months ago when Paul got the job will be coming back out again."

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Expected!!

Ferdinand dismisses Arsenal hopes

Manchester United were beaten 2-1 at Arsenal in November

Manchester United defender Rio Ferdinand has written off Arsenal's chances of mounting a challenge for the Premier League title this season.
      Ferdinand, 30, believes reigning champions United will face a three-way battle with Chelsea and Liverpool.
      "I presume us, Chelsea and Liverpool will start pulling away a bit after Christmas," he told BBC Radio 5 Live.
      "It's not beyond them (Arsenal), it's just my personal opinion that it will be between us three this season." Arsenal are eight points adrift of leaders Liverpool, seven behind Chelsea and two off United, having lost five and drawn three of their opening 17 games.

The Gunners, who are also a point behind Aston Villa, drew 1-1 at Middlesbrough on Saturday, while Liverpool drew with Hull at Anfield, Chelsea with West Ham at Stamford Bridge and United away to Tottenham.
      United lie six points off the summit in third place but will have two games in hand by the time they return from the Fifa Club World Cup in Japan.
      Sir Alex Ferguson's side contest a semi-final against Gamba Osaka in Yokohama on Thursday in an attempt to reach Sunday's final.
      606: DEBATE

I've never seen an Arsenal team for over 20 years with such a poor work rate, tracking back and closing down

Rockylegendliveson

United's next Premier League match is at Stoke on Boxing Day.
      "We'll be looking and seeing what's going on (this weekend)," said Ferdinand.
      "Last weekend we were disappointed, especially after our game, but when you look back on it you can take it that we came out of it better than anyone else because we drew away and the other teams drew at home.
      "We can take some comfort from that but it would have been nice to have got the three points, we would have been sitting a lot prettier than we are now.
      "It looks like teams will drop points. Hull going to Anfield and getting a draw is a massive result for them. Who would have said that before the season kicked off?
      "West Ham getting a draw at Chelsea was a surprise as well. There have been quite a few unusual results this season but I am sure it is good for the fans."
      The former Arsenal captain Patrick Vieira insists his old club can win trophies this season but that they must find a consistency that has so far eluded them this term.
      There's a long way to go and I'm sure they'll be up there fighting for the title - they are capable of winning trophies this season

Former Arsenal captain Patrick Vieira

"It will be hard but I don't write them off," said the Frenchman. "If they can find a way to perform together week after week they can fight for the title.
      "I was expecting them to be a little bit better than what they're doing. I expected them to be closer to first place so it's disappointing so far.
      "But there's a long way to go and I'm sure they'll be up there fighting for the title at the end of the season. They are capable of winning trophies this season."
      Vieira, 32, believes the sale of key players last summer has been to Arsenal's detriment, but he feels the young replacements should be given more time to prove themselves. "You need to keep your best players," he said. "Last year they lost (Mathieu) Flamini, Gilberto Silva, (Alexander) Hleb and Philippe Senderos, which is too many and they were important players the year before. "Now you look at the average age of the squad and you need to be patient. They are young and need time to perform game after game."

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Wick'd talk by the best Center Half! Lets see if Arsenal tek di bait.

No surprise and mi neva tink him would a survive till 1/1/09.

if arsenal beat liverpool this weekend and stoke beat Man united after their long trip then it could be a different story.

I want Liverpool to win for Jamaica and John Barnes sake only so Jamaica probable can get some media attention and probable a game with liverpool before gold cup.

Ince's past as a cocky prat make the press start a witch hunt after him....If he never started with a bang @ Blackburn then his backside would have gone up in flames......He never did so.......
              “I am not a politician..I only suffer the consequences”.......Peter Tosh

Originally posted by No Mercy View Post
                I want Liverpool to win for Jamaica and John Barnes sake only so Jamaica probable can get some media attention and probable a game with liverpool before gold cup.
                What the fornication? If yuh want yaad fi play gainst Liverpool say suh ... but nuh boddah wid the win for Jamaica sake.

Results is what matters in the premiership. Blackburn risk of getting relegated will hurt their financial status as a club as they would lose alot of TV money. This sacking has alot to do with that. Tottenham did the same thing when firing Juande Ramos and replacing him with Redknapp. Had this team been midtable, Ince would still be manager of the club.