• Despite DigiCup win... Boyz were sloppy

Despite DigiCup win... Boyz were sloppy
    BY LIVINGSTON SCOTT Observer staff reporter
    Tuesday, December 16, 2008

Head coach of Jamaica's Reggae Boyz, John Barnes, said although his team was barely tested throughout the recently-concluded Digicel Caribbean Championship, they were guilty of "sloppiness and sloppy passing".
    "Overall we dominated the matches... but sloppiness and sloppy passing at the back gave us problems... I didn't think we necessarily had lapses in defence, there were lapses in terms of the way we passed the ball," he said.
    Jamaica's Eric Vernan (left) being brought down by Grenada captain Anthony Modeste for a penalty in their Digicel Caribbean Championships final at the National Stadium on Sunday night. Jamaica won 2-0. (Photo: Bryan Cummings)
    Barnes, who took over the reins of the team on November 1 after the Boyz's failed World Cup qualifying campaign, led the team to their fourth regional championship when they defeated Grenada 2-0 inside the National Stadium on Sunday night courtesy of two Luton Shelton penalties in 16th and 71st minutes.
    The former Liverpool and England winger said now the focus is to get the players mentally ready for the next major assignment, the CONCACAF Gold Cup, next summer.
    "Our concentration that is what we need to improve on... as your concentration is paramount when it comes to situations where you are tired," Barnes said.
    "We will keep after them (players) about their concentration and sloppiness... I know that we can get better," he told journalists at Sunday night's post-match press conference.
    Barnes, who was winning his first title as a coach, said it was important to note that the 12-day tournament was not easy on the players, having to play five rigorous matches.
    "The team didn't change much so it's hard to ask the players to keep sharp and alert all the time... so if you want to be picky you can say that things can improve, but it has been a long, hard tournament and overall I cannot fault the players whatsoever," he said.
    Barnes, along with JFF president Captain Horace Burrell, confirmed at the press session that a number of "quality oppositions" friendly internationals are being organised to give the team the best possible preparation going into the Gold Cup.
    "At the moment there are three definite FIFA friendly dates where we will be getting together to face a few oppositions. We have no matches organised yet, but we have those dates, so it's just a question of getting quality opposition to help us prepare for the Gold Cup," Barnes noted.
    "The problem we may have is that the March and April dates are also World Cup qualifying dates, so a lot of the European, CONCACAF and African teams will be involved in World Cup qualifying, so as to the quality teams we can get for those dates, we will just have to wait and see," he said.
    "But we have four or five matches before then (Gold Cup) and all I will be stressing to the players is that their concentration must be up at all times in our training and preparation," he added.
    Though delighted with the team's triumph, the Jamaica-born Barnes said there is no room for relaxation.
    "I'm very happy, but I have been in football long enough to know that you are only one game away from doom and gloom. Yes we won the Digicel Championship and we managed most of the games, but we have other matches to look forward to," he ended.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Vernan stands tall in Digicel Cup
    BY LIVINGSTON SCOTT Observer staff reporter
    Tuesday, December 16, 2008

Portmore United and Jamaica International winger Eric Vernan may have been the youngest and smallest player in the Reggae Boyz's outfit that won the Digicel Caribbean Championships (DCC) at the National Stadium on Sunday night, but he stood out among "bigger men".
    Vernan, a member of Jamaica's Under-20 team to the Pan American Games in Brazil in 2007 where the team won silver, was named the DCC's Most Valuable Player (MVP). He played in every game of the finals, scored two goals and was instrumental in the Boyz earning two penalties in the final which set up his team's 2-0 victory over Grenada's Spice Boys.
    Eric Vernan (left) accepts the Digicel Caribbean Championships Most Valuable Player trophy from JFF president Captain Horace Burrell at the National Stadium on Sunday night. (Photo: Bryan Cummings)
    The 20-year-old who made his senior team debut under Rene Simoes earlier in the year, said he never imagined winning the award.
    "I was speaking with a teammate the night before and he told me that I have scored two goals already and so I could get the MVP, but I didn't believe that," he said.
    "But I just went out and worked hard and did what I had to do and it worked that way," he added.
    He said playing the tournament helped him improve and build his confidence as a player and he is looking to build on his international success.
    "This has definitely boosted my confidence as a player... I just hope to make it to the Gold Cup next year and I will take it from there," said the pint-sized speedster.
    Meanwhile, head coach John Barnes, said he was not surprised that the fleet-footed player has done so well.
    "I went to watch Portmore versus Meadhaven with Theodore Whitmore and I wanted to know who he (Vernan) was immediately because I was very impressed with attitude, his commitment and his desire," said Barnes at Sunday night's post-match press conference at the National Stadium.
    "We know what small men are like, look at Adolph Hitler, Napoleon and people like that. So he is tenacious and when you are small you have to play like that," noted Barnes, the former Liverpool and England star.
    He said Vernan's success must also be seen in the context that local-based players are also talented and have what it takes to challenge for a place in the senior Boyz outfit.
    "His qualities impressed me and those qualities should serve notice to everyone that the local players, not just the players abroad, have a lot of ability," he said.
    "But tonight (Sunday night) he was just unbelievable, he was up and down and worked hard all night," Barnes said.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

'It's a great feeling'

Published: Tuesday | December 16, 2008

Jermaine Lannaman, Gleaner Writer

As the team celebratess victory, Jamaica's captain Tyrone Marshall raises the Digicel Caribbean Championship trophy above his head, after [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]collecting[/COLOR][/COLOR] the main prize when his team beat Grenada 2-0 in the final at the National Stadium on Sunday night. He is flanked by Jamaica [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Football[/COLOR][/COLOR] Federation president, Captain Horace Burrell (left) and Caribbean Football Union and CONCACAF president, Austin 'Jack' Warner, while Kieran Foley, head of sponsorships at Digicel, holds a placard denoting the winners' cheque. - Ricardo Makyn/Staff [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Photographer[/COLOR][/COLOR]
      Reggae Boyz coach John Barnes and captain Tyrone Marshall expressed delight at winning the Digicel Caribbean Championship, which ended on Sunday at the National Stadium.
      The Boyz, who will turn their attention to the CONCACAF Gold Cup, which will be held in the USA next year, defeated Grenada 2-0 in the final and according to Barnes, who took over the reins at the start of the championship from interim coach, Theodore Whitmore, it was a great feeling.
      "The guys played a wonderful tournament and while there were some areas of concern, they delivered on the most important thing, the trophy. It's a great feeling, as led by the players and the coaching staff, we were able to come together and work as a unit for national pride," said Barnes, who was born and bred in Jamaica, before migrating to England where he represented Liverpool and his adopted country.
      "It's a wonderful set of guys and if we can continue to put in the work, we can do great things for this country and I look forward to the future with great delight," he added.
      Competitive match-up

Jamaica's Luton Shelton (centre) is challenged by Grenada's Anthony Modeste during the final of the Digicel Caribbean Championships, at the National Stadium on Sunday. Luton scored two penalties to hand Jamaica a 2-0 victory. - Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer
      After a controlled first half display and a highly competitive second half in which Grenada held the upper hand, the Boyz got the better of the Spice Boyz with a brace from in-form striker, Luton Shelton, who converted two penalties at the 16th and 69th minutes. The penalties were created by Championship MVP, Eric Vernan who, using his pace and skill to good effect, was brought down.
      Marshall said the victory restored some respect.
      "I thought we did a wonderful job in winning the tournament. Not qualifying for the final round of qualifiers of the [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]World [COLOR=orange! important]Cup[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR], we knew that support was not going to be the best. But we knew that at the end of the day, we needed to win the tournament to get a little a respect."
      He added: "Hats off to Grenada. They played a very good [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]game[/COLOR][/COLOR]. They have been playing well throughout the championships and I thought they were one of the better organised teams in the cham-pionship. They played with a lot of unity, worked hard and showed fight. They defeated us earlier in the year, but we were not going to allow that to happen again. But congrats to them. I wish them all the best in their future endeavours."
      Anthony Modeste, the Grenadians player/coach and captain, said even though they lost, they were proud of their achievement.
      "We don't feel like losers, we feel like winners. We have no reason to feel ashamed as we did ourselves proud," said Modeste, who is also captain of Digicel Premier League champions, Portmore United.
      "Thanks to Digicel for organising such a wonderful tournament. Thanks to Captain Burrell and the JFF (Jamaica Football Federation), the accommodation was splendid."
      He added: "To coach Barnes and captain Tyrone Marshall congrats. I think you are worthy champions. If Grenada could not lift it, I personally would not like no one else to lift it but Jamaica. We gave a good account of ourselves. No one gave us a chance at the start of the tournament to make the final four, much less the final.
      "We have proved the doubting Thomases wrong and prove that football in the Caribbean is not far apart. Once you are dedicated and the players stick to it, anything can happen. Hats off to the players of the Grenada team, we did a wonderful job," said Modeste.
      Jamaica took home the Digicel Championships Trophy, the first place cash award of US$120,000 and its players and coaching staff got gold medals, while Grenada earned $70,000 and silver medals.

Burrell warns of more staff cuts

Published: Tuesday | December 16, 2008

Jamaica [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Football[/color][/color] Federation (JFF) president, Captain Horace Burrell, is promising more staff cuts at his finance-strapped organisation.
        Speaking to journalists following the final of the Digicel Caribbean Championships on Sunday, in which Jamaica defeated Grenada 2-0, Burrell, who projected that even before an estimate was done, the JFF is likely to face a $28 million deficit, said changes to staff complement was on the horizon.
        "The federation, as we speak, is struggling financially. In order to cut back on some of our expenses, we will have to make some tough decisions by laying off staff and asking people to offer their services voluntarily," said Burrell, shortly after expressing gratitude for the US$120,000 gained by the Boyz for winning the championship. "It is not an easy decision to make, but a necessary one, this at a time when we are strapped for cash."
        The JFF's financial woes sharpened with the Reggae Boyz failure to advance in the 2010 [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]World [COLOR=orange! important]Cup[/color][/color][/color] qualifying campaign past the semi-final stage.
        Lost revenues
        The Boyz, after failing to gather enough points on the road under René Simoes, who was at the helm when the country made its historic World Cup Finals appearance in 1998, were edged out of the 2010 campaign by Mexico, on goal difference, after both teams ended on 10 points.
        According to Burrell, the team's elimination cost the JFF approximately $150 million ($30m per [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]game[/color][/color]) in revenue, which would have been garnered from home games during the final round of qualifiers, as well as a US$5 million bonus from FIFA for qualifying.
        Should Burrell follow through on his promises, it would be the second time in less than two months the JFF would be axing or putting workers on a volunteer list, as in mid-November, shortly after the Reggae Boyz bowed out of the World Cup qualifiers, a similar exercise occurred.
        According to Burrell, the JFF presently has 27 people on its technical staff [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]payroll[/color][/color]. - Jermaine Lannaman

According to Burrell, the team's elimination cost the JFF approximately $150 million ($30m per game) in revenue, which would have been garnered from home games during the final round of qualifiers, as well as a US$5 million bonus from FIFA for qualifying.
          Yet whenever we have a game inna di stadium dem seh dem lose money? Which one is it?

One thing I have learned in business always cry say yuh bruk.