• More money troubles for JFF

Well, here we go again!!

Besides Boxhill, we really need to have a serious talk with the previous Treasurers. What a mess. They should all be banned from football.

Taken from www.jamaicaobserver.com

More money troubles for JFF
    Dragged to court for back taxesSean Williams
    Monday, December 15, 2008

The Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), through its representatives, will answer to charges of failure to pay over statutory deductions for the period 2003 through to 2006 in the St Andrew Tax Court today.
    BURRELL... I am very distressed that we are drawn into another court case and this trend is of serious concern to us
    The Observer was reliably informed that the sum total owed is $8.1 million ($5.56 for PAYE and $2.5 for Education taxes) - the bulk of which is said to have been incurred during the embattled Crenston Boxhill-led administration.
    A "small" portion of the amount, it is believed, was carried over from the tail-end of Captain Horace Burrell's previous tenure.
    Boxhill succeeded Burrell in November 2003 in a hotly-contested vote at Starfish Resorts in Trelawny.
    When reached, current boss Burrell confirmed that the federation will be going to court on the matter, but refused to comment on the figures in particular and the case in general.
    "We have been summoned to the tax court and we will appear, but there is nothing further I can say on the matter right now," he said.
    However, the CONCACAF Executive Committee member was unhesitating in expressing his disappointment that the cash-strapped organisation is faced with yet another action for outstanding monies owed, following on the heels of others inherited from the previous administration.
    "I am very distressed that we are drawn into another court case and this trend is of serious concern to us," Burrell said.
    Efforts to reach former JFF treasurer and current KSAFA president Rudolph Speid for comment were unsuccessful.
    Soon after returning unopposed to the presidency of the JFF in November of 2007, Burrell and his new team commenced a forensic audit of the federation's books and found that the organisation was heavily in debt to the tune "of some $100 million".
    Including in that is approximately £135,000 (about J$18 million) owed to the The FA of England for 9,000 tickets sold when the Reggae Boyz played England in a friendly international in that country in the summer of 2006 at Manchester United's Old Trafford venue.
    Part proceeds from the ticket sales were to cover the JFF tour expenses, with the balance of approximately £135,000 to be turned over to the The FA, but this was not done.
    Consequently, The FA has demanded the repayment of the sum, and after a series of negotiations with the Burrell-led team, the payment was deferred until the South Africa 2010 World Cup Finals.
    Also, MVA Management Limited of Britain, sued the JFF for services rendered for the two-match tour of England - which included a game against Ghana - and a judgement of £10,366.75 has been awarded by a British court. That sum is still not paid.
    Also, the JFF was sued by Hilton Hotel for just over $1 million owed for a function held there by the previous Boxhill administration, but the suit was withdrawn and the debt settled.
    With the Boyz's failure to qualify for the 2010 FIFA World Cup Finals in South Africa, the federation's financial position worsened from the fallout which had an immediate impact which saw cuts in jobs and a downsizing of its programmes.

what a la la?

Well, its fair to say that Boxhill did a bang up job?

Beenie Man can beat tax charge and the JFF can't? Thought CAPTAIN was a heavy man?

i await sickko and mosiah's defense of these (Boxhill) deeds.

i will report to you shortly.

thanks in advance...!!

Well, its fair to say that Boxhill did a bang up job?
                Yuh did luk roun fi si iffen Mosiah deh bout?

Yuh figet ... Lazie back broad. Furthermore, Mosiah at times have to admit that the earth isn't flat.

JFF just won $120,000 US...that should be enough to clear up the amounts owing...But what a waste...