why have the fans stayed away?

You mean in the Simoes era in the run up to the world cup?

Have not seen the fire thing in a while and that might be because the western clubs are not that competitive anymore, not like the days gone by when every team woudlaghev at least three national players and the rivalry would be strong.

For the life of me I cnat see what Assassin is trying to prove..he has no credibility as far as support for football in the west is concerned but like his idiotic defence of the idiotic player form Portland he continues to plow ahead

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
        With Jamaica finishing on a high with 3 wins in their last 3 world cup qualifiers i thought the turn out for the caribbean championship woud've been better.Surely for the programme to be successful we need the fans support.http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...s/sports9.html

Lack of proper marketing of this tournament by Digicel Cup and CFU. This tournament loses money all the time. Of course logistics plays a part but I really think poor marketing is one of the major reasons fans dont turn out in huge numbers. The Gold Cup has been alot more successful in the US because of how it is organized.
        Last edited by Warlord; December 13, 2008, 03:22 PM.

you can chat all you want. Until you can show me a game with 4 thousand people in Mobay for the national team then you can talk all you want.

Mi nuh inna the name calling thing you can go look fi "me" wid that.

Jamaicans are more excited bout schoolboy football. Crazy set. Unuh check and see the attendance fi the Dcup and M/Cup finals.

and how is this?

The Gold Cup is not market in any major US market.

The Gold Cup started out successful by inviting top teams from outside the region that people wanted to see. The Gold cup games is not shown on any major channel.

Instead of criticising this do what track and field does and find ways of making it work for us. T&F realised that Boys Champs can fill the stadium while a few thousands turn out for the National Trials so what they do is make certain that dozens of US recruiters and coaches are there and until the last World Champs and Olympics all our individual international medals came from athletes who went away.

If the JFF marketing departmnet was earning their money they would have seen this and made the DCup finals a part of the football celebrations, invite the MLS scouts to watch the finals and who klnows how many of these boys coudl end up in academies overseas like the youth from Portland in Vancounver right now and the national senior team would benefit in the long run.

no I am talking about the Carl Brown era, prior to Simoes.
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

[quote=Assasin;143864]and how is this?

The Gold Cup is not market in any major US market

It doesnt have to be a major US market to make money. Soccer while it has grown in the US still isnt a top sport with Americans but is a top sport with immigrants.

What the Gold Cup organizers does is they play the games where there are huge immigrant populations communities. For eg. Miami is home to a large number of Cuban and Haitian communities. Same goes for Boston (Large Haitian community)

SoCal - Large Mexican community. catch my drift!

The Gold Cup started out successful by inviting top teams from outside the region that people wanted to see. The Gold cup games is not shown on any major channel.
                    Why would they show the games live on TV in the US when they want to fill stadium seats? Think about it? The GC rights are sold to foreign networks who cover the games. That is where they get TV money.

So how can Jamaica copy that? there is no big population of any group other than ordinary Jamaicans.

TV rights is normally bigger than the stadium amount. Selling the games in the US don't mean the stadium will not be full, same with England.

[quote=Assasin;143951

]So how can Jamaica copy that? there is no big population of any group other than ordinary Jamaicans.

You asked about the GC success I mentioned and I told you what the organizers do to make money. Of course it will be different in Jamaica or any other island in the caribbean for that matter but better marketing is needed to get the general public out to these games. Digicel and CFU have to do a better job at it.

TV rights is normally bigger than the stadium amount. Selling the games in the US don't mean the stadium will not be full, same with England
                        Gate receipts, Beverages, food and TV money = a successful tournament financially( millions and millions of dollars). Why do you think the WC, European Champions League, Euro Cup tournaments are so successful.

Haiti and Cuba are hardly considered. Are they GC regulars? No. The fact is Miami is home to thousands of other nationalities, like Guatemalans, Hondurans, Mexicans, etc.

They dont have to be GC regulars but if they qualify for the Gold Cup, the organizers will stage group games at the Orange Bowl in Miami due to their large Haitian and Cuban communities. Demographics have shown that theyve done it a number of times in the past as well as in other cities. It makes financial sense from a marketing standpoint.

Jamaica recently crashing out of World Cup qualifying so early (again) probably didn't do much to boost ticket sales, either.

Probably hard for the fans to get motivated these days.

Disagree.