Large up yourself old man Whitmore

RE: Large up yourself old man Whitmore

Funny I see people here raving over Santa Claude's performance on Saturday whilke ignoring that it came against a poor Newcastle team that their fans arebellowing for the removal of the coach, I gues they did not see SkySports news last night or read BBC.com or they chose to ignore them.

Interesting that Claude's two best performances came against poor teams, New Castle and Man City.[/quote]

Sickko your post is unfair

One can only perform against the team put out my the opposition - what would you have said if he had failed to perform against these teams?

Did you not see him named in one expert's team, of the week?

Karl (11/7/2006)

...and, I am not for one moment trusting your memory...but, suppose that you were correct -

Did Whitmore contribute to retention of possession...denying the opposition the ball?

The aim of the game is to score more goals than your opponents. There are ways to achieve that. It includes - limiting the number of passes your opponents make & one way of doing that is to increase the playing time that your TEAM has the ball - increase possession.

Coaches are now intolerant of players who repeatedly lose the ball...or, even those players who 'give the ball away'. Players who have the skill to keep the ball with...aid possession of TEAMmates are valuable. Players who constantly push forward when to do so is silly...not in the best interest of TEAM...are given short thrift...are fired...dropped!

Many are the fans who have not yet realised that possession is vital! Many are those fans who believe in going forward even if it isfolly to so do.

Yes...Bibi saw an opening and took it...that is key! Openings usually appear after some time 'in possession'....the key is having that possession...majority possessionby one's TEAM.
      Your post is terribly compromised when you talk about "retention of possession" and 'give the ball away'. You are the one who accuses the Great Maestro of giving away the ball when there is no better passer (retention of possession) of the ball, and no one protects the ball better than he does (not giving away the ball).

Balla (11/7/2006)Funny I see people here raving over Santa Claude's performance on Saturday whilke ignoring that it came against a poor Newcastle team that their fans arebellowing for the removal of the coach, I gues they did not see SkySports news last night or read BBC.com or they chose to ignore them.

Interesting that Claude's two best performances came against poor teams, New Castle and Man City.
        Sickko your post is unfair

One can only perform against the team put out my the opposition - what would you have said if he had failed to perform against these teams?

Did you not see him named in one expert's team, of the week?[/quote]

You are spot on Balla. I do not think Sickko can find it in to give Big Claude a little credit. It makes my heart swell with pride whenever I watch him on TV. That goes for Bibi too.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Good post Shatta. We need a thumbs upicon bad on this forum.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Mosiah (11/7/2006)
            Karl (11/7/2006)

...and, I am not for one moment trusting your memory...but, suppose that you were correct -

Did Whitmore contribute to retention of possession...denying the opposition the ball?

The aim of the game is to score more goals than your opponents. There are ways to achieve that. It includes - limiting the number of passes your opponents make & one way of doing that is to increase the playing time that your TEAM has the ball - increase possession.

Coaches are now intolerant of players who repeatedly lose the ball...or, even those players who 'give the ball away'. Players who have the skill to keep the ball with...aid possession of TEAMmates are valuable. Players who constantly push forward when to do so is silly...not in the best interest of TEAM...are given short thrift...are fired...dropped!

Many are the fans who have not yet realised that possession is vital! Many are those fans who believe in going forward even if it isfolly to so do.

Yes...Bibi saw an opening and took it...that is key! Openings usually appear after some time 'in possession'....the key is having that possession...majority possessionby one's TEAM.
            Your post is terribly compromised when you talk about "retention of possession" and 'give the ball away'. You are the one who accuses the Great Maestro of giving away the ball when there is no better passer (retention of possession) of the ball, and no one protects the ball better than he does (not giving away the ball).
            Hold up a minute? What are my grouses with "the maestro"?

Not trying to be negative but rather keeping things in perspective, how many games has he played so far, let us not get our hopes up too high, give him till at least 20 games then grade him.

But why bother with these posters here, most of them start bawling for players in the DCup to be called up for the national senior team after they score 10 goals against backa bush High school and macka juk Technical.....SIGH!

LOL!!! Thanks Hortikal, appreciate the laugh

<DIV>Oh, you've forgotten? Just recently you said he was a liability to the team even while everyone else thought quite the opposite. That was after the England game.I remember you using that word like it was yesterday.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>You also accuse him of giving up the ball, just about 2 weeks ago.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Come on, Karl. Stop gwaan like! </DIV>

Mosiah (11/7/2006)<DIV>Oh, you've forgotten? Just recently you said he was a liability to the team even while everyone else thought quite the opposite. That was after the England game.I remember you using that word like it was yesterday.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>You also accuse him of giving up the ball, just about 2 weeks ago.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Come on, Karl. Stop gwaan like! </DIV>
                    Why did I call him a liability in that game?! Cho man...stop the beating around the bush and tell me, what is my grouse with him? My only grouse with him?!

I would love to see you point out any others than my one grouse with him?

NB: Feel free to use the data base of the old forum and the new forum!

What is your one grouse, Karl? Answer carefully, lest you trap yourself. Cyaan say ah never warn yuh!

Mosiah (11/7/2006)What is your one grouse, Karl? Answer carefully, lest you trap yourself. Cyaan say ah never warn yuh!

Unnuh seit deh? Di man who seh mi a kill di Maestro nuh kno wah mi fine fault wid?

OK!

Mi seh im nuh wuk hard enough fi di TEAM...an im lose di ball too often. Him a nutshell im nuh hal dat wen hit cum ooon tuh TEAM.

...an before yuh hask...yes, a fit Tappa wuk harda when im a play....an im nuh lose di ball alf as much as di Maestro.

...nex wan nuh wuk ard enough fi TEAM a Andy! ...although wid Andy innah in laaaas few matches dem im wuk much arda dan before.

..nat dah di Maestro innah Henry class but a di same ting mi nuh like bout Henry...im nuh wuk has ard as im cyaan fi di GUNNERS! :angry:

The Maestro plays too often below his potential! ...and, all the hoopla about his performance against the USA in Cleveland, I did not see it!

Karl (11/7/2006)

Mi seh im nuh wuk hard enough fi di TEAM...an im lose di ball too often. Him a nutshell im nuh hal dat wen hit cum ooon tuh TEAM.
                          Thanks. It is archived!

NO!!

The play had in effect broken down because he stopped the team from moving forward. He was not looking up. Lowe was no more open when Bibi got the ball to him than at anytime that Whitmorehad it. As a matter of fact he wasn't open at all -Bibi just made agreat pass - why couldn't Whitmore set up that goal? Oh yes Karl he was too busy playing the good possession ball.The Guatemalans were so scared ofgetting dissed (Pirrouetted on)that they wouldn't rushTappa when he hadthe ballor was about to receive it so he had all the time in the world to look up and play hesimply didn't- that's the type of 'general' he was.

When Bibi said ''#@&amp;* possession'' and made the final pass to Lowe, Whitmore was actually calling back for the ball and running towards him to collect it, and whether you trust my memory or not, Bibi looked away from him and bam the rest is history...

Yes sir... try testmy memory! I have video evidenceThat was Jamaica vs Guatemala Gold cup 2003 I watched that game so much that I could probablyhave donethe commentary word for word not too long ago. The tapeis still in my possession and almost every time I come across it itI end up watching at least a part of it.Jamaica vs Guatemalais always a classic sometimes for the wrong reason but classics none the less.
                            SA 2010: Reggae Boyz coming home!

Mosiah (11/7/2006)
                              Karl (11/7/2006)

Thanks. It is archived!
                              ...and, ooooh, I do not think he is a better 'set-upman'/passer of the killer ballthan Tappa!

...cannot pass with either foot as well as Tappa can!

...cannot take the ball with either foot as well as Tappa can with either foot...cannot, therefore, technically take the ball in as many varied positions as Tappa can!

...cannot read the game, up until the lastI saw him,at Tappa's level yet!

...cannot head the ball as well as Tappa!

...cannot defend as well as Tappa!

...has never passed and moved for a whole/entire game as has a fit Tappa!

...but, he is potentially as valuable to this TEAMReggae Boyz as has been Tappa inthe past!

...and, ooooh, I do not think he is a better 'set-upman'/passer of the killer ballthan Tappa!
                                Karl. Sir Wallace. Please do recount one killer pass that you saw Whitmore make. Where afoward ran on to the ball and put it into the back of the net. Like the pass Hue made against the USA or a couple that he made at the last Gold cup that lead to GOALS.

Thats a killer pass - a pass that results directly in a goal. When/where was Whitmore making those passes to be better than Hue. And please don't be vague about times when he made passes and his no good teammates didn't score etc. I just wan't to know aboutone killer pass in all the years you've been watching him that lead to a goal -any goal.
                                SA 2010: Reggae Boyz coming home!