Saturday is the defining day for Man U in 1st 1/2 of season

• Saturday is the defining day for Man U in 1st 1/2 of season

United must win at Tottenham. Spurs are playing well. If United beats Spurs on Sat, then they will be in the driver's seat to draw level with the KOP in by mid-January. If they lose, they will be battling with the gunners and Villa for 4th, 5th and 6th. What a difference a game makes!

By the way, the game will be on Fox at 12:30 Eastern

Headache for Fergie

MANCHESTER United manager Sir Alex Ferguson admits he has selection problems for Saturday’s game at Tottenham Hotspur.

Midfield man Michael Carrick was ruled out of last night’s Champions League game against Aalborg with a thigh strain, which is why Ferguson did not risk Darren Fletcher, who may be needed for the trip to White Hart Lane as Paul Scholes is not yet ready for a starting spot after recovering from injury.

“I have issues about the midfield for Saturday’s match which is why I selected the players in the middle I did last night,” he explained.

Ferguson added that central defender Rio Ferdinand is also a worry for Spurs after last night suffering another back spasm.

And the Reds’ manager revealed Dimitar Berbatov missed the European tie with an Achilles injury picked up last weekend, making him another doubt.

United’s 2-2 draw against Aalborg ensured they won their group and in the knockout phase they are poised to play Real Madrid, Atletico Madrid, Inter Milan, Sporting Lisbon or Olympique Lyonnais - when the draw is made next Friday.

Fergie decided to keep back some guys yesterday because he looked ahead and saw Saturday's fixture looming. We may not see Scholes, but we will see all else, except Evra, who the League put on vacation.

I have a bredrin who is a fellow soldier in the Empire's army. Every week we end up cussing because him seh Fergie naw start the Apache, but me a tell him seh Fergie know weh him a do and a prepare for times like these - injuries and suspensions. The man went as far as a compare Park to our shorty Malcolm, seh him just a run up and down the field. How BLASPHEMOUS!!!!!!
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015