Ramos replaces Schuster at Madrid

• Ramos replaces Schuster at Madrid

Real Madrid have sacked Bernd Schuster as coach and replaced the German with former Tottenham manager Juande Ramos until the end of the season.

The 54-year-old's first game in charge will be Wednesday's Champions League match at home to Zenit St Petersburg.

Real are fifth in the Primera Liga, nine points behind Barcelona, who they face in El Clasico on Saturday.

The Madrid board had given Schuster, 48, several votes of confidence before Sunday's 4-3 home defeat by Sevilla.

Schuster, whose side was knocked out of the Copa del Rey by little-known Real Union, admitted after the match that his side was incapable of winning at Barcelona.

"We spoke to Schuster this morning about all the difficulties over the past few months," said Madrid director of sport Pedja Mijatovic.

"We came to the mutual agreement to take this decision. He took the decision well.

"I have to take the opportunity to thank Bernd Schuster for the work he did at Real Madrid. He did an excellent job last season to win the title and the Spanish Supercopa."

The German enjoyed a successful first year at the Bernabeu, retaining the league title his predecessor Fabio Capello claimed in 2007.

But attempts to win it for a third successive time have floundered amid a spate of injuries and Barcelona's resurgence under new boss Pep Guardiola.

On Monday, Mali international Mahamadou Diarra became the latest Madrid player to be struck down after it emerged he will miss between six and nine months with a knee injury.

Diarra joins Ruud van Nistelrooy, Gabriel Heinze, Pepe, Wesley Sneijder, Miguel Torres and Ruben de la Red in the treatment room.

I have been 10 seasons in the Primera Liga and this is the worst start I have had

Real Madrid goalkeeper Iker Casillas
    Madrid goalkeeper Iker Casillas also gave an insight into the negativity surrounding the club on Tuesday when he admitted they were not capable of challenging for the league title on current form.

Casillas told radio programme El mirador de Punto Radio: "At the moment the team isn't capable of winning trophies because Barcelona lead us by nine points and it's true that they're playing well."

"We are going through a bad run. Defensively we are vulnerable, and I'm the first (to blame).

"At the moment it seems that our opponents will have three chances and score three goals and it's clear that we are all to blame.

"I have been 10 seasons in the Primera Liga and this, for now, is the worst start I have had."

Ramos was sacked as manager of Tottenham in October following Tottenham's worst start to a season.

But his reputation in Spain having led Sevilla to back-to-back UEFA Cup wins in 2006 and 2007.

We Warlord deh? How Madrid a take up loser coach?